We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Small hotel with friendly, attentive and helpful staff. Enjoyed two nights here, comfortable bed and a great bathroom, well designed. Close to railway stations (local & international) and main sights. All queries answered by Aurelien on the front desk - so pleasant and helpful.
Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Probably less noisy at the rear of the hotel on weekend nights but we liked having our window open...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    216
    46
    7
    7
See reviews for
92
213
11
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salamanca, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Small hotel, nice ambient. Very convenient location. Metro line 1 and 2 (only two lines in Lille) are 3 minutes walking, and Lille European station is less than 10 minutes walking (you have 2 train stations in Lille: 1) Flandres station, where you take the conventional train to France, Belgium,...and is the metro; and 2) European station, where you take the GTV (high-speed train to Charles de Gaulle airport, Paris, ...) or the trains to UK.

English spoken. Quiet by night, even if some drunk people are around in the neighborhood. Nice service. Breakfast: not many but good products, you will enjoy. Comfortable room. Other guests are families from The Netherlands, Belgium..or french business men.

Expensive, about 100 euros per night, plus 15 euros breakfast, plus local taxes. You can find something cheaper, but of course less comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Hammerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here in this hotel. The staff are really nice and have service down to perfection. Had a great nights sleep. Very good location and the bed was so comfortable. Would recommend anyone to stay here as the price is just right!! Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muppetdave
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Being a little bit disorganised this year, I left booking a hotel for a long weekend away for my wife's birthday a little later than I usually would. I was very surprised when I found Hotel Up to come in at around half of the price of the other better-rated hotels in the city. Whilst the TA reviews pointed towards a great time to be had, I still thought I'd reserve judgement until I saw it with my own eyes.

We arrived fairly early, trying to get the most out of the weekend. I'd planned on leaving our baggage at the hotel; assuming that a room wouldn't be ready at that time, so was very surprised on arrival when the wonderful Aurélien told us we could have a room there and then. My French isn't great (I'd never starve or get lost though!) and whilst I enjoy trying to improve my language efforts, Aurélien's English was impeccable, and after a quick freshening up, he annotated all sorts of hints and tips of where to go, what to see etc. on to a city map. We had a great afternoon in the city, and after a little time to relax in the hotel, we trundled out for dinner on the Rue de Gand (Aurélien suggested there were around thirty restaurants; all of which were worth of a visit - we went to Brasserie Comptoir 44 - absolutely lovely).

Again on the Sunday, Aurélien was on duty and pointed us where to go on the Metro etc. to get to Wazemmes Market. Whilst I appreciate that any good hotel should focus on good customer service, both Aurélien and Valentine who was also working during our stay seemed to genuinely want to ensure you had a great stay - there was no 'have a nice day' fakeness to it. It seemed as though nothing would be too much trouble and we certainly appreciated their efforts to make our stay a comfortable one.

The Hotel is great. Having looked on Google Streetmap, on arrival you can be forgiven for questioning where you are headed. It is in a little down at heel street, but walk in to the foyer/reception and the atmosphere is very much tranquil and chilled out, and the decoration and finishes designery and funky. Our room was very good, again, some funky light fittings and design features, but all very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom very smart, with a great overhead shower. I have seen some people make comment that the rooms were a little small; whilst I would agree, for two people though it's certainly not small to the point of uncomfortable. A very minor niggle, but I did notice a ceiling panel was sagging somewhat, but as I say, it wasn't a big deal. Another thing I did notice though was that the soundproofing of the rooms seems to be very good - Lille is a busy city and with the window closed, you heard virtually nothing, and equally I don't think I heard one noise from any other room despite the hotel being fully booked and as mentioned the rooms squeezed well together.

One other very minor issue was that they offer quite an extensive cocktail menu within the hotel bar, which my wife was rather looking forward to trying, but unfortunately their barman (apparently a bit of a leading light in the cocktail world) doesn't work there over the weekend, so the cocktail menu is then not available. It was a shame, but again, certainly not the end of the world.

Overall though, we would most definitely recommend the Hotel Up. The quality of the hotel and comfort level are great, but it is the friendliness, helpfulness and local knowledge of the staff that puts just about every hotel I have every stayed in to shame in that respect. Both Aurélien and Valentine are a great credit to the hotel. It is also very well located - if walking from Eurolille (10 minutes walk) to the City Centre, you pass the hotel en-route. Walking to the Grand Place is a five minute effort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muppetdave901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived at this hotel late at night without a reservation and feeling desperate to find a hotel for the night. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Unfortunately there were a few electrical issues with our room; the air conditioning didn't work and on our second night we were unable to switch of the overhead lights! However the quick thinking receptionist solved the problem by letting us sleep in the vacant room next door.
The hotel is located in a rather seedy part of Lille, but is just a few minutes walk from the railway station. The buffet breakfast was surprisingly good and great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 755denisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived on the back of a difficult time with our broken down campervan in the south of France. The guys on reception were so helpful and knowledgable about the city area and history. We had a superior quad room for us all £100 fantastic! Great shower great nights sleep and fab location! Will be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeetrootGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

As you walk into the Hotel Up you are immediately impressed as a clean, sparkling and modern reception area greets you. Behind it stand smiling helpful staff. At first the size of the room is disappointing, but as you settle in it becomes warm and cosy. It is full of immaculate modern chic touches. The breakfast sounds expensive, but you soon realise why they that for charge it, a buffet of the most wonderful croissants (of all types) and selection of hams and cheeses, eggs, and beautiful bread and jams. Lovely strong coffee and luscious hot chocolate. The hotel is in a lovely central location that seems to be near to everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_VeryHungryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#3 of 106 in Lille
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kanai Hotel
Kanai Hotel
#10 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#11 of 106 in Lille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Up Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Up Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
Address: 17 Place des Reignaux, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Up Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Lille and near Lille train station and shops. The hotel, brand new, consists of 27 comfortable rooms and modern decor. The hotel has a cozy bar: "The Tulip Bar" where you can enjoy delicious cocktails, champagnes, soft drinks and snacks. Parking: Consult us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Up Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing