We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and food”
Review of The Winter Garden

The Winter Garden
Ranked #15 of 1,836 Restaurants in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After reading review, booked and were captivated by welcoming hosta, and good food and wine. A pity about deserts

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    247
    68
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Come enjoy an excellent dining experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wondering the streets of Toulouse, pulled in just as this garden oasis was opening by Max one of three dining entrepreneurs that really know their craft. Fully enjoyed this excellent experience eating at the winter garden. Seriously the owners aka staff have a great set up to serve you, treat you well and ensure you fully enjoy you time with them. But let me make it clear this is about great food. You know it when the three "owners" aka servers rush to the back when you here a faint clap ... The chef telling them to come get his great creations ... He's in control ... He wants you to get your food when he says it's ready. It's magic to watch them work. Sorry guys we stayed for an extra bottle of wine to watch the show. Amazing to watch how well they work together.

The food ... Max is right ... The chicken is awesome, I went with the duck, it's very good but I loved tasting Les's chicken. Appys were awesome, desert was awesome, wine was excellent. We will be back.

We have lived a spoiled life, seek great food and service around the world, the winter garden has been one of our top food experiences.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding impression”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had spent a fair time scouring the city centre square area and were getting depressed about overpriced standard touristy menus or Macdonalds being the main choices. Just 100m away we found The Winter Garden in a side alley and took the risk. The enthusiasm of the owner and sons in describing their menu (hand written) was so genuine and every dish appeared to be carefully preared in their own special way. Choice of 2 wines - red or white - but don't worry as both were excellent and obviously carefully chosen and locally sourced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetFlipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great service, creative and delicious food, and good small bistro atmosphere”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Based on trip advisor reviews, we tried this place while in Toulouse in September 2013. The wait staff - two half brothers and the owner - were very attentive, spoke perfect english, and had a bit of a comical routine about presenting the menu.

But the service isn't where it ends. We don't usually order chicken in restaurants (can cook that at home), but on their recommendation, ordered the stuffed chicken. The sauce was unlike anything we'd ever had - incredibly moist chicken, great flavor and the gratin potatoes on the side were amazing. We also had the beef tartare - it was flavored perfectly with some italian spices.

For dessert, they had an unusual, but well paired combination of a chestnut mousse with a framboise sauce. It was light, but full of flavor and the combination of the chestnut with the tart flamboise sauce was alone worth going for.

Overall, I think this restaurant outperforms the food of many of the michelin star restaurants I've visited in France, had great service, and was friendly to english speakers. I'd highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, highly recommended”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very warm and friendly service (fluent English spoken), along with great food.
Highly recommended, booking essential, as its understandably very popular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winter Garden also viewed

Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to The Winter Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing