We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, good value hotel”
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #39 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ideal location, good value hotel”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Found this hotel on Trip Advisor so would like to recommend it back to others! Spent two days in Lille for the Christmas market and this hotel was minutes walk away from Christmas markets and barely ten from the Eurostar station. Right in the middle of the town, quiet, clean room and friendly staff. Ideal fro what we wanted

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneGMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    93
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
68
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. Well located, warm, comfortable though rooms not large -typical of French town hotel, good breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Shower flow a bit slow but useable. Go for back of hotel if you want total quiet rather a little bit of French town typical noise as town comes to life. Beware of mosquito's even in November as warm hotel. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank revdnsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Arrived on the Friday evening after a very pleasant and quick Eurostar journey to Lille from St. Pancras. A short 10 minute stroll through some pretty lights and left turn down a side street and there was the hotel! Greeted at Reception and quick check-in to our rooms. One was a twin room with ensuite bath and overhead shower. The bath water trickled out very slowly and was not very hot at the time of night it was tried - about midnight. But all clean and fresh sheets. The second room had a double bed - again quite small with an ensuite shower cubicle. This worked fine and had just hot water but not very hot. Again nice and clean and fresh sheets. There are few plugs and no tea/coffee making facilities (so we brought our own). There was a small mini-bar cooler stocked with various soft drinks and mini alcoholic liquors - but we just used it to store some milk and juice purchased from local supermarket.
The hotel is situated in the centre of the older part of the time and after walking around Lille - I would say the best part to stay - lots of bars/cafes and restaurants and nice shops - even a C&A around the corner! The only drawback is that all the shops were CLOSED on Sunday. This was a real disappoint for us only staying for the weekend. We did visit a large market 2 stops on the metro - which was okay but it was pouring with rain so everything wet! We ended up in a very nice bar/cafe and had hot chocolate.
The bar of the hotel also is the breakfast room and was always empty at night. The breakfast was included in our break - set menu of cereals/yoghurt, Fruit Juice, Breads, Butter and jams, Coffee/Tea/Hot chocolate - and below an extra menu where you could pay for additional breakfast of eggs - omelettes, fried or scrambled. I had the fried eggs on both occasions and were just right. Its served a bit like on an aeroplane - everyone get's their own tray of everything asked for and the eggs come out a few minutes later after you have eaten your cereals. Not much room on the table and you find yourself stacking things to try to make some room on the tray like you do sitting in a seat with a tray of food on an aeroplane. Staff though were very pleasant and served the breakfast quite quickly to everyone.
It was a nice weekend - and as we were out of season - what we expected (apart from shops being closed on Sunday).

Room Tip: A little noise from the main street at night - so ask for a quiet room at the back. Bring a travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sellywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

A nice hotel on the edge of the old town. Very handy for the main shops and the cafes and bars around the main square.
The rooms are small but very clean. I would suggest asking for a room at the back of the hotel , as mentioned by other reviewers, as our rooms at the front were affected by noise from the street until the early hours. Not traffic but the occasional drunk falling out of the nightclub down the road.
Breakfast is excellent with the usual coffee, cereal, breads and juice complemented by options of omelettes, scrambled or fried eggs. Very nice!
Very convenient for the Eurostar station - only 10 minutes walk.
We would definitely stay here again when returning to Lille.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank xxx1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I could not be more satisfied with my choice to stay at the Hotel de la Paix while in Lille. The location is great. The hotel is well located for access to both train stations and the Metro as well as the downtown area, and there are loads of restaurants and shops just steps from the hotel. My cozy room at the back of the building was quiet, comfortable, clean, and attractive. Breakfast is served in a pleasant room on the ground floor, or promptly in your own room at no extra charge. Guests have the option of ordering items a la carte, which is nice if the standard continental breakfast is not exactly what you want. Finally, I found the staff without exception to be kind and helpful. I carelessly left behind in a desk drawer some papers that I cared about; the front desk staff went to the room, found my papers and posted them on to me in the U.S. without worrying about reimbursement for postage. Hotel de la Paix truly is a gem of a hotel, and I would definitely stay there again if I return to Lille.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent hotel in a great location! Walking distance from Eurostar station and close to bars restaurants and grand place! Rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Would recommend to couples and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millwardCumbriaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Booked this hotel after seeing reviews on Trip Advisor and we were delighted with it. In view of some of the comment, we emailed in advance and requested a room at the back of the hotel which we were allocated. Our room was quiet, had two large windows which we could open so was nice a cool. The room was spotless and thoroughly refreshed each day we were there. Breakfast was excellent. Location is perfect for station, shops, bars and restaurant etc.

Room Tip: Room at the back of hotel are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lille
Grand Hotel Lille
#41 of 107 in Lille
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brueghel
Hotel Brueghel
#32 of 107 in Lille
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#15 of 107 in Lille
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Moulin d'Or
Hotel du Moulin d'Or
#31 of 107 in Lille
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kanai Hotel
Kanai Hotel
#9 of 107 in Lille
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#12 of 107 in Lille
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: 46 B rue de Paris, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Lille
De La Paix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing