We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Flandre Angleterre
Ranked #51 of 107 Hotels in Lille
orlando fl
Level Contributor
225 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“would go back”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

this hotel is very well situated, just across from the train stations, across from the entrance to the two metro lines, next to bus terminus and a short walk to the town center.
a bit wary of hotels next to the train station, (especially tow str hotels) this one was friendly, clean and well frequented.
room 311, for three was comfortable and roomy enough. although the velux overlooked the station the room was quiet.
breakfast adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debsteroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    95
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
28
63
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

As previous reviewers have already said, this is a place for a maximum of 2 nights. It's clean and well run and pretty good value. Opt for a rearward room, as the front ones must be incredibly noisy. Room 204 was fine, apart from the shower being a hand-held affair - are shower hooks so expensive ?

Great location for both stations and the old town.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have passed this hotel many times on our visits to Lille, so when it came to booking it on a special offer, I knew that the location is extremely convenient, being a short distance from Gare Lille Europe and exactly opposite Gare Lille Flandres. It is a basic hotel with a tiny reception. The rooms are clean but on the small side but ours had the added bonus of a room safe and a mini bar, which became crucial as our stay of two nights coincided with the heat wave that hit that part of Europe. A fan was provided, but air-conditioning was very sorely missed those two nights. However, we were lucky in having a room facing the back The bathroom, also very clean, was also very small, with a good shower but with nowhere to hang the shower head, so it was morning showers a la small cabin cruiser; wet yourself, soap yourself and rinse yourself.
Overall we would stay again for an overnight or maximum 2 nights, ideal if you are in transit in Lille and catching a train from Lille Flandres to distant parts of France.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front have a "view" of the railway station and because it's on a main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I only needed a place to stay for one night, so this hotel did the job perfectly. It is very central. You literally get off the Eurostar and have a five minute walk to the hotel, which is great. It's also very close to other local amenities such as the main town square, and the Zenith arena. However, being that central, it is a little noisy during the night, and when the buses start running early in the morning.
The reception area is remarkably tiny, but the receptionists were very friendly and spoke excellent English! Can't comment on the food, as I wasn't there long enough to try it!
Rooms are compact but clean overall. The bed isn't the comfiest I've ever slept on, and I can't stand those long thin pillows that you find in Europe, but I should have had a look around, because there was a normal one hiding in the wardrobe! Bathroom again is clean, if a little old fashioned (especially the shower!).
Overall, it is a clean hotel in a brilliant location; perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBird1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 1 night on 16 May 2013 and found the hotel well located for the 'tourist' part of the city and reasonably handy (12 minutes walk with 2 heavy suit cases and 2 cabin bags) to the Eurostar station. On arrival the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful with information about the city. The 'superior' room with ensuite at EUR 105 was small and taking our bags up in the small lift, through the dinning area and up narrow stairs was a bit of a challenge. OK for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
181 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location can't be faulted, very close to Eurostar station and main town square. Reception staff friendly and no problems there. Room was very basic, but clean. Bathroom was clean but really not very nice. Ok for one night if you're on a tight budget otherwise look elsewhere.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank UKGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lille hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

For the purpose of our one night stay, which was to have something close to the station, this was fine. It is a 2 star hotel and that's what you get. The people on reception were very friendly and helpful, especially the young man who checked us in. The breakfast was good for the small charge and the room we had in was in quite pleasant. Even if this is only 2 stars, the hotel could do to lift its game in a couple of areas. The bathroom in our room had a swivelling panel to access the bath's plumbing which was broken and gaping, and for some reason that I could not fathom there was nothing to actually attach the shower to so it needed to be hand held. The very short walk to the station the next morning made it a great place to stay in Lille.

Room Tip: We had one at the back of the hotel on the 5th floor which made it nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#69 of 107 in Lille
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel balladins Lille
Hotel balladins Lille
#54 of 107 in Lille
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lille Europe
Hotel Lille Europe
#35 of 107 in Lille
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lille
Grand Hotel Lille
#41 of 107 in Lille
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#39 of 107 in Lille
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Napoleon
Le Napoleon
#62 of 107 in Lille
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flandre Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flandre Angleterre

Property: Hotel Flandre Angleterre
Address: 13 Place de la Gare, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Flandre Angleterre 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Flandre Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flandres Angleterre Lille
Flandres Angleterre Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing