We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel -- one major problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place
Ranked #16 of 107 Hotels in Lille
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is a modern hotel situated in a side street, and backing onto a square, about 5 minutes walk from the Place Rihour and the Grand Place. Thus very convenient for all activities; about a 20 min walk from the Eurostar station.
Lille pleasant (don't miss the free zoo - closed Dec1-Feb6 and the Art Gallery)
I will deal first with the positives, and deal with the problem last.
Hotel design in public areas is chic, even funky, the bedrooms being more standard, but still well-appointed, with large flat screen TV, sofa, pivoted table, etc. Staff really excellent - pleasant and concerned but not obsequious. Breakfast (included in our 3 night break from Superbreak, cheaper that way than direct) really very good, with wide choices and (a nice touch) local specialities such as wafers and Maroilles cheese.
Staff would break out into English at any opportunity.
We stayed in Room 205 from 8-11 October -and the hotel had got out its winter heavyweight duvets -- far too hot as it was 72 deg F outside.
The major problem, however, was mosquitoes. My wife and I ended up with over 30 painful bites between us. Reception expressed great surprise over this, and had no remedy. When we used to go round France 30 years ago in 70-franc a night small hotels, they were common, and we soon learned to take insect repellent and an aerosol of fly spray. But in a modern 21st century hotel?
The mosquitoes seemed to lurk in the cooling and heating ducts, and the flat roof below Rm 205 was equipped with long flat drainage channels that retained water - ideal for mosquito propagation!

Would we recommend the Novotel? Well, oddly, we would. It was a very good hotel. But management (to whom I will copy this) really ought to see to the insect problem, as the consequences for someone with an allergy could be very serious. In the meantime, take a fly-killer aerosol with you!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loughtonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 960 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

Excellently situated for the beautiful city of Lille, it's only a maximum 20 minute walk from Eurolille Station and in the Vieux Lille area. Within easy walking distance of all the attractions that Lille has to offer. Superior room was clean, with plenty of room for two. Free safe and wifi is a nice touch, as is the kettle. Tea and coffee supplied but if you're British you might want to bring a decent instant coffee and some PG Tips (though this was a problem throughout the weekend and not specific to the hotel). Boazoa (below) stated that you could not use your own adaptor to charge items - I'm pleased to say that I found this not to be the case, I took 'old trusty' with me and had no problem using this to charge both my mobile and netbook.

The staff were extremely gracious and helpful at all times, and appreciated our attempts at French. In the first room we were in the safe did not work, so they arranged for us to have a different room before we'd even asked. If you need to check out long before you actually need to leave the city (as we did) there is a secure luggage storage room available and you are free to continue to use the hotel facilities.

We didn't have the breakfast, so can't comment on that.

Lille is a beautiful city, with stunning architecture and everything within easy reach. If shopping is what you want, don't go to the Eurolille shopping centre but spend time wandering around the numerous shops in the GP and Vieux Lille districts.

Lots of very good eateries in a short distance of the hotel - and the plat de jours are definitely a must for an inexpensive meal. La Botega is fantastic if a pizza is what you are looking for - and about a 10 minute stroll from the hotel. On a beautiful Sunday the zoo, citadel and surrounding area is an area of peace and quiet. If you want to get amongst the Sunday throng, visit the Wazemmes market.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kemper_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

This hotel is really bad. In the first place when you want to book a room they give you a choice between an executive room and a standard one. The price of the first is higher BUT these are the same. This was told us at the reception on arrival. The carpet in our room was terribly dirty with many stains. I did not dare to walk bare footed. The bathroom was very small, the couch uncomfortable and also dirty, the towels had stains (I do not want to know from what or from whom), the sink did not smell ok and neither did the toilet (urine). Beside this the view and the decoration are depressing. I will never go back because all of this spoiled a weekend that could have been so nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellenTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Firstly the good , the receptionist who seemed to always be on duty was excellent, very very helpful and charming.
Location is very good, near the shops and centre and quiet.
Now the not so good - This is a buisness hotel, we booked an executive room and there were plenty of hangers and a single shelf, but nowhere else to store your clothes.
The toilet is seperate from the bathroom and was quite small, even for just a toilet, the bathroom was round by the bed, 2 wooden pull doors to close, not that easy either.
Why are toilets seperate from the bathrooms in mainland Europe? This is the 4th hotel on the trot where this has been the case. This is all well and good if there is a handbasin inside the toilet but alas NO, meaning you have to open a door, close a door and open an other door before you can reach a place to wash your hands.
The bed had 2 'pillows' for 2 people, they were appalling, we did get 2 extras but they were still poor quality, again this is not specific to this hotel, but another experience of hotels in Europe.
Air Conditioning poor, it was working in a way, but it would not get cold, just kinda coolish.
TV - CNN & BBC News are the only 2 English speaking channels available, there are plenty of Dutch and German.
Breakfast - Ok, Plenty of choice, but the cooked items could have been better, the scrambled eggs (only type availa) are powder and disgusting. Bacon and Sausages not too bad.
Plenty of Coffee, with hot milk as I need to milk down the strong stuff.
Car parking at the car park at the back is well priced at 11 euro's a day.
Overall , better room lay outs, more storage and better eggs, it is sometimes nice to have English Channels.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Our third stay at this Novotel over a two year period and it continues to offer a good visitor experience. We had two rooms and both were of a good standard and were certainly clean and well decorated. It's a great location for visiting Lille and gives easy access to lots of good shops and restaurants. Staff were their usual courteous selves and the breakfast was superb. We have now stayed at Novotels in Lille, Metz, Brugge and Berlin and have found them all ideal for a family stay, very reliable hotel chain from our experience. No criticisms at all - thank you Novotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I have spent two days in this hotel, when I was travelling for business. The first night I had a very nice room and nothing to complain about.
However, as the hotel was full the second night, I had to share the room with one of my colleagues. This room was not as nice as the first one: there were some damages on the ceiling due to some flood from the roof and the sofa bed was not comfortable at all.
Then on the next morning at breakfast we received some not very nice comments and looks from the waitress when we told her that we were in the same room.
I think that this hotel was quite expensive for what it offered.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This hotel is especially well located in the centre of Lille. We only stayed one night and did not have breakfast and therefore there isn't a great deal I can comment on.

However, it is a good clean, safe environment with friendly and helpful staff.

The room was a good size with a very comfy bed and basics like tea and coffee making facilities, in room safe and toiletries were all catered for.

It may be worth knowing that you can not use your own travel adaptor for charging phones etc. A special adaptor should be bought from the reception for 12 euroes (a bit of a con I thought). The hotel is also completely none smoking.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baozao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#17 of 107 in Lille
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place

Address: 116 rue de l Hopital Militaire, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lille
#6 Green Hotel in Lille
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lille
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lille
Price Range: $91 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place is a 3 star hotel in the heart of Lille, close to the Grand Place and the old city. The hotel offers 104 airconditioned rooms, a restaurant, a bar and four meeting rooms for your conferences and seminars. This hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Lille with your partner or family. Guests also enjoy the benefit of a gym and a secure public car park adjoining the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lille Centre Grand Place Hotel Lille
Accor Lille Centre Grand Place
Lille Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing