We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Lille
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The best hotel we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel has been extremely well designed and entering the lobby, one has a feeling of air, light and space. It is ideally located near the Euro Star train terminal, but there is absolutely no noise disturbance.

Once we had checked in, we were taken by the receptionist to our room and had everything about the room explained to us, plus a description of the services the hotel offers, including the free wi-fi. Then the receptionist went back to the lobby and immediately returned with our luggage to the room. This was a great welcome by the hotel staff, and we did feel welcomed.

The room was spacious, beautifully designed and furnished reflecting an architect's flair for detail, from the light fittings, the walk-in wardrobe, the opaque glass doors closing off the bathroom and separate toilet, to the king sized bed and bedding which was divinely comfortable.

We had dinner in the the fine dining restaurant 'Les Hauts de Lille', which is elegant and discreet. Each course was delicious, artistically garnished making the whole eating experience one that we will remember for a long time.

We were disappointed that we had only planned to stay there for one night, so we will definitely return to stay in this luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boots888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David59777, Directeur Hébergement at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Boots888,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    292
    75
    17
    6
See reviews for
99
594
33
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We found this hotel modern, very nice rooms, great bed, WiFi free and worked well.
The staff were very friendly and helpfull I would definately stay again. we ate twice at the buffet quality food at a reasonable price evryone was helpful thatwe dealt with. I would definately sray at this hotel again.

Room Tip: we were in a room on the ninth floor superior room size no noise very happy during our three night s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David59777, Directeur Hébergement at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Howard John L,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I have shared your comments with our team. They were very proud and thank you a lot for taking time to give us your feedback.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Just a one night stay, but what a great and comfortable hotel this is. Rooms are spacious, luxurious and very comfortable. Hotel located near the train station in a business are where not much is going on. Within the hotel compound is a small casino for those who wish to gamble (no personal experience with the casino floor in this place).
The hotel is fully worth it's 5 star rating

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David59777, Directeur Hébergement at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Sparkykat,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Barrière Lille. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Indeed, our localization is very convenient. A stone throw from both stations Lille Flandres and Lille Europe. And 10 minutes walk from city center.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

A newly-constructed hotel, it's located 2 minutes from the Eurostar terminal and 5-10 minutes from Lille Flandres station, near the Old Town. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the heart of the picturesque part of the city.

Everything is very stylish - overtly modern and minimal. Some might find it a little clinical, but it's a 'designer' hotel, and none the worse for it. The hotel is elegantly decorated in a clean modern, minimal style. Views are good over the city. Breakfast is good, but no more.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

The Casino is an interesting experience if you haven't been to one before!

Next time I would prefer a more traditional hotel in the middle of the historic part of the city, but I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjallenupthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David59777, Directeur Hébergement at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear jjallenupthehill,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was looking for a luxurious hotel for a reasonable price for a girly weekend with my daughter. We decided on this hotel due to its reviews and pictures of rooms. We were not disappointed in anyway.
The welcome we got from the reception lady (who was American so spoke perfect English) was very professional and warm. She took us up to our room and went through all the workings and benefits which was very useful as it was quite a technical room. The room was fantastic, so big, with everything you could wish for. Bathrobes, top quality toiletries, water, tea and coffee, slippers etc. The bathroom was fantastic with a very welcoming shower at the end of a hard days site seeing. The beds were sooo cofy and the room very very quiet so a good night sleep. The hotel isnt right in the centre but it only took us 5-10 mins to get there and its so close to all the local transport. If your travelling on the eurostar then its perfect, just steps from the entrance. A few people did mentioned that it wasn't very safe in the evenings. We found that some routes to the centre were better than others so this may be why. We had no problems at all. Breakfast was fantastic with a good variety of all types of food. As my daughter is wheat/diary intolerant they had no problem in serving her soya milk and evening baked her fresh wheat free bread when she arrived in the restaurant. We did eat in once, infact we had room service. It was about what you would expect to pay for a 5* hotel meal. The actual food was excellent. We would love to return to this hotel as we loved it so much but unfortunately Lille itself is the best of city breaks!! If you are visiting Lille make this your first choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David59777, Directeur Hébergement at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear 422,

We very much appreciate your comments concerning your stay at the Hôtel Barrière de Lille. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

As we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, your feedback is very important to us.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We chose this hotel for it's convenience to our driving route across Europe - it is approx. 1 hour from Calais and has a large car-park on-site. The hotel is fairly new, so everything was clean and in very good condition. The room was large (we went for an Executive) with a good sized, well fitted bathroom. This included a large shower with good water pressure. The "down-side" is that you could be in any corporate hotel anywhere in the world. This wasn't an issue for our purposes, but it wouldn't be a great place for a romantic weekend (in my opinion).
The old town is an easy walk, so we ate dinner away from the hotel. After dinner, we returned to the hotel bar - again, very contemporary and funky, though we were the only people there (on a Saturday night?). We also visited the casino which was very busy with (young) locals - they were queuing to get in; as a hotel guest you can bypass the queue. The casino was nothing special; I wouldn't rush back,

Breakfast was expensive at Euro 19 per head, though it offered a good range of buffet-style food.

Staff were very helpful and friendly. They provided stamps and posted some mail for us as well as offering advise on places to visit and offering to bring the car up from the car park for us in the morning.

In summary, a good place for rest for the night if passing through Lille. It is also very close to the train station, so convenient for travelers using Eurostar. The rooms are triple glazed; you can not hear trains or any other outside noise.

I booked on-line direct with the hotel - this seemed to be the best rate available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryMWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David59777, Directeur Hébergement at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear TerryMWarwickshire ,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Very convenient hotel as across the road from the Eurostar. Taxi rides in the evenings to the Old Town and Lille Square but not too expensive and if you don't mind walking it is not far. Was shocked at the size of the Casino and the Theatre and even more shocking how many people (locals) que up at 10am to get in the Casino. Lille and the people are wonderful can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David59777, Directeur Hébergement at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Jo B,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is true our localization is very convenient. A stone throw from both railway stations Lille Flandres and Lille Europe. Reaching us from the Eurostars has never been so easy.
Not very far from the city center also. Ten minutes walk remains easy.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel
0.6 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Clarance Hotel
Clarance Hotel
#2 of 106 in Lille
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
1.0 mi away
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
BEST WESTERN Up Hotel
#9 of 106 in Lille
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Lille

Property: Hotel Barriere Lille
Address: 777 bis Pont de Flandre, 59777, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Lille 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barriere Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing