We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sleep Deprivation City”
Review of Hotel Faidherbe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Faidherbe
Ranked #83 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sleep Deprivation City”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The first imprssion was impacted by being above a sex shop, then a 1in 10 gradient staircase, the lift was accessable only if you shouted up to the desk, and then the locks on the door took forever to get them to lock. However seeing the room I was pleasantly surprised, clean and functional and the bath requested was supplied. However, the supply of hot water to the bath was so slow that by the time there was enough water, what had already ran in, was only warm. Then on the first day I left, locking my room, only to discover that when we returned around early evening, my door was unlocked and due to the type of lock it was not even "apparently" locked. then the worst part of this hotel was that due to the noise of lorries delivering parcels to the station, sleep was almost impossible unless drug otr alcohol induced. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: do not go here if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
11
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and barely slept! The hotel is situated directly opposite Lille Railway Station, on an incredibly noisy street. the road is very busy both day and night and even though my room was on the 4th floor, the partially glazed windows did little to deaden the noise of traffic from the road below. Such a pity as the bed was very comfortable. The room itself was large, clean, but clinical and featureless. I felt as though I was sleeping in a large bathroom as it was all white walls and tiled floor. There was very little in the way of furniture and certainly nowhere to store luggage securely. The breakfast wasn't worth bothering with and cost 7 Euros, so I dined at L'Express round the corner, which was excellent.
To summarise, I probably wouldn't want to stay at this hotel again, mainly because of the noise. I have to say though, the staff were excellent. Very welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: If you're allocated a room at front of house, buy some ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irish-drummer-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Super easy to find from train station – just look to the left as you exit! Small lift available. Spacious room, not very clean though. Wi-fi was weak and slow. Breakfast not included, but lots pastry places around. We were just stopping in Lille on the way to Belgium, but loved this beauty of a town so much we spent a full day exploring it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinamf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajapalayam, India
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hotel is just opposite to Lille Flandres station which is an excellent location. Rooms are good and comfortable. Bathrooms are not very comfortable because there is only hand shower and no wall shower. So, bathing is a bit difficult. Further, the bathroom did not have 1 sliding door in the 2 doors, so I had to keep the bathroom open only which is not very comfortable for me.

Wifi is too worst, it gets disconnected in minutes and you have to connect again and again to send even 1 mail. Generally, hotel is OK and I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volcanoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Toilet and shower on the fourth floor for all 3 floors bedrooms.
Very small room with or without a TV 34E or 33E, what else to expect at this price? The bedsheets were clean and fresh that's the most important isn't it? and the staff accomodating and friendly.

The hotel is very close to the train station like 20 other hotels in Lilles. It is a place to spent the night not to enjoy in itself.

We had the last room in Lilles during a busy physycists congress and lucky to have it.

Bring your smile and a sense of humor with your little money.

Michel
Vancouver, Canada

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — small room, outside WC and shower
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank valentinVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lille hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Floreal
Hotel le Floreal
#80 of 107 in Lille
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Calm
Hotel Calm
#49 of 107 in Lille
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Flandre Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#76 of 107 in Lille
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saint Maurice Hotel
Saint Maurice Hotel
#45 of 107 in Lille
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel balladins Lille
Hotel balladins Lille
#46 of 107 in Lille
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Faidherbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faidherbe

Property: Hotel Faidherbe
Address: 42 Place de la Gare, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Faidherbe 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Faidherbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing