We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residhotel Lille Vauban

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Residhotel Lille Vauban
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Lille
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here on one of the coldest weekends in January - snow on the ground and still falling. The hotel room, however, was warm and cosy and spacious enough to easily accommodate an extra bed (we were two adults and one child). It was very helpful, particulary given the conditions, to have a fridge and kitchenette to use.

Close to the hotel is Gambetta metro and the Wazemmes area. Visit the fabulous Sunday market if you are there at the weekend. This area was very lively and multicultural with a 'local' feel - a good contrast to the culture of old Lille (which was fabulous in a different way).

We would definitely use Cosy's again - our last minute booking represented real value for money, which was great as Lille is a surprisingly expensive city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlostatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    88
    46
    26
    13
See reviews for
45
60
9
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Cosy in Lille. Rooms meet my expectations. Was surprised how tiny the elevator was. but still big enough for two people. Major compliant was taxi. We wanted to go to the old section for supper. When the taxi showed up the meter already said ten euros. Upon arrival at our destination the bill was 16 or 17 euros. Had a great meal, the french know how to cook.
I complained to the front desk about my taxi bill. He said they start the meter when he leaves the stand. In Canada, the meters starts when the taxi picks you up.
Generally, France is really expensive. But we are planning to back again next year.
Received three or four speeding tickets in the mail. They use cameras, last week 45euros for a 69 in a 60 zone. That was in Lille.

Room Tip: Get a hotel closer to the old section and don't take taxis.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cosys, Responsable d'exploitation at Residhotel Lille Vauban, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Mister Paul R.,

Thank your very much for your message. That's very kind of you to take time to give your opinion about Lille.

We apologise for Taxi bill. Anyway we'd like to inform you that we can only reserved Taxi but we are not supposed to deal with them.

We'll be pleased to welcome you next year. We suggest you to take the bus (ligne 12) just 1.40€ from the station to Cosy's.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lille hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here at a friend's suggestion for 2 nights on a short break. Hotel staff were very polite and helpful. Location was a 15 min stroll from center of town. Because of where the stations are located it much easier to walk to center of town or take a bus which stops just outside hotel. Didn't like the hotel itself very much though and wouldn't stay here again. It' s not a 3 star hotel. Room was very small and cramped, very little space between the 2 single beds so it's just as well I was sharing with a very good friend or it could have been awkward. Bathroom in desperate need of modification, old grubby looking, falling apart in some places. That said rooms were clean and there's a small fridge and kitchenette in room which could come in handy if you there for a longer stay...but personally I'm glad it was only the 2 nights I spent there. Didn't use breakfast area as that looked small and cramped too with very little choice. If you're on a tight budget and spending most of your time away from hotel then this one will suffice.

Room Tip: Maybe go for one of the larger rooms because standard room is too cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godsgloriousworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I spend in this hotel several week per year (I often travel to Lille for work).
The place is well connected and walking distance from downtown (around 15/20 min). The structure is well designed and nice.

However in the last few years the mantainance is poorly done and the place start to fall a part. Some rooms have the shower-door that doesn't close, others miss some pieces (e.g. hairdrier, dishes, etc.) or are poorly mantained (picures and frames are falling from the walls, furniture missing piecese, etc.). Moreover there is a kind of lack of interest to solve any issue from the employees: whatever is the problem you point to their attention them, the usual answer is that they cannot do anything and it is not dependent from them. Kind of frustrating.

Moreover some week they change your towel once every 2 days, other weeks once every 3, sometimes never... Simply it seems the hotel is not effectively managed. Some employees are very nice, some others' barely say hello when you get in and out. Sometimes actually you get in and out to the hotel without noone at the receiption, and this rises some security issues.

It's a pity because I think it has a lot of potentialities, still the structure and the services are getting worst every-year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creative_Maelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Clean and modern rooms, reasonably friendly service and a good location close to Lille centre and many clubs and pubs. Room included TV, fridge, coffee maker and a dishwasher. Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCamilleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Issambres, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Located just in front of the Catho university in Lille, this appartment hotel offers very well equipped, clean, confortable studios with free wifi and parking (additional cost) for a very reasonable price. The town center, train stations, old-town are 10 minutes away if you take the bus in front of the hotel. The staff is charming and breakfast is available in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the ground floor with view of the parking as they can be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vangoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

After much research I chose Cosy's because of its location during my one week stay helping my son settle into his international year of study at IESEG School of Management.

Based on the reviews I knew I was not expecting a 5 star hotel and it was the location that was the main reason for picking this accommodation.

Have to agree with the others, you can see that the work done to renovate into a nice boutique location has faded with time. I was surprised that the maintenance and cleanliness had been allowed to lapse when it wouldn't take much to maintain a very nice standard - a bit of extra care in cleaning and a few touch ups and you would think the room was new. Only two english tv channels, both news, became a bit monotonous but thank you for the unlimited internet to entertain.

As with many accommodations, it is the small things that annoyed. Broken mirror in the bathroom, marks on the walls, suspect cleanliness of the kitchen, dirty shower head etc.

Some things I cannot blame entirely on Cosy's such as some noisy neighbors and since there was a bit of a heat wave it was a battle between keeping the windows open for air and fighting off the mosquitos. Some insect screens or at least complementary mozzie zappers would have been nice.

However my stay was very pleasant enough with staff who where helpful as they could be depending on their level of english and all though a fairly basic breakfast, it filled the spot each day.

The location was the main thing for me and it was just right. Close to everything I wanted - small Carrefour express, the markets, the university and a vLille bike station right outside plus good off street parking made my stay easy and just right. I would stay here again, but I will bring my own insect control.

If the management reads this - please spend a few euro on touching up the worn out areas and revisiting the standards from the renovation and look at some small things to make your guests love you and you have a winner!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
0.1 mi away
Adagio Access Lille Vauban
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Why Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lille Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Couvent des Minimes - Alliance Lille
1.2 mi away
Citadines City Centre Lille
5.0 mi away
Olivarius Apart'Hotel
Olivarius Apart'Hotel
#3 of 13 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residhotel Lille Vauban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residhotel Lille Vauban

Property: Residhotel Lille Vauban
Address: 69 boulevard Vauban, 59800, Lille, France (Formerly Cosy's Lille Vauban)
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residhotel Lille Vauban 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the residential area Vauban, close to higher-education institutes, Residhotel Lille Vauban benefits from a unique setting, as it ensures you a peaceful stay in a city environment. You can have a walk in the 45 hectares of the nearby Bois de Boulogne or through the picturesque alleys of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residhotel Lille Vauban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosy`s Lille Vauban Hotel Lille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing