We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely simple place to stay with excellent staff!”
Review of St Claire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Claire Hotel
Ranked #20 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely simple place to stay with excellent staff!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found this place at the last minute and were please because we were only doing a short stop over and it was not expensive! It was lovely; don't be fooled by the rather tired exterior. The room was big and comfortable with lovely simple decor. The bathroom was very clean and had nice toiletries. The staff are lovely, we managed with our broken French and their much better English. They did everything they could to make our stay comfortable, with complimentary coffee and tea and a very thoughtful birthday present when we came back from dinner. The restaurant we went to they had suggested and it was excellent. We would definitely stay here if we were coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizplatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    207
    43
    17
    4
See reviews for
50
228
95
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I thought this was a very good hotel, but far from one of the top five in Toulouse -- again a problem with the tripadvisor algorithm.

The hotel is well located between the train station and the main sights in the center, but the area itself is just ordinary with lots of bars and restaurants in the area. It could be a bit noisy at night, but it really didn't bother me.

The hotel itself has VERY good service. Everyone at the front desk was friendly and offered good advice. The hotel offers extra services that one usually doesn't find in smaller ** hotels like messages, fancy toiletries, etc for an extra fee. The breakfast is good with fresh pastries, breads, juices, etc. The quality of the bedding and toiletries was excellent for a hotel of this size, but the shower was tiny and the bathroom itself was very small. The only problems in this hotel were the poor WiFi services, but what do you expect from a ** hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
545 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked this hotel mostly on TA reviews and their website. First the positives: the staff was very helpful, the coffee was great, and the air conditioning in the rooms worked very well. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was well-appointed, if somewhat snug. It looked like it had been recently redone. What is VERY deceiving about their website and the pictures they show of the rooms is that the rooms are VERY, VERY small, even by European standards. Their use of a wide-angle lens to photograph their rooms borders on fraud. Also, the hotel is not on the best street in Toulouse and there was a significant amount of noise if your room faced towards the bars. The windows sealed well and kept out much of the noise in our room, but those traveling with us complained of it. This is not the place to book if you plan to spend any time at all in your room, but if you need something with easy access to the train station and within easy walking distance of all of the downtown sights, then the St Claire will serve you well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side opposite of the bars and square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCalCanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Your stay at the St Claire will begin with a very warm welcome. The staff go out of their way to extend much appreciated service to the weary traveller, they will take care of little details (cups of tea, printing your boarding pass) that make life easier. Don't hesitate to ask since all requests are met with friendliness and sincere good will. The ambiance of the hotel is charming and understated. The interior with its warm ivory walls and natural flooring exudes a sense of well-being, so in the midst of this lively urban culture you enjoy your own comforting retreat. Ambient sounds from the street below are the only reminder of your proximity to all the excitement of this beautiful city and its daily life, as you melt away in your own relaxing personal space. The breakfast is top of its class, with excellent quality and generous quantity. Where else can you be so close to local culture and daily life of the inhabitants, and yet enjoy being treated as a queen? Small, intimate and yet luxurious in an understated way, St Claire is a lovely experience for the solo traveller.

Room Tip: Beautifully appointed rooms, higher up will be farther from ambient sounds of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith57_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel has a great location within easy walking distance to any destination in Toulouse. The receptionist was very kind, and helped us with all our questions, which included help with all sortsw of driving directions (avoid driving in Toulouse if you can help it).

Overall, the room was very comfortable and we had a large bathroom and a much needed air conditioner. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 25Stefan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The St Claire is very good situated right in the center of town - in walking distance to the place du capitole and everything else. The rooms are small, but beautiful decorated and with free wifi, the staff is very nice and the breakfast is good as well. I already stayed here sveral times during the last years and I always like to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whoopie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Well located easy walk to station. Staff really helpful and friendly local restaurants well worth visiting. The hotel is a short walk from the historical city centre. i would recommend the walking tour leaves from the tourist bureau the guide really brought the history to life. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qrl261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Wilson
Mercure Toulouse Centre Wilson Capitole
Saint Rome
Pere Leon
Pere Leon
#5 of 130 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belfort
Hotel Heliot
Hotel Heliot
#14 of 130 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#7 of 130 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Claire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Claire Hotel

Property: St Claire Hotel
Address: 29 Place Nicolas Bachelier, 31000, Toulouse, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Gabriel Péri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Claire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivier Couraud and his team look forward to welcoming you to the quiet and comfortable St Claire Hotel. They propose a personal and refined base for your stay in Toulouse. With a warm welcome, harmonious colours and soft furnishings, the hotel has everything you need ti ensure that your stay in Toulouse is a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your St Claire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing