We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice of Hotel”
Review of Crowne Plaza Lille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Lille
Ranked #26 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Hunter Valley, NSW
Level Contributor
402 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great Choice of Hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here recently for four nights on our first trip to Lille. It is situated directly opposite the Eurostar Station (there is also an entrance from the carpark). Our room on the 9th floor overlooking the city was wonderful - big and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The parking underneath the hotel is expensive at 25 Euros per day but it is possible to obtain a card from the staff which brings it down to 15 Euros per day. All the hirecar companies operate from this area as well - very convenient. We did not partake of breakfast at the hotel but made use of the supermarket at the station shopping complex and kept juice and yoghurts/fruit in the fridge in the room. We did eat dinner twice in the restaurant and opted for the three course business menu plus coffee for 29 Euros - it was wonderful!!!!! We are booked to return shortly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    280
    115
    39
    22
See reviews for
64
200
25
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Lille really is just a stone's throw from Gare de Lille Europe. EuraLille is 2 minutes the other side of the station, whilst the Opera House and Grand Place are about 10 minutes away.

With the temperature up in the mid 30's, it was pleasing that the Aircon worked perfectly. Not quite sure how some reviewers can say this hotel is outdated -the decor is pleasing & the rooms well furnished, although the shower was an issue.

The staff were, without exception, helpful and polite. I do feel that the hotel is overpriced in terms of food and drink though: € 22 for continental breakfast in the room? I don't think so!

Overall though we enjoyed our stay. See if you can negotiate a deal at weekends and during July/August!

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCfromHYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear MrCfromHYU,

We would like to thank you for the nice review that you pested on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure for us to read that you were overall satisfied with our services, and our staff, and I'm sincerely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.


We trully hope to be able to welcome you back soon at the Crowne Plaza !

Sincerely,

Jean-Vianney Plays
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

On this Journey to Lille (France) we wnt together with our Travelgroup there for 2 Nights. Friendly welcomed at Check In and the Staff was friendly to the Guests. We have to say, that there was all very clean and comfortable. Especially it was good at the Breakfast - great!!! We also have been two Times in the Restaurant and it was good and a friendly Service there! Good Crowne Plaza Hotel in Lille.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolyMarDOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear SolyMarDOS,

Thank you for posting such a nice review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us.

It's a real pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed the kindness of our staff and the quality of our breakfast and the restaurant.

I will forward your comment to our staff with pleasure.

Looking forward to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Lille !!

Sincerely,

Jean-Vianney Plays
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night break at Crowne Plaza Lille, I have nothing but praise for this hotel, stunning room with a wonderfully comfy bed, free toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, British tv programmes and the breakfast was amazing including fresh fruit, full english, pancakes, meats,cheese, bread and pastries and fruit juice tea and coffee, the staff were very friendly and kind, we were given maps and guide books by a lovely young lady on reception. Would definitely choose Crowne Plaza Hotels for future holidays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Lynandrich,

Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor about your stay with us.

I'm glad you enjoyed and appreciate every moment of it, specially the kindness of the staff, the quality of our breakfast and our facilities. You can be sure I'll forward your review to the entire team!

Looking forward to welcome you again with us.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Vianney Plays
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights for business and having never been to Lille before, I was excited to see the location of the hotel was directly across from the train station. Getting to the hotel and checking in were smooth and easy. Upon entering my room, the first thing I noticed was the plastic garden chair being used for a desk chair. Not a good start. Internet access was easy and can be obtained for multiple devices. Internet speed not blazing but functional. Beds were relatively comfortable however and room was decent size. Restaurant served basic buffet items but also used the same plastic garden chairs - I'm sure this is a design decision but was a huge disappointment to me. I do not think I would stay here again given there are other hotels within walking distance with better amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear PatrickSD,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvsor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our location directly accross the train station and our room.

We are really surprised by your comment about our chairs in our room and in our restaurant Le Plaza. Those are not plastic garden chair at all. They're made by a brillant french designer called Philippe STARCK matching with the modern atmosphere of the hotel.

Looking further to welcome you again,

Best regards,

Jean-Vianney Plays
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3-4 times now. #1 USP- directly opposite Lille Europe station= 2 min walk to Eurostar check-in. After working all weekend at www.mainsquarefesival.fr it's a great option if you to get back to London early the next day and want a good nights sleep.

However, be warned.. Rooms are nice, but staff attitude stinks.
My shower was broken, and on the fourth floor, my wireless speed was slower than 3G.
Told reception on check out- "I'm sorry about that sir.. How would you like to pay ?!"

Enough said!

Helpful?
1 Thank anthonyruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear anthonyruk,

Thank your for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I'm sorry for the troubles you had during your stay. I'm really surprise of your comments about the staff, but be sure I'll see with them what happened. Effectively, the shower is not esay to use, but I can assure you it wasn't broken. Concerning the WIFI access, we're aware that it is a bit slow, but we're working on it.

It will be a pleasure for me to welcome you personnaly again.

Sincerely,
Jean-Vianney Plays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here week one of a three week business trip in Lille. Highly overpriced for a sad hotel. (Now moved next door to Novotel Suites...see that review!)
A few friendly staff, but overall to the point and unhelpful.
Rooms are outdated. "Free" wi-fi is slow and unreliable, not ideal for a business setting.
Much better options in Lille...will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferRose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne-Plaza-Lille, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Lille, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear JenniferRose8,

I would first like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor!

We are really sorry to read your disapointment of your stay and apologize about that.

We hope to welcome you again at our hotel and make sure we will do our best to satisfy you !!

Best regards,

Jean-Vianney Plays
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#3 of 106 in Lille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.8 mi away
Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Lille

Property: Crowne Plaza Lille
Address: 335 boulevard de Leeds, 59777, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Lille 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the business district, close to two train stations stands the Crowne Plaza Lille-Euralille. The Crowne Plaza hotel offers 121 spacious rooms and suite with panoramic views of Lille. Recognizable by its copper facade, it combines modern architecture, design and comfort. Whether for business or pleasure the location of the hotel is ideal, for you to take a TGV to Paris, London or Brussels. The history and culture of the city of Lille also make it an ideal destination for shopping or strolling through the old town. Make us your choice for your next appointment at Lille ! Orange and copper-toned drapes hang in the cosy space of our trendy Le Plaza restaurant, where you can enjoy French fine dining catered by our courteous staff. Cow hide rugs and flat-screen TVs in Le Plaza bar create a more informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lille Hotel Lille
Lille Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing