We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean inside but area not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel d'Orleans
Ranked #46 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean inside but area not so good”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The staff were very helpful and all very postive cheerful attitudes. This can make a big difference when staying in a seedy area. It is across the street from the train station so convenient. I had to upgrade my room upon check in as I was staying for 2 nights and Room 107 was below basic. Not even on par with a mid range Motel 6. I stayed in Room 001, which was $100 Euro a night and very roomy. The hotel room was quiet as I had an inside courtyard. The original was 67 Euro. It is about 1/2 mile to the City square which is very nice......which, once you arrive has shopping, cafes, and quaint. During the day the hotel location works well as it has a bakery, coffee shop and grocery store all on same block. During the night there were hookers and what looked like drug addicts/dealers on every corner (EVERY CORNER). Once inside I felt safe

Room Tip: Have them show you a couple and know you are getting the worst one if you pay the lowets rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    78
    41
    16
    13
See reviews for
25
63
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed for four nights, the Staff where very helpful the facilities also were very good.
The room was very comfortable and considering the busy location and a front facing room very quiet. Parking is a little difficult on the local streets however the hotel has parking at an extra charge if required which i used for one off the nights.
There are a number of good eating places in easy walking distance and local shops just down the road.
A good central location for sight seeing and shopping as i was on business i did not get to enjoy as much as i would have liked too.
I would go back on a holiday.
Free Wifi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogersmax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for one night to catch the train in the next day. The location is very close to the station, just a few steps. Our room was a little bit small like all the french rooms but clean and nice. The shower was good, perfect temperature for the winter time.
I recomend as a practical and easy place !!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Just a basic hotel in an area that is close to the train station (a plus) but is otherwise a bit dodgy. Rooms are basic but clean. The air-conditioning works fine. Free wifi is good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricforr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenn dale, maryland
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Is it safe to stay in the Grand Hotel d'Orleans ? I stayed for one nigt and the electricity was off Intermittently from 3pm to 8pm because of faulty hotel wiring. From 8pm to about midnight the electricity was completely off including the emergency cachup lighting system. When working, the emergency exit system appears to designate locked guest room doors as exits. I had such a sign over my room door and there was certainly no escape route through my room out of the hotel. Fire extinguishers are not visible anywhere. If fire extinguishers exist they are well hidden from view. Finally, even when the lights work, most stairways are unlit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

One step from railway station, we found this very easy. From hotel up to the center of 10-15 minutes on foot. On this street is 2 food supermarkets and many markets and small restaurants, bakeries.
For a breakfast a buffet with a enough choice. For a dinner too it's possible to order a buffet.
Friendly staff, helped always.
Very pleasant place for stay in Toulouse!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amin0ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satun, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Intended on going to Carcassonne but ended up here by accident, was the cheapest passable looking place near the Matabiau train station. I took it and it wasn't a bad experience even though I only spent about 2 awake hours there. The interior design of this hotel is quite nice and unique. My room had no outside-facing window which might be a problem for some people. Air-conditioning worked great and the free wi-fi came in handy since I needed to figure out how to get to Andorra. Staff was very friendly and helpful, not a common practice amongst French people when they have to speak English. Don't bother with the breakfast unless its included, expensive and extremely basic. I noticed after checking out there is a cheaper option directly across the street from this hotel but if you're not a penny-pincher, I'd recommend the Grand Hotel D'Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sens4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Ibis Toulouse Gare Matabiau
#30 of 130 in Toulouse
508 reviews
Hotel Ambassadeurs
#65 of 130 in Toulouse
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belfort
Hotel d'Orsay
Hotel d'Orsay
#38 of 130 in Toulouse
167 reviews
Belfort
Hotel Occitania
Hotel Occitania
#84 of 130 in Toulouse
65 reviews
Belfort
Hotel M
Hotel M
#60 of 130 in Toulouse
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel d'Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel d'Orleans

Property: Grand Hotel d'Orleans
Address: 72 rue de Bayard, 31000, Toulouse, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Raymond IV
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel d'Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue à Toulouse !Cet ancien relais de diligence est un vrai hôtel de charme et de caractère avec le confort du XXI ème siècle.Au centre ville de Toulouse, proche de la gare SNCF et de la navette aéroport, cet hôtel 3 étoiles de 56 chambres possède 3 catégories de chambre: Standard, Privilège et Luxe, un parking, un restaurant, salles de séminaires, salles pour groupes, ascenseur, jardin, Internet et wifi gratuit ainsi que tout le confort moderne : climatisation, sèche-cheveux, écran plasma 27 chaînes, Canal + dans toutes les chambres.Notre hôtel vous aidera par son confort, son charme, à vivre de belles journées à Toulouse, la ville de la joie de vivre, des violettes, des briques roses, de la Garonne et du Canal du Midi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel d'Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing