We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel in centre of lille”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Up Hotel
Ranked #6 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent value as family room allows 2 children under 16 which is quite unusual in many European boutique style hotels. Lovely room and bathroom with wow factor. Staff very helpful. Breakfast looked expensive for 4 compared to the price of the room so we went out for cafe and croissants. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. 5 mins walk to main square and shops. Especially loved the occitane amenities and the fancy coffee maker. Shopping tip for anyone with an nespresso machine. The Nespresso store is 5 mins walk and is cheaper/ better selection than at home plus you get a free coffee and biscotti to keep you going til your next stop.under an hour and a half from the tunnel. Great for a short break!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkshireWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Up Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 548 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

A number of hotels cluster near the stations in Lille, but the advantages of Hotel Up are it is modern, very clean, and quite well furnished. The surroundings are not the most attractive, but in part blame the youth of France for their addiction to graffiti and their ability to reach the most inaccessible locations to spray paint at random. There are a lot of late-night fast food outlets in the area, but none of them caused us any inconvenience with noise or untoward behaviour. The hotel is easily reachable within 5 minutes case-rolling distance from Europe Lille and less from Lille Flanders Stations. The breakfast was plentiful and good and the staff were helpful. Lifts serve all floors so access is no problem. The room we had can best be described as compact, and cats were not to be swung therein; but it was perfectly adequate and well-lit, and the en-suite bathroom was very good. Good value for a short stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably better, good roofscape and further away from late night street level activ...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pogee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel Up is a modern design hotel, we had a nice room on the 2'floor with nespresso machine, beautiful bathroom with great shower( very slippery) and friendly staff, we were given all the information we wanted , like the name of a great restaurant: brasserie La Paix..
There was not enough space to unpack and hang our clothes.
We heard noises from the room upstairs, and some from the street below.
We reserved a parking space, and were offered a place in a private parking at about 50 m. from the hotel.
We appreciated this very much. because too many people were just hanging around and sitting on the cars in the public (paid) parking spaces. We liked the hotel, but not the people in the street in front of the hotel (near the stations).

Room Tip: Upper floors: less noise
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We had to find a hotel after checking out of the original one we had booked.We found the hotel using the Booking.Com & TripAdvisor aps on our phones.Glad we did, what a lovely hotel modern clean with very helpful reception.If we visit Lille again we will definitely stay there again.We will alsi recommend it to our friends..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyatwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We found this hotel on our mobile phone ( thank god for the internet) after arriving at our booked hotel which was filthy.
The receptionist was lovely and even booked a restaurant for us just around the corner.
We had room 501 and it was well designed and huge shower with occitane products. Would definetly stay here again. Didnt have breakfast as thought it a bit expensive

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed with our young kids over the easter weekend, and the hotel nicely fit our needs. The immediate neighbourhood is not overly inspiring (as you might expect so close to the train station), but it was very quiet each night, and two minutes walk put you in the heart of old Lille. The hotel staff are EXTREMELY helpful and thoughtful, which for us is what vaults the UP over so many other hotel experiences. The rooms are nicely appointed, and ours was just big enough for the four of us- although to be fair we spent most of our time walking around Lille rather than lounging in the room. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast buffet (lots of cafe options that are cheaper and our kids are not big on breakfast).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdwignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Up for 3 nights over the Easter weekend and we were very impressed, especially given that it was one of the cheapest places we could find to stay.

Location: we were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was just around the corner from the local train station and about 5 minutes walk from the international train station. Given this, we expected the walk into the centre of town would be a little longer but we found ourselves in the middle of the old town in just a couple of minutes. Perfect!

Room/sleep quality: we went on recommendations and asked for a room at the back of the hotel. The room was very quiet, despite the proximity to the station, busy roads and the old city centre. The heating/air conditioning was almost silent which was ideal and we were always comfortable. The fancy coffee maker impressed us, as did the large bathroom furnished with an excellent shower and l'occitane toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and we ended up sleeping for almost 12 hours on all 3 nights. We were next to the lift but never heard it.

Service: we were particularly impressed with the standard of service. On arrival the staff took the time to highlight areas on a local map for points of interest, places to eat etc. They also recommended events for the days we were there and places to visit slightly out of town. The staff had put an extra storage heater in her room to make sure we were warm enough on such a bitter weekend and when we ordered drinks in the bar, the brought it up to our room with complementary snacks at no extra charge. One evening we bought bread and cheese and wine and wanted to eat in our room and the staff happily provided plates, cutlery and even sought a bottle opener from one of their cars. To top it all off, we found a little bag of praline easter eggs in our room on the Friday and Saturday mornings with a personal, hand-written note wishing us a happy Easter weekend from the staff! All around they went it of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable.

Overall: very happy. No real suggestions for improvement, though the breakfast seems expensive, despite the good spread. We'd recommend just crossing the road into the old town and finding coffee and fresh pastries for a fraction of the hotel breakfast price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Lille
Hotel Barriere Lille
#3 of 107 in Lille
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#15 of 107 in Lille
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Lille Centre Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Up Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Up Hotel

Address: 17 Place Des Reignaux, 59800, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range: $99 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Up Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the city center of Lille and near from the train station and shops. The hotel, brand new, consists of 27 comfortable rooms and modern decor. The hotel has a cozy bar: "The Tulip Bar" where you can enjoy delicious cocktails, champagnes, soft drinks and snacks. Parking: Consult us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Plus Up Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing