We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Palais des Beaux Arts
Lille City Pass
8 Reviews
from $28.70
More Info
from $16.10
More Info
Reviews (1,564)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveler rating
221
222
96
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
222
96
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews van gogh audio guide old masters art collection beautiful museum great art art lovers famous artists louvre in paris beaux arts first floor basement level eurostar tickets impressive building the ground floor special exhibition worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The audio commentary was one an ipod and no headphones available so you could hear people listening to this, which was very offputting. Also some of the pictures that had symbols against them, ie should have commentary, did not. I'd have liked more translations of the references against each painting but then I am British and cannot read French!

Thank lvb_primrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The art available for viewing was ok. Then I made the mistake of ordering a slice of pizza for lunch. Twenty-five minutes later I was finally served my meal. It was not worth the wait. I didn’t expect much but the wait was annoying when the food was so mediocre.

Thank 204IreneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The collection of Palais des Beaux Arts is interesting, although a bit limited when compared to other French cities. The infrastructure of the place seems to be decaying. Toilettes completely out of order. Deficient WiFi. The local café employs the grumpiest people in France. Kind of funny to read the sign behind the cashier that says “a smile can change everything “ when they don’t even bother saying a “bonjour”. Saying that they were rude is an understatement. Only bother visiting if there is something really interesting on the program.

Thank LCV2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

The Palais has plenty of worthwhile art, enough to fill a rainy afternoon like we had.

However, it's the Beau Café which did its best to spoil our visit; given the weather, we planned to eat there, and called in at 12:50pm, only to find a sign which said it was closed until 2:30pm for a private party. We hung on till about 2:45, and returned, to find a worker rubbing out 3pm from the sign which had replaced the 2:30. Great, we thought, time to eat - but no, the lady said they had closed for the day. Unbelievable. A typical French farce, which forced us to cross the square and find somewhere else to eat.

Speaking of French farces, it was interesting that nobody ever checked the tickets we had bought, making us wonder why we had bothered. Compare that with the Louvre extension in Lens, where admission was free, but insisted on you having a ticket, which was carefully checked!

Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Visited Lille on a Sunday, museum is one of the few things open on a Sunday. The art collection is really world class. The military plans-reliefs were undergoing restoration until March 2019, really wish I could have seen them as it appears larger than the collection at Hotel des Invalides in Paris. The museum does not appear to get large crowds. The art collection itself is well worth spending at least a couple hours of time.

Thank Monte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Amazing range of artists covered here. I started on the first floor (suggest having a coffee first!) and worked my way round all the schools of art. Then a decent meal with wine in the bright (daylight-lit) atrium, followed by exploring the rest of the building.

Thank saracenoWessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Mainly an art gallery, but laid out in sensible sections (geography, era) and not too overwhelming. A great place for a visit maybe have a quickish tour round most of it on a first visit then return to look in detail at sections that interest you. During 2018 the military town models are being renovated however, so maybe wait till next year!

1  Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Its a nice museum, especially if you like paintings. You can see some peintures de van Dyck, RuBENS, Monet etc.Its disadvantage is the lack of English translation on the written commentaries next to the paintings but also for quite a number of them presented by tha audio guide.

Thank AGELIKI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

We spent an hour and a half here at this attraction in Lille,but you could easily spend a few hours here.If you are visiting Lille from British Eurostar,you get can get a 2 for 1 deal on entry tickets by showing staff your Eurostar tickets.
This attraction doesn’t allow rucksacks on the basement level,you visit a counter,get a ticket and they will return it to you once you have finished your visit.
This is an amazing museum,with some fantastic art and was probably the best attraction that we visited on our day trip to Lille in August.
Without,a doubt my favourite room in the museum,is the hall with all the grand and magnificent statues.Intricate sculptures that looked amazing.
I enjoyed all the floors in this museum,there is lots to see,the upper floor is dedicated to paintings from various different artists,there is even a Picasso to be found.A must see attraction if you are visiting Lille.
Unfortunately,there was scaffolding up at the front of the building for renovation works,when we visited-this helped to spoil the magic of it.
Definitely a 5 Star attraction

Thank Marco_Num1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

What I really wanted to see, the military town models, are being renovated, you just have access to the workshop with a few segments on tables. The rest of the building feels like London’s National Gallery, but less crowded. Statuary and fine art in lots of rooms, nicely displayed, but almost nothing from 1900. It should be 5* once the plan reliefs return

Thank account2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews