We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FRIENDLIEST HOSTEL IN FRANCE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Petite Auberge de Saint-Sernin
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“FRIENDLIEST HOSTEL IN FRANCE!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A really pleasant atmosphere at this hostel. The staff are helpful and make you feel welcome and appreciated. Great central, safe location. The rooms are well-equipped with everything you could need. It has everything required if a hostel, and in addition it has a unique setup, with a courtyard with piano, games and other things free to use in your spare time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    23
    3
    8
See reviews for
2
8
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for the first three nights of my year abroad. At first I thought it was really cute and had a good central location, but I woke up the first morning with a really itchy rash on my neck. I figured that it was just mosquitoes so didn't say anything. However the bites got worse and as I moved on to the town where I am currently spending my year abroad, they continued and I spotted a bed bug in my bed. I was in a bottom bunk at the hostel, which is supposed to be the bed bug hot spot, and my stuff was all over the bed for the three days I was there - the idea of bed bugs did not even cross my mind! I would urge anyone considering staying here not to. The bed bug problem has absolutely ruined my year abroad experience and it's all down to the obnoxious staff at the hostel who won't sort out the problem. A month later I am still experiencing problems as they are so hard to get rid of. It has been a nightmare and it's all down to staying in this hostel. Beware!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toulouse hotels

Jerusalem District, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

For 20 euros per person, we were in a room of only 4 people, equipped with a fridge, sink, bathroom and toilets. And even a hair dryer.
Location is excellent - Toulouse's historic and touristic center is pretty small (about 3 km long long), and the hostel is inside of it so it's close to everything.
Host was looking kind of fraustrated to see another english-speaking guests. Her english wasn't good. She was also new in Toulouse and couldn't help us with our question (at the times she did understand what we were saying).

Room Tip: Book early and get a room with 4 people. It costs the same as the bigger rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chainet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, België
Level Contributor
410 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The best part about the hostel is the patio where you can hang out at night and meet other people from the hostel.
Unfortunaltely you have to stay very quite because neighbours complain often

The hostel itself is not very clean, showers aren't so clean either
Internet connection is horrible

The good thing about the hostel is that there are all kinds of travellers and always looks full
so its very easy tho socialise and make new travel contacts

Room Tip: Don't take a room close street side if you are a bad sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DjangoDjango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Such a relief to find a decent hostel in France having travelled around lots of the main cities and having suffered the dreary "auberge de jeunesse" in every one of them. The rooms in this hostel are great - brilliant balcony and an entire kitchen IN the room! Never seen anything like it elsewhere.

The staff I found a bit aloof, and seemed averse to anyone being sociable on hostel grounds - which is why I knocked a star off this hostel's rating. But still - if you're sick of crappy budget options in France, this place will be a welcome relief.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jdg90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A great social hostel because of it's central patio and lounge. Staff is courteous and helpful. Rooms are clean and each have their own bathroom and rudimentary kitchen. All the major sites are within easy walking distance and the train/bus stations are only 10-15 minutes by foot away There is also a good market within walking distance.
The Wi-Fi is solid (except in rooms) and they also have a computer terminal free of charge upstairs. Of all the hostels I have stayed in (a lot) this one holds up very well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A little bit of a trek from the main train station but close enough to the city centre. I did not spend a lot of time at the hostel only enough to verify that:

1) The facilities are basic but all you need (room came with a bath room and sink)
2) It does have a bit of atmosphere at night (piano in the court yard; people chatting)
3) I managed to sleep well enough despite being on the ground floor near the road

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hereward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Ibis Budget Toulouse Centre
#31 of 129 in Toulouse
989 reviews
B&B Hotel Toulouse Centre
#73 of 129 in Toulouse
100 reviews
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 129 in Toulouse
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de Brienne
#10 of 129 in Toulouse
429 reviews
Ibis Toulouse Centre
#23 of 129 in Toulouse
883 reviews
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#6 of 129 in Toulouse
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Auberge de Saint-Sernin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Auberge de Saint-Sernin

Property: La Petite Auberge de Saint-Sernin
Address: 17 rue d Embarthe, 31000, Toulouse, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Auberge de Saint-Sernin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing