We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but very high quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Lille
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive but very high quality hotel”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Staying for 1 night on business it was a very handy hotel. Right by the stations and not a terribly long stroll to the Grand Place.
Spotlessly clean, spacious room, nice bright and large bathroom and a good decor.
174e a night is still a bit steep but a wide range of music/tv and fast wifi.
Breakfast is your usual buffet, was ok.
Staff attentive but not overly friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewM4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Front Hotel Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear AndrewM4UK,

Thank you for your nice comments on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We ensure that our prices remain coherent compared to other hotels and the Lille market

We hope to see you soon and we wish you a merry Christmas !

sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    315
    80
    19
    6
See reviews for
108
639
34
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This Hotel is certinly the nicest i've stayed in in Europe very modern and clean, the bed was so comfortable and the Bathroom amazing, all the little added extras such as the compleimentry shampoos Tbags etc were all of very good quality.
All the staff were attentive and friendly and we did have uite a long wait on both check ina nd out as their were only 2 members of staff but as everything else was so lovley it didn't bother us at all.

We didn't have anything to eat at the Hotel we decided to eat in Town and found a lovley little bistro, but we had some drinks in the casino bar and they were a fair standard price

I don't know why some people are complaining about the location it is litrally across the road from Euro star and Euro lille and then 5-10 minutes in to the main centre.
But just a tip, when we arrived we did end up walking rather a long way round, if you arrive by Eurostar you need to leave via the back exit up the stairs and the Hotel is opposite

Lille itself was lovley lots of shops and lights and very reasonable worth taking a big bag and stocking up in Carrafour

Can't recconmend both Lille or the Hotel highly enogh and can't wait to go back

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicster2dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Front Hotel Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Vicster2dogs,

It’s a great pleasure to read your comments, on the comfort of the hotel and our casino, and the sympathy teams.

Thank you to tell our user easy access to get to the city center and near the train station “Lille Europe”

We hope to see you soon among us.

We wish you a very merry Christmas !

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a brilliant 3 night stay at this modern hotel just outside the city centre of Lille. There are a lot of things that the hotel does excellently but without doubt its biggest plus is the comfort and the design of the bedroom. Each room on our floor (7th floor) was occupied during our 3 night stay but the sound-proofing of the rooms is so good that we felt like we were alone in the hotel. I am an extremely light sleeper but during our stay I only heard one of neighbours through the celing and that was when they dropped something on the floor. The beds themselves are the most comfortable in which I had ever slept; we both had the best 3 nights' sleep we have had in years because of the bed and the sound-proofing.
The location oof the hotel may seem off-putting to some people but we found it to be a bonus as the hotel is around 7mins from the city centre but about 2 mins away from the Lille Europe train station (fantastic if you're arriving via Eurostar) and about 1 minute away from the Euralille shopping centre. We also stayed in mid-December at the time when everyone seemed to be having their work's Christmas party so it was good to be away from the noise of the town centre,
Another thing at which the hotel excelled was the breakfast; the choice and quality of the food/drink was absolutely incredible and because they served breakfast up to 10:30am we didn't have to get up especially early.
The only negative that we experienced was upon our arrival at the hotel; we arrived at around 5pm on a Friday and there was nobody in the lobby at all but despite this the lady on the front desk insisted on answering the telephone. The lady answered 3 phone calls before allowing us to check-in; personally as this was our first impression on entering the hotel I would have thought that we should have been given priority over telephone enquiries. Luckily this bad first impression was erased when we got to our room. I would like to point out that all the other staff in the hotel were superb and were extremely friendly, attentive and were always more than willing to help with our questions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christophe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Christopher13,

How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Barrière Lille! Thank you very much for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you as well for your comments on the location of the hotel, on the service of our staff and particularly on the comfort of your room. I will certainly not miss to share your impressions with my team : this will be a great source of motivation!

We are looking forward to your next visit an we wish you a happy Christmas !

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a great hotel, modern and luxurious without being too minimalist. The only disadvantage is that it is a 15minute walk from the centre of town and the air conditioning unit was not adjustable. The main restaurant is lovely, the food excellent, we recommend the tasting menu.

Room Tip: Corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiddlesTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Tiddles Trips,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Hotel Barriere lille and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

We would like to thank you for these wonderful comments and congratulations for our services and specially for your recommendation on our restaurant “Les Hauts de Lille”

We look forward to welcome you again very soon; it will be a real pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you.

Very sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Beautiful rooms, great staff, lovely food. Perfect breakfast range. I can only fault them on one thing and that is check in should be available before 15:00pm, this should be made earlier.
I had room service on both nights and this was adorable. The bread that comes served with it is to die for and the service is rapid. Could not be happier with my comfortable stay. Top marks on room decoration: neutral colours really are the way forward.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALmay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie59777, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barriere Lille, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Almay_12,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Hotel Barriere Lille.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us! We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again,

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed one night in LIlle to do take in the market and Xmas lights. It's very close to the Eurolille station (we came in on the Eurostar from London) and about 10 easy walk into the old city. Everyone at the reception desk was most helpful and friendly. The room was large and well appointed with everything you would except for this level of hotel. Beds very comfortable. Great shower and good quality towels. We couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is lovely, the staff were polite & I would recommend it highly if it weren't for the long wait we had for our room. We arrived late on Saturday afternoon & after waiting to speak to the desk staff were offered tea/coffee as the room wasn't ready. It still wasn't ready an hour later & we would have preferred to know that upfront as our time in Lille was limited. Our view from the 3rd floor was into an apartment block, but the room itself was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flypernod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Why Hotel
0.6 mi away
L'Hermitage Gantois, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Lille Europe hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Arbre Voyageur, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#14 of 107 in Lille
675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#12 of 107 in Lille
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Lille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Lille

Property: Hotel Barriere Lille
Address: 777 bis Pont de Flandre, 59777, Lille, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Lille 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A ten-minute walk from the city centre and close to the TGV train stations, Hôtel Barrière Lille, in imposing glass, is situated in the business district of the Nord-Pas-de-Calais region's capital, a central point between Paris, London and Brussels. With chic materials and modern textures, Pierre-Yves Rochon's décor is enhanced by the glass walls of the new Hôtel Barrière Lille. Quilted leather, lacquered furnishings and luxury fabrics create an ideal setting for a peaceful night's sleep. Hôtel Barrière Lille has 300 Slot Machines, 20 Games Tables offering traditional and electronic games, a renowned Theatre, a Wellness Centre, a gourmet restaurant, a contemporary brasserie and several themed bars. The Tourisme & Handicap label meets the needs of people with disabilities so that they can benefit from an efficient and adapted service. With this label, the Resort Barrière de Lille is committed to making every effort to promote the accessibility and the reception of the specific clienteles and distinguishes itself thus by its role of ambassador of the reception of the handicapped public ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Barriere Lille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing