We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for money and excellent for location”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #102 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for money and excellent for location”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The building itself quite old, and inside as well, but with renovation. When choosing a hotel I wanted something like this one: french style and a little old fashioned, with interesting wood furniture, cozy and in a good location, so I can walk to the center easily. I had it all and was nice surprised with the Hotel de France. They have elevator, really old one, but safe, they have stairs, so you can walk if you live on the second floor. You can have breakfast for the additional price. I can highly recommend this Hotel if you travel by your own or with someone. It has this elegant spirit of France and sharm. I definitely liked it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrinMarseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    42
    19
    14
See reviews for
13
42
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed four nights in a hotel with certain surprises: a very small room which was not very practical: the air condition was switched off in the whole hotel (reason: low temperature outside!),
no fridge, only one peg (in the bathroom), no safe. To bulbs had to be changed. Very bad quality of the only English-speaking channel (CNN - totally destroyed by commercial and self-promoting advertisments). Add a very simple, unhealthy breakfast and a lot of noise from the streets during night. But - as a positive remark: eco-friendly lights (photo-cells) in the corridors. The service and politeness from the reception staff varied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SverreNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toulouse hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel was easy to find from the bus stop where the airport bus dropped us off. All the reception staff spoke good English and was incredibly helpful. The rooms equipt with basic stuff but they are all new and in good condition. One downside of the room was that there was no safe.
The hotel is ideally located in the city, within short walking distance to most tourist points of interest. The best thing about the location was the large market that is situated right behind the hotel (go out of the rear entrance of the hotel). The market has an amazing selection of fresh delicious food, anything from sea food to meats to breads to tiny pizzas that they warm up for you right there and then. Every stall owner we spoke to were so friendly and helpful.
Toulouse was an lovely city to visit and Hotel de France was a wonderful icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor rooms (we stayed on the 4th floor) as there are cafes close to the hotel. 4th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaArty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I am just back from my first city break trip to Toulouse and whilst there I stayed at this very charming old hotel located steps away from Place de President Thomas Wilson and just a short walk from Place du Capitole. My flight landed in Toulouse at 9:30am and the 20 minute taxi ride from the airport cost 27 Euros. The front desk staff were very polite and very friendly and I was allocated room 207, a small but comfortable room on the second floor overlooking the street. The room came with a double bed, flat screen TV (all French channes except for CNN Sport), air conditioning, black out curtains, desk and chair, ensuite shower/toilet. The bed was comfortable and I did not experience any noise from the street below - but I did have my window closed due to the intense heat outside (thank goodness for A/C). The only bit of criticism I can think of is that the bathroom was poorly lit. To sum it up, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Hotel de France and would not hesitate in recommending the hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed two nights in this hotel as part of a group travelling for work. It's well located, clean, and the staff are very helpful; the wifi worked well for me. What's not to like, then? Firstly, the wooden flooring throughout; it might look nice, but if your room is anywhere near a staircase, expect constant footstep noise - I was woken several times. And secondly, the lack of hot water in the shower when a group of twelve gets up at the same time to have breakfast and leave - mine was tepid at best, and several of my colleagues' showers ran cold.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdeFrance, Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
We were disappointed to find out through TripAdvisor that you had an issue with water temperature, yet nobody at the hotel was told about such issue. We have housekeeping personnel on all floors during the day and front desk managers present day and night 24/7 who are there to assist you and can quickly adjust the water temperature, if needed.

We hope to have the pleasure of a future visit, and that you will not hesitate to ask for assistance to make your stay most pleasant.

Kind regards,

Cecile Abel
Hotel de France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We were greeted by the most charming lady at the front desk who spoke fluent English (thank goodness!). The lobby and main stairway were beautifully decorated for the holiday season. We were shown to our room on the fifth floor where we were delighted with the newly remodeled room, the fresh linens, clean bathroom and wonderfully comfortable bed.
From the hotel, we were within walking distance of some wonderful stores where I had too much fun.. (Sonia Rykiel, Kenzo, l'Occitane en Provence...). When we came back from our day out, we were able to relax on a small balcony attached to our room which looked out on the Rue d'Austerlitz and the charming pink rooftops of the city. The hotel staff were very solicitous and endearing! With their direction, we found a wonderful store with fresh produce just across the way as well as some great restaurants. We were very happy that we found this hotel and will definitely stay here again upon our return.

Room Tip: The fifth floor was the top floor and had a wonderfully romantic viewpoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The room I stayed in had recently been remodeled and felt more like being home than staying in a hotel room. I absolutely loved the croissants at breakfast and the staff and the personnel at the front desk were all very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is very well situated, with loads of restaurants and shops nearby and even a market.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyCher41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Wilson
Wilson Square
Wilson Square
#70 of 130 in Toulouse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Wilson
Hotel Ours Blanc Wilson
Hotel Ours Blanc Wilson
#48 of 130 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Wilson
Hotel Ours Blanc Centre
Hotel Ours Blanc Centre
#69 of 130 in Toulouse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilson
Royal Wilson
Royal Wilson
#43 of 130 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Taur
Hotel Le Capitole
Hotel Le Capitole
#96 of 130 in Toulouse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Gabriel Péri
Hotel Castellane
Hotel Castellane
#84 of 130 in Toulouse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 5 rue d Austerlitz, 31000, Toulouse, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Wilson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Toulouse, in the city's most beautiful neighborhood. Restaurants, cafes, markets and the best brands shopping are just a few feet away from the Hotel's doorstep. Hotel de France has a rich history dating back to 1890. The newly remodeled rooms were designed to have the perfect combination of charm, convenience and comfort. Each room features a flat panel TV with satellite channels, complementary WIFI access, air-conditioning and a travertine-tiled bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing