We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Athenee
Ranked #15 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Westport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and good location”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived in Toulouse by car, dropped it off at the train station and walked to the hotel. It is well located - not far from the station but far enough to be quiet and very convenient to the historic part of the city. The reception was friendly and very helpful with advice and a city map. We only stayed one night and were satisfied with our stay. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for writing the comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the comment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Valentine Segrestan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    379
    126
    20
    8
See reviews for
77
371
48
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is a fairly typical 3 star French hotel. The room are very small and twin beds are, as a result, very close together. The room was also very warm. the air conditioning unit did not seem to chill the air.
I don't think there was one day when the maid service managed to cover all aspects of service (eg on a couple of days the coffee creamer was not replenished, while on another day the bath towels were not even folded let alone replaced).
That aside the hotel was clean and the reception staff very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was more than adequate.
The only lift was out of service for almost 24 hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aberkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for writing the comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the comment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Valentine Segrestan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I spent a nice and comfortable few days staying at the Best Western Hotel.

“Pros”:
1. Location - city centre; 10-15min walking distance to all the museums, parks, restaurants/shop areas.
2. Service – friendly staff, very polite and helpful. Drinks (bubbly) on arrival.
3. Room – newly refurbished. New bathroom, toilet, accessories. Kettle with mugs, good choice of drinks (tea, coffee, hot choco), biscuits. View was great (please see my pictures). It was very quiet as well.
4. Transport – easy to reach the place (shuttle from the airport (every 15min). 5 Euro/person/one way. Stop - Jeanne D'Arc and 5min walk to the side street). For the rest of your journey you won’t need a transport as everything is very close to this spot.
5. Breakfast – cereals, eggs, different kinds of local bread, sausages (3-4kinds), cheese (3-4kinds), butter, milk, yogurts, jams, pastry etc etc Quite a standard, but very fresh and good choice, so you can make it different every day.
6. We had our flight back at 9pm, so receptionist, Rosa, purposed us to keep our bags in a special locked room til then.

Advise (apart from all the museums…):
- Visit local Antique market, a lot of interesting stuff
- Don’t forget to buy the most popular local product – violet (candies (flowers in violet sugar), syrup, even mustard); very tasty and doesn’t feel like you are eating soap
- Try cassoulet (local cuisine).

Pricing:
- Average dinner for two – about 30-40Euro (without alco)
- Ice cream (two HUGE scoops) – 3.5Euro
- Bottle of water – 1-1.5Euro
- Tea w dessert in a café on a terrace - 6-7Euro
- Kebab – 5Euro
- Museums - 8-10Euro
- Metro – 1.6Euro

Highly recommended Hotel and the city!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bisanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for writing the comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the comment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Valentine Segrestan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel as we wanted somewhere central but not too pricy as we were passing through. Couldn't have chosen better, we drove from the airport and as the street name is the same as a major train station not too far away it was easy to find. The onsite car was a bargain at 10 euros. We arrived late evening and the guy on reception was friendly, professional and helpful.

There are some great bars and restaurants 5 mins walk away.

The room was decorated as expected and was very clean with a great shower and a bonus of dressing gowns and slippers. We booked directly with the hotel to take advantage of their deal which is worth doing. The breakfast was delicious and the packed lunch which they provided the next day as part of the deal was ideal.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which meant it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissOutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for writing the comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the comment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Valentine Segrestan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The whole experience of booking, arriving and etc.,. was perfect. All members of the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The parking with a 'largish' car was a nightmare but manageable. The lift was tiny but coped. The room was on the small side with a queen size bed, exceptionally clean though with a splendid shower, good air-conditioning and double-glazing. The rather dreadful carpet was somewhat dated but again everywhere was so clean.
The location was perfect for our needs and everywhere was very accessible. I would certainly recommend it but some of the nights of our stay were really rather expensive. We reduced our number of planned nights but that was not to do with the hotel just our need to move on to (for us) a more stimulating and attractive city! We would certainly return to this hotel but in asmallercar,

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park which was fine apart from the early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L F T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for writing the comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the comment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Valentine Segrestan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Hotel is in a great location, very close to the three main squares and excellent restaurants and bars. The ladies on reception were very helpful, but the hotel is a little worn. Generally good value for money. Rooms are rather small but this is generally the way in France

Room Tip: Not on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for writing the comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the comment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Valentine Segrestan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

First the positives! The hotel is very close to the airport bus stop, which is on the main road just before the Jeanne d'Arc bus station. The railway station is about double the distance in the opposite direction. The reception staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. The rooms are smallish but adequate and are clean and tidy. The beds are large and very comfortable and clean. There is a safe, air conditioning, a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There is also a very good continental breakfast. The free WiFi worked very well and, having taken an iPad, we didn't need to use the 1hr free internet. The big problem with the accommodation was the lift, which, every time it was used, gave a loud single clanging noise, a bit like hitting a radiator with a hammer. We were offered room 15 on arrival, but, having read a couple of reviews which advised against this room because of the lift noise, we declined, and were given room 26. This room, we found, was actually worse for lift noise than no. 15, as the noise echoed up a service shaft which was between the lift and our room. To explain the layout of the hotel, each floor has 6 rooms clustered round a small landing. The lift is at one end of the landing, between rooms 1 and 6, with a small staircase between the lift and room 6. Everyone needs to use the lift as the staircases are very small and circular, so there would be no other way of getting luggage up to the room. There are 3 rooms facing the front and 3 rooms facing the back on each floor. We had a comfort room which faced the back and they are apparently a lot less noisier than the front rooms which are facing a busy road. The view is nothing special at the back as it overlooks a small car park and some large blocks of flats behind this, but I think the comfort room was a better option. We were staying in the hotel for 7 nights, so, after 3 nights, we couldn't stand the noise any more, and asked to be moved to any room ending with a 4, as this looked the room furthest away from the lift. We were given room 44, which, although we could still hear the clang of the lift, was far enough away to deaden the noise. The downside of the new room was the shower. Room 26 had a lovely big shower, but room 44 had a small square shower, which had a very small opening of about 12 inches across one corner with quite a large step up. We were willing to struggle with the shower though for the peace. In order of distance from the lift I would ask for comfort rooms 4, 5, and 6, in that order and 3, 2, and 1 for the other rooms. So, I would recommend the hotel for a short stay, but not for the seven nights we were there. Toulouse itself is a nice modern city with many museums and places of interest, and everywhere is walkable. The Capitole is worth seeing with beautifully painted walls inside, and the Basilique de St Sernin is well worth a visit. We caught the tourist train in the Place du Capitole for 5.50 euros which drove round all the places of interest. The boat ride from the Place de la Dourade which included a trip along one of the canals was very good and only 8 euros. We had three longer train journeys to Carcassonne, Lourdes and Foix, which were easy to book and not expensive. Two restaurants we would recommend are Meet the Meat for the atmosphere and l'Entrecote for the food. There is a Casino supermarket on the opposite side of the street towards the railway station which is very clean and inexpensive. I would recommend buying some milk from there if you use the tea making facilities at the hotel because the milk provided is not very nice. There are also a Carrefour and Lidl supermarket a few streets away. Everything is open late, except for a Sunday when they close at 1.00 pm.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms are quieter. The best room for being away from the lift on each floor is no. 4 for a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for writing the comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the comment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Valentine Segrestan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Wilson
Mercure Toulouse Centre Wilson Capitole
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilson
Novotel Toulouse Centre Wilson
Ibis Toulouse Centre
#24 of 130 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#7 of 130 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Athenee

Property: Best Western Hotel Athenee
Address: 13 B rue Matabiau, 31000, Toulouse, France (Formerly Best Western Hotel Athenee by HappyCulture)
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toulouse
#10 Family Hotel in Toulouse
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
#15 Business Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Athenee 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Hotel Athénée, beautiful charming hotel located in the city center of Toulouse. The best quality / price ratio for your stay in Toulouse. A few steps from the cultural and business center, the hotel is 400m from the Capitol. Every day, discover our HappyTime "Gourmet Aperitif" from 6pm to 8pm, you are our guests ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Toulouse
Best Western Athenee
Toulouse Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing