We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and beautiful European B & B”
Review of Le Jardin d' Alix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Jardin d' Alix
Ranked #7 of 42 Lille B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our family of four enjoyed very much our stay with Alexandra at her beautiful bed and breakfast home. The flowers and grounds are just beautiful! While this is a private home, you have your own private bathroom which is a plus while traveling in Europe. Our bedrooms and baths were extremely clean and comfortable. The morning breakfast consisted of juice, tea, coffee and homemade breads with jams. Alexandra was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations. The tram is very close and the best way to travel into the city of Lille. We enjoyed and highly recommend Le Jardin d' Alix if you will be in the Lille area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Le Jardin d' Alix
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 217 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

A great location to explore Lille. Alexandra was very willing to advise as required, dont hesitate to ask her. Great secure parking too.
The room was very comfortable and the breakfast delicious - all home made. And if you want time to relax away from the city this location and the gorgeous garden with sitting out areas provides it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

My mother and I stayed in Lille overnight while passing through the area on our way to Paris. The house is clean, and our bedroom was comfortable. Our room had a seperate tv area which was convenient as my mother wanted to sleep earlier than I did. While the accomodations did the trick, the atmosphere was less than inviting. We weren't offered use of the yard or main living areas, and Madame Alexandra was not at all helpful. She was unable to recommend a restaurant, and could not provide us with information on where to find an ABM (although she insists you pay cash). The breakfast was underwhelming as well - one piece of bread each, and one cup of coffee. I would recommend looking elsewhere for accomodations in this city.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelBug4816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed three nights in this charming and delightful overnight accommodation ,where the bedroom was both comfortable and quiet. We had wonderful views of the garden..

Our hostess, Mdm Alexandra Hudson was friendly and very informative regarding places of interest in Lille and area. We especially enjoyed our visit to The Piscine Museum and Art Gallery in Roubaix.

We enjoyed the good fare at breakfast which included fruit and homemade brioche and conserves.

The tramway running between Lille and Tourcoing was both frequent and speedy offering the traveller the opportunity to appreciate the diverse and fascinating styles of architecture.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenDargue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We were totally delighted with the room, house and garden setting. Sadly the tea and coffee tray was very minimal and with no milk or creamer and there was 2 biscuits left on the side for us in the room, unwrapped and soft! The bathroom had no shampoo or shower gel which is quite unusual on our many stays in B&B in France.

The 'gourmet' breakfast, which was one of the reasons we were happy to pay 65 euros was totally disappointing and consisted only of home made bread and preserves, mini cold chocolate croissants with a small glass of orange juice and coffee. The hostess was a very nice lady but did not communicate too well with guests and on leaving we were not given a receipt for our money which is something normally automatically done.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moonraker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

This is a special place chosen because of it's location in a beautiful and peaceful setting out of the centre, but easily accessible to lovely Lille. I felt very privileged to be accomodated inside this French family home. Couldn't have been more comfortable. Amazing value with a hostess who speaks fluent English.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciccola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

At just 50 euros a night it was a bargain
found the place easily with Alix's instructions from the eurostar
it takes about 30 minutes from the centre and we did spend a lot of time during our weekend on the tram
there is nowhere in walking distance to get a meal or a drink which is adownside
The house & garden is lovely Rooms are niely decorated and have great bath rooms and a powerful shower
Alix is typically french but very helpful

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lille
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Garden Lille Tourcoing
6.4 mi away
Le Chateau des Ormes
Le Chateau des Ormes
#1 of 1 in Lambersart
107 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Verdiere - Chambre d'hotes et spa
La Verdiere - Chambre d'hotes et...
#1 of 1 in Sainghin-en-Melantois
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Maison du Sart Chambres d Hotes
Maison du Sart Chambres d Hotes
#2 of 4 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
45 reviews
7.5 mi away
B&B Lille aux Oiseaux
B&B Lille aux Oiseaux
#1 of 42 in Lille
95 reviews
3.7 mi away
A la Maison du Heron
A la Maison du Heron
#1 of 4 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin d' Alix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin d' Alix

Address: 45 B rue de la Marne | Tourcoing, 59000, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lille
Price Range: $72 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the exclusive garden district of Lille, this house of luxury stands in the midst of a huge garden filled with mature trees and rose bushes. The historic center of Lille is very close thanks to the nearby tram. There are off the street parking facilities and a Wifi. Gourmet breakfasts with homemade jams and pastries are served in antique china ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Le Jardin d' Alix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing