We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Athenee
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Raymond 4(Toulouse)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel le Pastel(Toulouse)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Cosmos(Toulouse)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveler rating
240
407
141
25
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
407
141
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea coffee facilities in the roomevery eveningseparate toiletsmall loungeroom was cleanwithin walking distancejeanne d'arcon site parkingmin walkingsmall deskrailway stationother guestshelpful with directionscold meatsairport shuttle stopscity breakbreakfast area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 823 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in April. It's a small city centre hotel which is a five minute walk from the airport bus stop. The rooms were very clean with tea and coffee and free wi-fi. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially a young lady called Sara who was on the reception desk. Breakfast was continental but had plenty of choice and service was very good. The main shopping areas and tourist spots were a short walk away. Would recommend this hotel for a short city break in Toulouse. We also caught he train to Carcasonne which took about one hour. Carcasonne old city is a lovely place and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Paul Grigorieff,

Thank you for writing the comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the comment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Valentine Segrestan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel
Good position for walking for most tourist spots and city centre
Good breakfast room but to small for the amount of people wanting breakfast people always seemed to be waiting but that did not apply to us
Room was small but that was to be expected Nice bathroom In room safe great bonus and also tea and coffee making We liked the hotel and the staff and good value for money

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for writing the coment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again to write the coment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Valentine Segrestan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is small but nice , the personal helpful, nice location, near all atractions and center town the breakfast was wonderful !!!! and a good relation price-quality. Wifi free in the room also was good.
The rooms are not very big but with a big window and light. and with all you need in there.

Room Tip: Rooms at higher floors ( ex: 4 floor ) are more lighted
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sybilla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for writing teh comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the comment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Valentine Segrestan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was overnight in Toulouse prior to a mid day train departure and after much deliberation and review reading I decided on the BW Athenee.

First the Hotel is nicely located very close to the Jean d"Arc (god I hope this is the correct spelling) bus stop. My directions were not that great so I did do a bit of wandering, not a whole lot, but more than was necessary as it was right there. Basically you get off the bus, cross the intersection towards a large bus depot area continue down the left side of this depot area past a bank which has blue lighting approximately 100 metres further and the Best Western Athenee is on your left. If you look up ahead of you there is a small square Best Western sign at about 11 feet off the ground.

Check in was easy and effortless, I had emailed to let the front desk know my flight was delayed and I would be late, not a problem. Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised at the small sitting area, check in area and included breakfast area to the back. I was told my stay included a box style lunch with water, a sandwich and a bag of chips as well as a glass of sparkling wine. I took both as I was really not feeling like hunting out a restaurant after a long day. I was shown the elevator, which is in a small hallway off the check in and up I went to my room. The hallway was very dark, but I managed to find my room which was adequate with a comfortable bed, desk, night table with an alarm clock, queen bed, small closet with safe and a tv which I did not watch. The bathroom was actually on the large size for what I have seen here in France.

I found the staff to be excellent, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great. If you are looking for a North American huge room, big bathroom, or fancy room I would say this place is not for you, but if you are looking for a comfortable clean room with a few extras this is a great place, the rooms are small, but I have not found a huge room thus far in my stay in France. Check n and out was great.

Breakfast was to me more than a Continental, but not a full North American Breakfast. It was a really nice introduction to the style of breakfast on finds throughout France.


Now unlike our North American Hotels, these hotels are small, I mean slender little hotels with enough area to provide what is needed. There was parking in the rear of the hotel, I did not use this as I had no need.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for writing this comment regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this comment. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Valentine Segrestan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is rather a small hotel in one of smaller streets in the centre. If I am not mistaken, there are 6 floors with about 5 rooms on each of them. At the ground floor, there is a lobby with a small "bar corner" (a "honesty bar", i.e. fridge from which you can take cans with drinks and write your room number in), Internet corner, the reception and breakfast room. If you book your room directly at the hotel (by phone, by e-mail, they also have some websites they consider "direct booking"), then you are offered buffet breakfast included in the price, lunch box every day, and free wifi. The buffet breakfast: every day the selection of foods is the same but as far as I am concerned, it was rather fine, except for the lack of hot foods. They have a very small kitchen and all they can do hot for you, is coffee/tea or boiled egg. Otherwise, what you have there: things for typical "German" breakfast (baguette, bread, butter, hard cheese, cream cheese, brie cheese, 4 kinds of cold meats, boiled eggs waiting for you cold, jams, fruit salad in small packs) and for typical French breakfast (the sweet pastries called in France "viennoiserie" - several kinds), I am not sure but probably cereals too. Milk was there. 3 juices in distributors. If you are smart enough to notice what's written next to the wall, you can also order and enjoy freshly pressed orange juice.
The lunch box consists of a ready (manufactured) typical sandwich, small packs of potato chips and a small bottle of water.
There is unfortunately no restaurant in this hotel. There is room service though and quite a lot of restaurants not very far away (but not just next door). There are also no food shops "just next door", yet in walking distance I have seen mini-Carrefour (open until 10 pm except Sundays) and Lidl.
There is a lift of course.
The room's size is standard for Europe, would for sure be found small by Americans. Just enough space for a double bed, small desk with 2 chairs and some floor to go around it. My big suitcase fitted (lying on its largest surface) between bed and window. There is a wardrobe in the wall with about 8-9 hangers and a stand for a suitcase (but not as big a suitcase as mine...). A chest with drawers would do, but it is not there, just a small stand with shelves in the wardrobe, not convenient to use.
An electric kettle with tray, two mugs, several bags of coffee, tea, and verbena (vervene) infusion, sugar, were there (but next time I must take even just a paper plate...).
There are 3 sockets at the upper surface of the desk - one for the lamp, another for the kettle and one free, where the laptop or charger can be put (of course the other sockets can be freed too).
There was a minibar but I did not use it.
My room was always clean, the maid must have done it every day. The bed linen was OK. (Well, I prefer more "plump" pillows :-) but this is individual). For sure there was no any upleasant odour (which was described in one opinion I read on Google). I stayed in the hotel twice by now. All the hotel is non-smoking.
There is a telephone (next to the bed only), small night tables on both sides. Flat screen TV (I did not use it too much but I am afraid most channels are in French). Radio/alarm clock.
There is quite a large bathroom and a separate toilet. It can be seen that these were rather recently renovated. There is a bathtub with a glass wall permitting its use as a shower. The water pressure might be stronger (but was not bad at my 4th floor). I heard other guests joking that the pressure is really not sufficient on the top floors (6th). The drain was not very efficient, the water was staying in the tube when I finished my shower.
A large sink with make-up glass, hairdryer. Cosmetics: big bottle of hair-and-body liquid attached to the wall at the bathtube, and a small soap type "peeling" for hands. Several towels, very clean too. They are on a shelf/hanger where probably you could put your washed underwear or socks. Otherwise there is nowhere to dry washed items like that (some hotels provide a retractable plastic rope over the bathtub for this purpose).
There is effective heating in the room and in the bathroom. In the room there is also air-conditioner with remote control (not that I needed it very much in January, but once I used it when after coming back to the hotel I found my room too much heated).
One bad thing is that I did not manage to open my window. Not that this is a non-opening type, I am afraid it is just too old and it seemed if I insisted, I will end up with this window in my hands.
I did not use the hotel's laundry service, yet I saw their leaflet and it seemed to me that the prices are reasonable - e.g. 6 EUR for trousers.
WiFi in the hotel worked well. Only on one evening I had some unexplained problems, possibly caused by intereference with my computer's settings. Then I learnt that the hotel also has an alternate wifi network but that one is only captured on the ground floor and perhaps floor 1st or 2nd but not 4th.
Of course it is possible to leave your luggage in the hotel if you arrive before check-in or want to leave after check-out time.
The reception staff was friendly and helpful. In some times during the day there is one person serving the reception and the breakfast room (not a problem, but probably in this time the time to answer your call can be longer).
There is a small glass cupboard with souvenirs from Toulouse (various items made from or related to Toulouse pride: violets). I did not have any possibility to go to a specially dedicated souvenir shop in the city centre, so I bought my souvenirs at the hotel. The aromatic bag was much less expensive than in a souvenir corner of a hospital's shop (my job involves sitting in a hospital all day long).
The hotel is divided from the street by something that seems a small yard. By there, cars pass by to a parking situated back from the hotel building. I did not come by car so I do not know if parking places there are offered to hotel guests too or no.
Area: just steps away there is Jeanne d'Arc square with many buses, and the underground station. Post box in front of the hotel. And restaurants a bit further away. I am afraid that's all I can say about it - all the other businesses were closed when I was coming back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agulha68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vsegrestan, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Athenee, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Comme je sais que vous parlez très bien français, je me permet de vous répondre comme ceci.

Je vous remercie vivement d'avoir écrit un commentaire aussi ettofé sur notre établissement.

Nous sommes heureux que notre hotel vous plaise et nous serons content de vous acueillir de nouveau.

Encore un grand merci.

Je vous souhaite une bonne journée.

Cordialement,

Valentine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews