We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Albert 1er

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Albert 1er
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed one night following a short visit to Lourdes and our return flight back to the UK from Toulouse airport.
The location is great, literally 2 minutes walk to the Capitole.

We parked our car outside the hotel (not in a parking bay) for a few minutes just to unload our luggage, then drove to the car park- which is at the Jeanne d'Arc underground car park, about a 5 minute walk away. The hotel has a discounted rate of €13 for 24 hours (usually €19). I noticed there was a closer car park at the Victor Hugo, but the hotel didn't mention this one so I assume it would be at the 'full price' of €19 there.

We paid £90 for one night (room only), which is quite pricey, but given the location it was probably wasn't over-priced. The rate also included free wifi in the rooms.

Our room (412) was clean, comfortable and spacious. There was a large flat screen tv and electronic shutters for the 2 windows which for those who like me, like a dark room, is great. There was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, not even a kettle. There was however, a minibar and a safe (which we couldn't work out how to use, so didn't bother). The bed was comfy, firm (albeit ever so slightly squeaky) and there were extra pillows and a blanket in the wardrobe.

The bathroom was spacious, with a shower over a bath and hand wash/shower gel dispensers. There was a hairdryer attached to the wall in the bathroom.
The hotel is located between two side streets, so it wasn't very noisy

We didn't eat breakfast as for €11 for continental breakfast we thought it wasn't very good value. Instead we headed to one of the cafes overlooking the Capitole and had a €6 breakfast consisting of tea or coffee, croissant, orange juice, piece of baguette - great view and great weather!

I would recommend this hotel if you are wanting somewhere really close to the Capitole, but don't expect guest-house prices as you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eggsy_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbert1er, Responsable commercial at Hotel Albert 1er, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your detailled comments following your stay with us in the Hotel Albert 1er. I am glad to see that all along your stay, service and product quality were up to your expectations.

I have taken note about your comments from our breakfast and I would like to reassure you with the fact that we also different possibilities. 11€ is a complete one, our products have been selected mainly from organic and sustainable farming. You have choice from fresh pressed orange juice, many kind of organic breads, jams and honey, cereals, yoghurts and seasonal fruits,...

We also have continental version in room service for 7€ !

I have shared your feedback with the entire team and we hope we'll hope to see you again in Toulouse

Yours sincerely,

Etienne HILAIRE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 918 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel for the organic breakfast, which was excellent, considering it is France.
Rooms were average but decent heating and clean, certainly.
I found each staff member here kind and helpful and generous in their suggestions. A lovely experience tho I was only staying one night.
Hotel is Less than 1min walk from main square and maybe 3min walk to river and famous bridges.
Taxis here cost E15 minimum, to anywhere, if leaving from the train station. Not just on Sundays (!) a local oddity it's best to know in advance.
Do try the authentic, hand made, violet - based foods in Toulouse, rather than those chemically created in China!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Excellent hotel. Very close to everything. Very comfortable and staff were all very helpful. On display is an excellent walking guide to Toulouse which eased our stay right from the start. Close to market which has wonderful restaurants upstairs but need to get there early and only opens lunchtimes. Close to all the other sights as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gppayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is less than five minutes off the main square (Capitole) but quiet and well-appointed. The room was very nice with an ample armoire and a modern and spacious bathroom with a large enough shower stall. The staff members were very helpful, convincing us that the 5Epp shuttle to the airport (stop a few blocks away) was as convenient and quick as the sometimes not-on-time taxis that took as long at 35-40E. They were correct. The breakfast was very good and ample at 11E pp. The internet rate (pre-paying one night) also made this a very good buy for this level of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and room on 3rd floor was very small and bed not properly made up or room cleaned after our first night stay. Breakfast was poor with either coffee machine kept running out of something or limited food kept running out. It was well located, but I wouldn't stay here again having stayed here 4 times already. Staff on desk not particularly friendly, and be aware. of the problem of reaching it by car with all the street closures and one way systems. Too highly ranked try another hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room and ask for room in front, not a noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simongee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbert1er, Responsable commercial at Hotel Albert 1er, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your stay with us.
I am really sorry to see that your stay was not up to your expectations.

As you certainly know, we offer a variety of room categories and we could easily have changed your room, had we been aware that you were not entirely satisfied. We are sincerely sorry you did not you mention anything to the front desk team when asked if your stay was ok ?

Because your feedback is really important to us, our front desk and breakfast teams have been advised of your comments.

We are sorry we were not able to offer you the service you expected and wish to apologize for the disappointment.

Looking forward to another occasion when we can offer a genuine quality service

Yours sincerely


Etienne Hilaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed two nights in April of 2013. The hotel is close enough to walk to the train station and centrally located for sightseeing in Toulouse, which we loved. The room was the smallest we had in 21 nights in Europe but it did work for us. Staff was helpful but I was surprised to find a charge for the cup of coffee I requested one afternoon. No coffee or tea facilities were available in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel combines the charm of a historic hotel with the upgraded bath of a modern hotel. Yes, the room is small, but no more so than many other places I have stayed in France. It couldn't be located more centrally, within an easy walk of tourist and business interests. I agree that the decor could stand a bit of up-grading, but that is a minor matter to me.

Staff was helpful and are fluent English speakers, which is good for those of us whose college French is decades past pull date. Breakfast was a typical buffet, but the quality of the pastries and sundries was higher than expected. No question if you needed to pinch pennies, you could get a cheaper breakfast outside the hotel, but the convenience of starting the day there for us outweighed the price differential.

If I return to Toulouse, it will be to the Albert 1er. I would give it 4 and a half stars if I could.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flitcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Le Grand Balcon
#8 of 130 in Toulouse
579 reviews
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
1,221 reviews
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#7 of 130 in Toulouse
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint Rome
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
#20 of 130 in Toulouse
977 reviews
Saint Rome
Pere Leon
Pere Leon
#6 of 130 in Toulouse
390 reviews
Wilson
Novotel Toulouse Centre Wilson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albert 1er

Address: 8 rue Rivals | 7 Rue JF Kennedy, 31000, Toulouse, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Taur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Toulouse
#2 Business Hotel in Toulouse
#5 Family Hotel in Toulouse
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range: $88 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albert 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1er is a three-star, family-owned hotel ideally located a hundred metres off Capitole Square right in the historical centre of Toulouse. Hotel Albert 1er is the perfect starting point to discover or rediscover the charms of the "Ville Rose" (pink city) and the Midi-Pyrenees region.For several years now, Hotel Albert 1er has decidedly opted for an eco-friendly approach. It is the sole Hotel in Toulouse that can boast the award of a European Ecolabel: for instance our breakfast products are produced locally or/and come from organic farming."The independent hotel industry at its best..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1er Hotel
Albert 1er Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing