We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of Vieux Lille”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Treille
Ranked #44 of 107 Hotels in Lille
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel in the heart of Vieux Lille”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel de La Treille has undergone a major bedroom refurbishment since I last stayed here just over a year ago. Back then, it was clean and functional, but its now been transformed into a 'boutique' style hotel and the rooms, are now very much nicer. Whilst some rooms are on the smaller side, they are not out of line with European sizes and given that in our party, we had 4 rooms in total, they were all equally well appointed. The pleasant surprise, is that the price hasn't gone up since the transformation, so the hotel is even better value now than previously. I've stayed in 4* hotels that were not as well decorated as this so would happily stay here again next time. Also, the beds are super comfortable!

The hotel also still benefits from being right in the heart of Vieux Lille so everything is on your doorstep or just a short stroll away, including a 15 min walk from the Eurostar station. The stafff are all very friendly and helpful and whilst I didn't have breakfast this time, it was very good last year.

At a push, the only downside is that some of the walls are quite thin so if you have noisy neighbours, you might need to request to be moved. Fortunately, our group was probably the noisiest so it wasn't an issue!

Highly recommended over some of the faceless chain hotels that charge much the same, in the area.

Room Tip: Booked single room but got 34 - small but decent double bed and balcony, on the quieter rear side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    114
    63
    36
    8
See reviews for
21
103
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was there for only one night, which was good, because the room was claustrophobically small. The bathroom was even smaller. No means to properly stand in front of the mirror and sink since you would bump against the toilet (actually, the sink was as big as the open space). The shower itself had the same issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank standoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a great time here - the staff were lovely and friendly, the hotel was clean and right in the centre. The downsides were - very small double room (number 33 at the front of the hotel - the ones at the back had balconies), with no where to unpack clothes, no shower. The breakfast had loads of choice and was lovely - only problem was if you got up later, some things had been standing around for a long time and were a little stale. But none of this took away from us having a lovely time in a very interesting city!!

Room Tip: Try a room at the back to see if its bigger / quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Visited Lille in the first weekend of March, choosing this hotel because of its location and short walk from the station. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel overlooking the cathedral. The room was small, the bathroom was a good size but had no shower. It had been recently refurbished and was clean and tidy.
The breakfast was very good, plenty of choice even had eggs and bacon.
The staff were very helpful, suggesting some good local restaurants nearby.
Price of room quite expensive (B&b 120 euro per night) but most things in Lille seemed to be expensive.

Room Tip: Room 20 overlooks cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wareite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Visited Lille in feb 2013. Nice old Town, not to big but lots to see and do for a weekend.
We chose Hotel de la Treille mainly for its good location. It is on the outskirts of the old center. So that was very good.

Hotel de la Treille is no more then your average 3 star hotel. Room was very small but clean and well maintained. Bathroom only had a bath tub, and no shower, meaning you had to sit in the tub one way or the other.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was meager, but ok. Do not expect anything fancy from this hotel. All in all, the price was pretty steep at 115 euro's per night.

Room Tip: Do not take room 37, it is just to small and not worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loebas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Best for location and if you only use your room to sleep.... very small dark rooms with no air con.
Over priced for Braderie= 170 euro..for room only per night....!!!!! toiletries were only provided on the first night despite asking for replenishment. We were not informed that the entrance to the Hotel was undergoing renovations and there was a rather dangerous covering on the floor of cardboard and tape.

The staff were helpful but a gentleman who appeared to be the manager was operating reception like an Army Drill Sergeant, the poor receptionist was not able to deal with people on her own and the manager was interupting her and taking over her tasks. He abruptly told me to sit down 4 times and mainly people were adhering to his orders. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The title says it all really! We stayed here for three nights over the bank holiday weekend and were very impressed. The hotel was easy to reach from the Eurostar terminal and the location couldn't have been better, right in the centre of Lille close to shops, restaurants, bars, museums etc. The staff on reception were worth the price of the room on their own, especially the day receptionist (I unfortunately neglected to ask his name), who couldn't do enough to be helpful (and had a wicked sense of humour). Breakfast was fresh and plentiful (and available until about 10.30am!), the room had everything we needed and was spotless and tidy. I particularly appreciated the large bathroom, especially when used to the size of Parisian hotel rooms. We had a room at the back with a view to the Cathedral and were able to have the window wide open all night and sleep in the fresh air. We took a train to Ypres to see the Menin Gate and visit the new In Flanders Fields museum, which was also excellent. All in all a great trip. Recommended highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 107 in Lille
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Vieux Lille
0.2 mi away
Ibis Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#41 of 107 in Lille
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
1.1 mi away
Villa Gounod
Villa Gounod
#27 of 107 in Lille
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Treille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Treille

Property: Hotel de la Treille
Address: 7 Place Louise de Bettignies, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Treille 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Treille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Treille Lille
De La Treille Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing