We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Lille Centre Gares
Ranked #21 of 107 Hotels in Lille
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here in December 2013 when visiting Lille for the Christmas Market.

We drove to this hotel and found it easy to find. Website says it has a car park but it doesn't. There is a car park virtually next to the hotel though. Cost of parking was 20 euros per 24 hour period. Hotel was very clean, staff were very helpful and friendly but didnt speak much English. The original rooms we were given were smoking rooms and smelled strongly of smoke and we had asked for non-smoking on our booking. This wasnt a problem though, as the receptionist changed our rooms but couldnt put 2 rooms together.

The rooms were spotless. Plenty of towels and toiletries. Room had a safe and tea and coffee making facilities. Also it was very well sound proofed as we didn't hear any noise at all.

The hotel was in a good location to walk into the centre of Lille which took about 10 minutes. Lovely city with some beautiful architecture. Loads of bars and restaurants to suit everybody.

The hotel bar was very friendly and each time we had a round of drinks we were given complimentary nuts and crisps. Bar staff were happy to let us sample some local beers before we ordered a glass full, which was a nice touch

The only negative I have to say about this hotel, was the breakfast was not up to the normal Novotel standard. It was still good but not excellent. Other Novotels we have stayed at have had a much wider variety, this was more limited. The bacon ran out and was not replenished, no mushrooms or beans etc. Only scrambled egg, no fried eggs. The hot water for the tea was not hot. There were all the normal pastries on offer and cereal also fresh fruit and yogurt. Considering the price you pay for the breakfast I do not consider that it was good value for what was on offer.

In all fairness to the Hotel, I have to say that it was very, very busy the weekend we stayed (they were fully booked) and it might have been that the staff were very busy and could not keep up with the demand.

However, I would return to this Hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolBenfleet_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 732 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is conveniently located very close to the centre of Lille. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly. Excellent modern shower room in our bedroom.
The breakfast in the morning was superb.
The only negative we noticed was that the food prices are sky-high - but we didn't eat in the hotel (only breakfast which was included) so this didn't matter to us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srkcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel is overall nice, breakfast amazing, and the staff was overall friendly and accommodating. The only issue I have is that they offer no television in English other than the news. We came here to get away from all the nonsense back home and unfortunately when it's time to relax at night, we can't watch any TV. Looking around in the lobby and restaurant I would say it was safe to say that 80% of the people there where speaking in English. It would just be nice to have some options or at least subtitles so we could unwind in our room in the evening.

Room Tip: The rooms can get really hot and on the first floor the windows have locks that they will not allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JND1964
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stay in lots of Novotels and its fair to say this is not the best, however it does what it says on the tin.....
its central so easy to walk to all areas and the city breakfast of juice, coffee, pastries and yoghurt was perfect and served quickly in the bar.

The food in the evening was reasonable but served by one waitress doing both the bar including cocktails and the dining room which at one time had 8 tables full.... very impressive she was but really 2 people would have given a quicker service.

We were upgraded on arrival and found both the complimentary cold drinks and snacks plus coffee maker great extras in the executive room.
The aircon was not working and was not fixed dispite reporting this, I agree with an earlier comment with regard to maintence or lack of it.

Would stayagain if travelling on a budget

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matronmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 747kees V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Lille Centre Gares
Ibis Lille Centre Gares
#19 of 107 in Lille
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
0.6 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Vieux Lille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lille Centre Gares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lille Centre Gares

Address: 49 rue de Tournai, 59800, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lille
#8 Green Hotel in Lille
#9 Business Hotel in Lille
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lille
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range: $90 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lille Centre Gares 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lille Centre Gares is a modern 3 star hotel 2 min walk from Lille Flandres station, the Zenith and the Grand Palais, and 5 min from Lille Europe station and the city centre. Ideal for professional or private trips discovering all the region has to offer. 96 airconditioned rooms including 34 refurbished rooms and 5 suites. Enjoy our free fitness centre and patio. With our Family Offer available on request on Sunday you can keep your room until 5 p.m. Public parking at Lille Flandres station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Lille Centre Gares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lille Centre Gares Hotel Lille
Accor Lille Centre Gares
Lille Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing