We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“frequent crosser dave from bolton”

Norfolkline Dunkerque
Ranked #8 of 26 things to do in Dunkirk
Attraction details
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“frequent crosser dave from bolton”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Having sailed on most ferries and routes to the continent and crossing 8-10 times a year i took advantage of multi trip offer and find Norfolk Line to be almost perfect. Good regular sailings usually on time but several times sat outside dover waiting to enter harbour. The staff always friendly and helpful, the selfservice restaurant reasonably priced meals with an exellent full english breakfast. Only complaint is non diners hogging the comfortable seats whilst you are being served at the counter not so much the fault N/L more some selfish passengers. looking forward to the new offer in place of multitrip offer. Well done Norfolk Line

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank McD1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    53
    21
    25
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had forgotten how slow the checkin is with dfds and once again today despite arriving 45 minutes prior I got stopped by customs then spent 30m queuing to check in. There really is no excuse these days for this to taker so long given that they have our details in advance. Much much slower than the others, maybe that's why they do cheap offers to fill up.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank londonerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Offers great value”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Planning for a continental trip invariably begs the question "how to cross the Channel" - and DFDS (formerly Norfolk Line) answers this well.

Crossings every 2 hours on nice, clean, new ships, crewed by friendly and attentive staff. The loadings at Dover and Dunkirk are both hassle-free (but I do agree with other reviews that Dunkirk port isn't that well appointed)

On-board catering is very good and fairly priced. The shop offers the usual variety of things one cannot live without.

For the best prices for fares, do check out the "special offers" section of the website. For day- and short stay trips you will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Martijnbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pay a little extra!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

On a recent trip I was given a First Class ticket and though it is £12.50 extra per person I would recommend it as it makes the crossing so much more comfortable. Free coffee, tea and orange juice is provided, along with biscuits, as much as you desire and a selection of newspapers are there to read.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trenchesfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“DFDS Dover/Dunkirk ferry”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have travelled this route a few times now, and while impressed wuth the ships' cleanliness, we have never been impressed with DFDS punctuality. Why, when they ask passengers to race along motorways in order to arrive for check-in 45 minutes prior to departure, can they not organise their own departure to be on time? We have not yet sailed on time, and on our most recent trip this week, they announced that loading would start at 11.25a.m. - they only started unloading the boat at 11.30a.m.! It is always slow to unload on arrival at the destination port, too, and, combined with the 2 hour crossing time, a large part of the day is spent just getting accross the water, and then a slow trip out of the port behind dozens of lorries. This puts time pressure on those needing to cover some miles/kilometers before nightfall. The price is very good on this route, and if you have no time pressures, it's an average service, but we will be looking at other routes for next year.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Megansmum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norfolkline Dunkerque also viewed

 

Been to Norfolkline Dunkerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing