We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“check out the mirror”

Church of Les Jacobins
Ranked #3 of 145 things to do in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“check out the mirror”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Almost completely empty inside.
The mirror is interesting, reflecting the ceiling.
The 4 euro entrance fee to the small cloister is not worthwhile.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank House R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    332
    61
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“amazing columns”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I've rarely seen columns like this, they're called 'palmiers' meaning palm trees, reminiscent of the Lloyja de la Seda in Valencia. I'd be interested in learning more about this style of architecture, I wasn't able to find anything on Wikipedia, message me if you know more

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank betty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Currently being renovated so the outside is a bit spoiled but inside, wow! Go early (it opens at 10) when the sun shines. The light coming through the stained glass windows is amazing. The huge pillars look like palm trees and at the far end there is a mirror looking into which makes you feel like you are on a tall building! There is a relic of St Thomas Aquinus (not sure what bit) if you like that sort of thing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank paula1756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is the most beautiful church with amazing columns. One at the end had a mirror around the base that magnified the column and gave you a stunning view of the ceiling. Would have been better to have visited earlier in the day when there was more natural light.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WSimonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
244 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Slightly remote from city centre, but worth the trip”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We happened to go here when the sunlight was hitting the stained glass perfectly and illuminating the large columns in the broad, open space of the church. The effect was quite spectacular and we felt immediately grateful to have captured the moment so well. That, however, did not motivate us to spend the €4 to enter their courtyard. N.B. We live in Norway where everything is expensive and €4 seemed unnecessary - but i understand they are undergoing a big restoration. The mirrored glass formation that affords you trippy views of the vaulted ceilings are a really nice touch!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Volkolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Les Jacobins also viewed

 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Church of Les Jacobins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing