We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Barriere Lille
Nearby Hotels
Inter-Hotel Ascotel(Villeneuve d'Ascq)
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$144
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$133
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Olivarius Apart'Hotel(Villeneuve d'Ascq)
$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$87
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$100
$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$111
$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$95
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,257)
Filter reviews
1,257 results
Traveler rating
789
352
86
21
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
352
86
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel barrieremodern hotelold townelectric blindshuge bathgourmet restaurantfloor to ceilingeurostar stationroom serviceminute walkfive star hotelspa facilitiessuperior roomlast minute tripexcellent hotelcity centrebusiness hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 1,257 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very nice and modern rooms, with all accessories and extra needed.
The room is comfortable and quiet.
Excellent services at the reception.
The hotel is nicely decorated.
This was already our second stay at this hotel and I definitely recommend it.
Only the restaurant La Terrasse from the Casino is a bit disappointing.
The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. Just a few minutes away from the city center.

Room Tip: Not all luxury bedrooms have a bathtub, think about asking for one when you place your reservation.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaHTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Hotel Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear maHTheHague

It's a pleasure to read your great comments !

In first all, thank you so much for your loyalty

We are delighted that your stay have been successful, and thank you for your recommendation

Hope to see you soon

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of days and we choose it because the good reviews we found in trip advisor.

So the positives: Very nice and modern, rooms are tastefully design and comfortable. reception, check in and check out efficient and if you like a casino it is a good add to your stay. The hotel is quite convenient located to the city centre (about 15 minutes walk) and for what we paid, it was good value for money

So the reason I am not giving it and excellent rating is because we had dinner in the ground floor restaurant and the food quality was abismal for what you expect in a this nhotel category, we were in France for God-sake! So if you want anything different than a mediocre and quick buffet, go elsewhere in town for a decent meal!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Front Manager Hotel at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear rickyspa1

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed the comfort, the decoration of your room, as well as the efficiency of our reception team.

However, you didn’t like the catering of our restaurant " La Terrasse du Parc", and we are really sorry. And we are taking the measures to improve our food quality and the service one

Your comments are extremely important and will help to progress.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you again among us

Very sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were booked in for 2 nights at this hotel, together with our 1 year old son. After being unable to sleep during the first night, we checked out and returned to the UK. Very disappointed.

Check-in was efficient, although I did get passed from one receptionist to the next because they were unable to speak English. This isn't a complaint - the hotel is in France after all - but I was quite surprised that the basics weren't possible for a 5* hotel.

Once checked in and shown to our room we immediately noticed that the room felt very stuffy, lacking any movement of air and uncomfortably warm. The room had a wall mounted thermostat which I tried altering in order to reduce the temperature and bring some air into the room. After a while there was no noticeable change and no substantial movement of air in the room so I asked the hotel manager to have a look into the problem whilst we were out. On returning to the hotel there was no improvement. I asked the manager again and he sent up housekeeping. The lady who attended the room said that the unit only heated and it would be best switched off completely which is what we did. Within half an hour of her leaving we started to notice beads of sweat forming on our foreheads. I then decided to switch the fan back on to see if I could sort out the problem myself. I had the idea of propping the door open to see if that helped but then noticed that the corridors were even hotter.

The problem then escalated quickly as our son was clearly becoming uncomfortable in the heat. At this point we contacted the hotel manager and asked for an immediate solution. The manager offered us a new room. It was a slightly bigger room and therefore had an initial feel of being cooler. We put our son to bed and went for our evening meal.

The fine dining restaurant was ok. Clearly trying to do the whole Michelin thing but under-performing on flavour sadly. It wasn't a terrible meal though and we quite enjoyed ourselves.

On returning to our room the temperature was not good. At a rough guess I would say around 22c, which is ridiculous when the outside temperature was approx. 8c. There's no good reason for the hotel not being to provide a comfortable temperature for guests. Despite the temperature we both managed to get to sleep at 11pm probably helped by a good meal. I awoke at 12am, with a dry mouth and feeling slightly unwell because of the high temperature of the room. At 1am my wife persuaded me to put on a robe and go to reception to complain. The receptionist told me that there was nothing he could do until the manager arrived at 9am.

The night was terrible. Very uncomfortable in the heat, no air and no window to open. At 1am I had taken a bottle of chilled water out of the fridge. By 4am, placed on the bedside table, it was lukewarm and undrinkable.

When our son woke his nappy was completely bone dry and his hair was damp, sticking to his head. He had obviously lost fluids through heavy sweating.

We decided our only option was to leave the hotel. We couldn't possibly put ourselves through another night. Also the inconvenience of having to change hotel would just be too much so we decided to return to the UK.

At 9.30 the hotel manager arrived. Despite the fact that we had been very clear in our dissatisfaction from the very start, she refused to refund our room charge claiming that this was impossible as we had booked through a third party booking agent online. She claimed that the agent held the money and not the hotel. Unfortunately for her I had printed a detailed bank statement showing the exact details of the transaction that had been credited to the hotel one month previously, not the online agent. After a great deal of heated discussion they eventually accepted that a refund could be given for the stay.

Aside from the major problem itself of two rooms being far too hot to sleep in, this final lack of customer service speaks volumes about the hotel. I have visited some exceptional hotels in the UK and USA. In these circumstances, the best high quality hotels would have been apologetic and quick to resolve the matter, through refund if necessary. The Hotel Barriere Lille is not really a high quality hotel, they are just pretending to be something they're not. This is true of the restaurant too. Not surprisingly the French guests that I saw there seemed happy with the place but it's easy to understand why given the general standard of French hotels/service industry.

I will certainly not be staying here again and would warn you not to if you like sleeping in a cool room with fresh air.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bhwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Director of operations at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Bhwh,

We acquainted of your comment on Tripadvisor.

We will send you a reply to your complaint by private message.

Your sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A clean,friendly,warm,welcoming and beautifully furnished hotel which I would recommend for couples and families who want a little bit of luxury for a reasonable cost.
The insulation in the rooms is first class and there is no traffic noise or any awareness that there are any other people staying on your floor. Quiet and peaceful with beautifully furnished rooms with all the extra touches to make your stay as perfect as possible.
Good restaurants and bars with the added bonus of a casino for a little flutter after dinner.
Lille centre only a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MADABOUTANIMALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Director of Operations at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Madaboutanim,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with the hotel, your room and our service

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for your next stay in Lille.

We wish you an Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very nice modern hotel! Spacious rooms and bathrooms.Great design of all interiors.Nice cafes inside and great restaurant.The hotel is close to 2 stations and not far from the center of Lille- just a 5-7 min walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Svetlana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Directrice d'Exploitation at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Svetlana D,

Happy New Year 2013 and best wishes.

We would like to thank you for writing a positive review about your last stay at the Hotel Barrière Lille.

We are delighted that your experience was pleasant and that we were able to meet your expectations. Our first priority is to make our guests feel comfortable, so we are truly glad that you appreciated your room, our restaurant and the overall quality of service.

We hope having the pleasure to welcome you again very soon,

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews