We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Bistro with great food”
Review of Balthazar

Balthazar
Ranked #207 of 1,865 Restaurants in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Small Bistro with great food”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

When a restaurant we had a booking for was closed, my wife and I ate here. We got the last table and were very glad. The food is mostly local, mostly organic and where possible bought direct from the producer, their mission statement says it all. My wife had a cold soup starter like gaspacho but with warm chiozo sausage, I had a pot du feu of veal. We both had a delicious fish main course. The wine was a Riesling but from Lanandoc so was different to the northern French / German version. They only accept phone bookings and being small we saw people being turned away. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edgware_LondonNevuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    41
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh local food prepared with passion!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This lovely little restaurant was a special surprise. We had a wonderful lunch here. Phillipe and Sarah are passionate about using fresh local produce to prepare excellent dishes. You may not find the dishes typically found on menus for tourists, for example cassoulet or the many recipes for duck, but you will find fresh, creative dishes based on traditional Toulouse recipes. Inexpensive and great value with friendly service. If you are really interested in the food miles movement this is the place to eat and also enjoy local wines.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
“So sweet restaurant!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is REALLY great restaurant I've ever tried! They serve organic and local food & wine, and of course the taste was great!!! and especially, hosts were really kind and cheerful! I can say that they are the essence of this restaurant! However, the restaurant was small and most of the seats were reserved by local people when we went, so to make sure your visit, I recommend you to reserve seats. I hope you can share my feeling by visiting that sweet restaurant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swkymgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love love love this restaurant!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were so delighted to stumble upon this restaurant in Toulouse. We loved it so much, we went back the next night!

Fresh, locally-sourced, creative and delicious!
Great for a night out with friends or a romantic soiree.

It's owned and operated by a young hardworking, passionate and talented couple.

We'll definitely go back often!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good wine, great wine, and welcoming hosts!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Spent a great night at Balthazar! As the title suggests, the wine is good, and the food even better! This restaurant has a lovely, relaxing atmosphere, and you quickly feel at ease.

The chef sources produce locally as much as possible, and a lot of the produce used is organic too. The wine is also locally sourced, and the owners are happy to provide recommendations.

A great address! We'll be back soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balthazar also viewed

Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing