We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to lay your head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Flandre Angleterre
Ranked #59 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Reviewed September 21, 2013

As previous reviewers have already said, this is a place for a maximum of 2 nights. It's clean and well run and pretty good value. Opt for a rearward room, as the front ones must be incredibly noisy. Room 204 was fine, apart from the shower being a hand-held affair - are shower hooks so expensive ?

Great location for both stations and the old town.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank SeanIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have passed this hotel many times on our visits to Lille, so when it came to booking it on a special offer, I knew that the location is extremely convenient, being a short distance from Gare Lille Europe and exactly opposite Gare Lille Flandres. It is a basic hotel with a tiny reception. The rooms are clean but on the small side but ours had the added bonus of a room safe and a mini bar, which became crucial as our stay of two nights coincided with the heat wave that hit that part of Europe. A fan was provided, but air-conditioning was very sorely missed those two nights. However, we were lucky in having a room facing the back The bathroom, also very clean, was also very small, with a good shower but with nowhere to hang the shower head, so it was morning showers a la small cabin cruiser; wet yourself, soap yourself and rinse yourself.
Overall we would stay again for an overnight or maximum 2 nights, ideal if you are in transit in Lille and catching a train from Lille Flandres to distant parts of France.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front have a "view" of the railway station and because it's on a main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank algosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I only needed a place to stay for one night, so this hotel did the job perfectly. It is very central. You literally get off the Eurostar and have a five minute walk to the hotel, which is great. It's also very close to other local amenities such as the main town square, and the Zenith arena. However, being that central, it is a little noisy during the night, and when the buses start running early in the morning.
The reception area is remarkably tiny, but the receptionists were very friendly and spoke excellent English! Can't comment on the food, as I wasn't there long enough to try it!
Rooms are compact but clean overall. The bed isn't the comfiest I've ever slept on, and I can't stand those long thin pillows that you find in Europe, but I should have had a look around, because there was a normal one hiding in the wardrobe! Bathroom again is clean, if a little old fashioned (especially the shower!).
Overall, it is a clean hotel in a brilliant location; perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBird1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 1 night on 16 May 2013 and found the hotel well located for the 'tourist' part of the city and reasonably handy (12 minutes walk with 2 heavy suit cases and 2 cabin bags) to the Eurostar station. On arrival the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful with information about the city. The 'superior' room with ensuite at EUR 105 was small and taking our bags up in the small lift, through the dinning area and up narrow stairs was a bit of a challenge. OK for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location can't be faulted, very close to Eurostar station and main town square. Reception staff friendly and no problems there. Room was very basic, but clean. Bathroom was clean but really not very nice. Ok for one night if you're on a tight budget otherwise look elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank UKGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

For the purpose of our one night stay, which was to have something close to the station, this was fine. It is a 2 star hotel and that's what you get. The people on reception were very friendly and helpful, especially the young man who checked us in. The breakfast was good for the small charge and the room we had in was in quite pleasant. Even if this is only 2 stars, the hotel could do to lift its game in a couple of areas. The bathroom in our room had a swivelling panel to access the bath's plumbing which was broken and gaping, and for some reason that I could not fathom there was nothing to actually attach the shower to so it needed to be hand held. The very short walk to the station the next morning made it a great place to stay in Lille.

Room Tip: We had one at the back of the hotel on the 5th floor which made it nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights ideal location , clean rooms , people on reception very helpfull , ok place to be fair ? I would not want to stay for a week but for a couple of nights it was great would go back .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blade55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calm
Hotel Calm
#38 of 107 in Lille
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lille
Grand Hotel Lille
#31 of 107 in Lille
55 reviews
0 mi away
Le Napoleon
Le Napoleon
#62 of 107 in Lille
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saint Maurice Hotel
Saint Maurice Hotel
#58 of 107 in Lille
103 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#85 of 107 in Lille
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#43 of 107 in Lille
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flandre Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flandre Angleterre

Address: 13 Place de la Gare, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range: $66 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Flandre Angleterre 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Flandre Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flandres Angleterre Lille
Flandres Angleterre Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing