We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming house and garden, great location for Lille”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Jardin d' Alix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Jardin d' Alix
Ranked #6 of 39 Lille B&B and Inns
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming house and garden, great location for Lille”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a great location if you are visiting Lille. It is about 25 minutes away on the tram and the tramstop is situated 5 minutes walk away from the B&B. Although located just back from a busy main road, it is very quiet here and there is a real feeling of peace and quiet. The house is charming, if a little tired, and the garden is beautiful with terraces for guests to sit on. We were greeted very warmly by Alex who proved to be an extremely helpful and delightful hostess. We were very surprised to read other reviews that disagreed with our experience, however if you are staying here it is very much 'en famille'. Our room was clean and comfortable, if a little minimalist, with a view onto the garden and the bathroom was modern and well equipped. We slept well the first night but were disturbed the second night by a young family staying the room next door. The walls are very thin! Breakfast was very simple - orange juice, coffee and a selection of sweet breads. This is served in the family kitchen. Overall a very pleasant and welcoming stay in a great location for access to Lille.

Room Tip: All rooms look onto the garden. Be aware that you will hear noise from adjoining rooms and you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    59
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
110
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This B&B is a lovely house in a large garden, yet with quick and easy access to central Lille using the tram. This was great for me as the driver because it meant we could go out without worrying about parking, traffic etc. Alix is very helpful with recommendations on places to go - her suggestion to see the museum in Roubaix was excellent. We were in the Matisse suite which was clean and comfortable, though we did find the bed a bit too low for us. Breakfasts were lovely home made bread and jams. Our GPS did not get us here without problems however - I should have paid closer attention to Alix's instructions. I thought the gate in the photo on the website was pretty distinctive, but everybody in Lille has gates like that!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I recently had the chance to stay at Jardin d'Alix for the second time! What a lovely place. Flowers blooming everywhere in the garden, birds singing, very peaceful. The house is large and well appointed. Love the artworks, most painted by the owner, Alexandra. She even showed me how she makes her Rhubarbe confiture, it's delicious. The homemade breads are tasty too but I didn't have time to see her make them, though she did invite me to. Maybe next time when I visit friends again in Lille. The room was fresh and clean, as usual. Any request I had was (extra pillow, more towels) fulfilled quickly and pleasantly. Alex and Patrick make me feel like family! I won't stay anywhere else when visiting Lille!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Last week we made reservations for a small weekend in France at the end of May in Le Jardin d'Alix. I had received an offer and the room was confirmed the same evening. A few days later we get a mail asking us if we want to maintain our booking. Strange, because it was already confirmed. So we confirmed again, but unfortunately the room we reserved was already rent to somebody else. They even asked for our understanding because a lot of travellers change their mind. But we are not like this. Only option was a studio for a week, but we do not want to stay for a week. So now our little trip to France seems to been cancelled. But furthermore I have never been treated this way. You do not take double bookings. It is not the way to handle clients. A pitty, because we so looked forward to our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JessieGu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for two days with friends so used both available rooms.
Very welcoming and helpful.
Rooms were spacious and as described.
We loved the garden and wished the weather had been better so we could enjoy it more.
Off street parking is a real plus.
We reommend the tram to go into Lille and in to Tourcoing.
Tourcoing has plenty of character and places to eat.
Do follow the insructions to find this place, as Alexandra says the sat will take you to the wrong place.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnange35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Matisse Suite, with two rooms separated by the bathroom, meant that both us and our baby had peace in the evenings (we brought our own travel cot). The rooms themselves were interesting and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast had very nice homemade breads but might have benefitted a little variety. Alexandra is a friendly and informative host.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0bgimmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a lovely stay in Alix's beautiful house. The suite was clean, confortable and decorated with oil paintings. We found it really convenient having a second room for our young child to play in. There is also a microwave available for guests go use - again, very useful if you are travelling with a young child. Breakfast was delicious (home-made brioches and jam) but don't expect a fry up, English B&B-style. The house is not in Lille but as others have said the tram ride is around 30 minutes.
Communication with Alix was easy and she responded quickly to our emails.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BG0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lille hotels
6.7 mi away
La Maison du Champlain
7.5 mi away
B&B Lille aux Oiseaux
B&B Lille aux Oiseaux
#1 of 39 in Lille
86 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Verdiere - Chambre d'hotes et spa
La Verdiere - Chambre d'hotes et...
#1 of 1 in Sainghin-en-Melantois
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
A la Maison du Heron
A la Maison du Heron
#1 of 4 in Villeneuve d'Ascq
98 reviews
6.2 mi away
L'Esplanade Lille
L'Esplanade Lille
#3 of 39 in Lille
125 reviews
6.8 mi away
L'Art de Vivre Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin d' Alix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin d' Alix

Property: Le Jardin d' Alix
Address: 45 B rue de la Marne | Tourcoing, 59000, Lille, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Lille
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the exclusive garden district of Lille, this house of luxury stands in the midst of a huge garden filled with mature trees and rose bushes. The historic center of Lille is very close thanks to the nearby tram. There are off the street parking facilities and a Wifi. Gourmet breakfasts with homemade jams and pastries are served in antique china ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Le Jardin d' Alix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing