We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel in Dunkerque”
Review of Hotel Borel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Borel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Dunkirk
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An average hotel in Dunkerque”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here in a recent visit to France - the staff were friendly and the rooms clean enough. Relatively comfortable, we stumbled across the hotel as we approached Dunkerque. The young lady on reception was knowledgable about the area and gave us some advice on where to eat and where we could go for a walk and a drink to people watch.
Would consider staying here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    50
    39
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
42
4
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The rooms are generously sized, the service is very friendly with every effort to speak English, breakfast is good, bathrooms modern and big. Note this: you will not find better coffee with a hotel breakfast than here. A lavazza capsule operated machine with hot milk at the side makes a delicious cup. I have all but given up on finding a decent cup of tea on the continent and even travelling with my own mini kettle and English tea bags, I do not succeed as the milk is never available. At Borel there is a cup of coffee that makes up for this. Strange power saving switches in corridors, but one gets used to just switching them on when required.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifibelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Not a lot going on. Clean room, no english channels cept bbc news. Boring buffet breakfast.
Bed OK, not A/C so will get very hot in summer. Staff polite, plenty of free parking when I was there. Loads of restaurants in vicinity

Room Tip: Go somewhere else...............Lol a bit unfair, it is what it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bewise56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Hotel Borel has big rooms, wonderful shower en-suite, could maybe do with quilts instead of Blankets, however warm enough and very comfortable. Spent weekend there 28 to 30 April. Great location, maps provided, room really big. Breakfast is buffet but there are plenty of choices. Warning: Everything shuts down on Sunday. Had a great stay.

Room Tip: Second floor facing harbour, very quiet. Sun shines in, in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LinEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohar, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

i like the hotel it was above my expectation, clean, new toilets, nice reception.

Room Tip: i choose double bed room its big, room front of jety clean toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Offers three-bed rooms at €88 per night plus a cot for a fee of €10. For a family of four this seemed a better and ultimately cheaper option than booking two separate rooms in a Ibis/Etap in Calais/La Coquelles. Still, €123 for a night's stay (including an admittedly very decent breakfast) is not exactly a bargain.
We arrived around 9.30pm on a Saturday night and found it very hard to locate a restaurant in the vicinity, eventually settled for a Pizza Hut takeaway (times were that hard).
Some of the decor is a bit dated (strange wood panel interior in the corridors) but our room was well equipped and spacious.
Parking was a bit of an issue when we were there as there was a cycle race in the city and we could not use the spaces in front of the hotel. Normally this shouldn't be an issue, though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likeithotandspicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed here for one night on the way down to Italy and again on the way back home to GB. Very pleasant staff and room. The first one was a little dark but everything was clean and the bathroom was very swish. Breakfast was excellent, continental breakfast all freshly prepared and plentiful. Lounge room downstairs very pleasant to sit and read in. Tip: If you turn left out of the hotel and then right and follow the dock past the maritime museum and walk along the side of the dock behind the new university building there is a really good bar/restaurant.(Les 3 Brasseurs) It is one of the few open on a Sunday! It is next to a cinema and GOSport shop with a Mcdonalds and other fast food eateries as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barabrithWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunkirk hotels
0.2 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Dunkerque
0.2 mi away
Ibis Dunkerque Centre
Ibis Dunkerque Centre
#4 of 13 in Dunkirk
581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Gens de Mer
Les Gens de Mer
#9 of 13 in Dunkirk
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Cuis'in
Hotel La Cuis'in
#2 of 13 in Dunkirk
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Dunkerque Centre Gare
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hirondelle
Hotel Hirondelle
#6 of 13 in Dunkirk
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borel

Property: Hotel Borel
Address: 6 Rue l'Hermitte, 59140, Dunkirk, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Dunkirk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Dunkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Borel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing