We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location”
Review of Hotel Brueghel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Brueghel
Ranked #29 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A good location to explore the old part of the city and easy to find. The hotel is located on is a pedestrian street very close to the main shopping area. Before I arrived I checked parking arrangements and received a prompt and accurate response. The room was clean with everything that I expected. I had a great view of the church which is adjacent to the hotel. There was no traffic noise to disturb my sleep other than the street cleaning vehicle which passed several times early in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 234 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

This establishment urgently needs a makeover or at least a deep clean
Room very smelly — a sickly mixture of stale cigarette smoke and smelly feet
Breakfast at 10€ represents very poor value for money — hated the fowl rubbery texture of croissants and pains au chocolat — don't waste your money!

Room Tip: look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelerParisFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

my friend and I have just returned from three days in Lille staying at this hotel. It is five minutes from the eurostar terminal next to St Maurices church, so easy to find, Also next to the pedestrian centre, there is a quaint old iron lift which we loved, Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking trees in the square, although it was small it was perfectly adequate and had wonderfully comfortable beds. The bathroom was clean and had all we needed, we didnt have breakfast there as we felt for 9 euros we could eat breakfast out. altogether a perfect place for a short break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a fantastic time in Lille overall (long weekend on the eurostar from London). In terms of the hotel...

POSITIVES: - easy walk from the eurostar (or any of the other Lille stations)
- gorgeous reception area with interesting antiques and a lovely comfy sofa
- very pretty from the outside
- lovely big windows in the room we were in
- great location for exploring Lille

NEGATIVES: - very small rooms
- bathrooms could do with an update
- noisy street corner at night (not because of it's location I think as it's right by a church, but generally a lot of drunks shouting on a sat night, right through to 6am!)
- No air conditioning - normally this would be fine for Lille but we went in mid August when it was 33C and the heat made it difficult to sleep. It would have been nice to have been offered a fan as it was a particularly hot weekend
- the receptionists are not exactly over friendly

Overall it's absolutely fine and fairly decent value for money, but don't expect luxury!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidayerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A delightful hotel with lots of character and helpful staff. A little noisy at night but rooms were comfortable and well cared for. Stayed 6 nights and good base for exploring Lille and WWI battlefields.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors may b quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHelds_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

If you like modern, chain built hotels, this is not for you. But if you look for some hotels with a story of hospitality, then you can appreciate the atmosphere of this hotel, located in the heart of Lille, one step from the Grand Place, one step from the two stations. The elevator is a masterpiece of the beginning of last century. Size of the room (and associated service) is quite small, but the quality price ratio is overall excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Screen95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Very convenient location for the train stations.Room was small but appeared to be clean although the first morning my husband noticed a cigarette butt on top of the duvet. We were puzzled by this and can only assume that it was on the duvet which was folded over at the top and it must have fallen out when we got into bed. We didn't breakfast there so cannot comment on the food. Staff seemed friendly and had a tiny quirky old fashioned lift. There was a lovely wine shop over the road, I think it was called Cave St Maurice, the lady in there was very kind, helping us to choose wines and even opening them for us to take away as we did not have a corkscrew.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrisment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Kanai Hotel
Kanai Hotel
#10 of 107 in Lille
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Treille
Hotel de la Treille
#55 of 107 in Lille
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lille
Grand Hotel Lille
#33 of 107 in Lille
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#9 of 107 in Lille
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#42 of 107 in Lille
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brueghel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brueghel

Address: 3 Parvis Saint Maurice, 59800, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range: $91 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brueghel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Brueghel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brueghel Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing