We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lens & Lille” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Fleet
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lens & Lille”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited the "Louvre" at Lens followed by a brief stay at Le Couvente des Minimes. This was our second stay & we enjoyed it very much. The hotel is in a great position and the staff pleasant & friendly. We parked in the hotel car park (18 Euros for 24 hours) & had dinner at the hotel too (29 Euros for a set meal of 3 courses). The meal was tasty & the surroundings very pleasant. We had a nice room on 2nd floor - spacious & fine. One of our party travelling alone was given a very small room initially but hotel were happy to change it for a more spacious one with a full bath. The reception staff spoke very good Englsh & were charming. As stated in an earlier review drinks in bar expensive 13 Euros for a G & T but surroundings fab & very cold outside!! Breakfast also 19 Euros & very nice but think rather expensive if all you want is coffee & croissant. Had a very enjoyable stay but overall quite costly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LaCrotelloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    329
    194
    55
    25
See reviews for
95
407
23
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Couvent des Minimes 15th - 18th February.
The staff were friendly & helpful and were very tolerant of our school days French!
We enjoyed the bar & restaurant although as a previous reviewer had mentioned it was rather chilly.
We had a lovely dinner with champagne on one evening and just had snacks (and more champagne) in the bar on the Sunday evening as nothing was open.
Our bedroom on the second floor was lovely although the bathroom was probably in need of some attention. It was large and clean, but a little dated. The shower was over the bath, which is fine but the shower screen and shower head were the opposite ends. This resulted in a mini flood everytime it was used! The hair dryer was a wall mounted one and ok for drying your hair but useless for any styling! So ladies - take a hat or take your own hairdryer!
Anyway, this was only a minor issue and did not distract from the overall ambience.
Lille itself is quaint and much friendlier than Paris. There isn't lots to do, so don't expect an action packed trip. The art galleries are certainly worth a visit. The much rated Sunday morning flea market is a definite miss! There was ots of begging, particularly Romanian women with young children.
We enjoyed the weekend and would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quiet. We were offered an upgraded room for 30 euros extra but declined, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jools1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for three nights at the wonderful Couvent des Minimes and think it's a great hotel. The sympathetic conversion makes for a stunning bar and restaurant area and our room was very good - large and well equipped, although the bathroom was a little tired.

The bar and restaurant area with their amazing height and glass roof were definitely on the chilly side, but in any case you probably don't want to linger too long in the bar because of the astranomical prices!

Location is fabulous, across the road from the Citadel and (Free) Zoo, in a nice part of town, less than 10 minutes walk to the main square.

Staff were all friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was great, although it had no view. Rooms at the top of the hotel cut into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob-34567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

A classy establishment within an old & beautifully converted convent. The hotel has a very fresh, clean & contemporary feel. Our bedroom was immaculately presented & had a lovely marble- tiled bathroom. The staff were very professional & friendly at all times. The breakfast was very good; plenty of choice to cater for all tastes & as much of it as you like!
The only downside was the unexpected cost of the car-parking. At €18 per night it wasn't cheap ! Aside from that, it is a lovely hotel and one that I would have no difficulty at all in recommending.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simo200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a long weekend having traveled by Eurostar from London. All of the staff were very friendly and courteous.

Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of items on offer. We came down late at 10am each day and everything was available.

Everywhere was clean.

The conversion kept the character of the building. The rooms are modern.

There was some noise early in the morning from the car park outside (room 220) but otherwise the room was quiet. I found the bed a bit hard.
The food in the restaurant on an evening was excellent. The bar food was fine. The Normandy coffee is recommended,

Room Tip: choose a corner room as they are quieter - we had 220
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanTravller M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked for a weekend away as a couple. We had a room upgrade, but even then the room was poorly lit and characterless. The central conversion (where the bar and restaurant are) is beautifully done, but no where near as much effort has gone into the rooms, which are bland, poorly decorated, and "typical business traveller" rooms. The room (on the first floor) was very noisy, with music from the central bar audible until half past midnight, and starting again at 6.30am. The sound proofing in the room was also poor (we could hear our neighbours cough in the night). Lovely shower, but there is no proper hairdryer - why not in a hotel of this price? Certainly not worth the 143 euros plus upgrade cost, or even the 143 euros. Loud, characterless and disappointing. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMAK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The public rooms of this hotel are beautiful. The conversion in the main lounge area is quite stunning and definitely four star. We opted for a room upgrade but were very disappointed. The room had a wonderful view of the roof, it was dark (but then a lot of French hotels are dark), it was like a sauna, even though we turned all the radiators off and opened the windows. The carpets were stained, furniture scratched and chipped and there were marks on the wallpaper. Not exactly a four star room at all. The housekeeping was "just ok", nothing more. There were only 2 English speaking channels on the TV - I hasten to add we don't go across the channel to watch TV but do like to keep abreast of the news/weather etc. The TV showed BBC Entertainment (complete and utter rubbish) and CNN. CNN was not working, they did fix this for us but the BBC channel's volume was so low it was inaudible and it could not be increased - in the end we turned it all off!!!!! No great hardship as re-runs of Eastenders and My family is not exactly thrilling! So can I recommend it? Four star atrium - absolutely - bedroom most definitely not 4 star - it would scrape a 3 at the most. Hotel is quite a walk from the town centre too but that does mean it is wonderfully quiet.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the 30Eu upgrade - not worth it but ours was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthGlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.8 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#2 of 106 in Lille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarance Hotel
Clarance Hotel
#3 of 106 in Lille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille

Property: Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
Address: 17 quai du Wault, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly Golden Tulip Alliance Couvent des Minimes)
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lille
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couvent Des Minimes - Alliance Lille Hotel Lille
Alliance Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing