We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel location terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Toulouse Universite
Ranked #54 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The hotel is a typical Ibis. Its clean and you get what you pay for. However it is located in the middle of a university residential area with lots of people wandering around at night. This was a little worrying when travelling back from Toulouse at night. The railway station is close by.



















However the hotel is next to the university complex with lots of people wandering around late at night, a little scary when travelling back on the train from Toulouse after a meal out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipgloss26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2009

At the end of our short break my wife and I decided to break up our journey back from Andorra to Bordeaux, in Toulouse as we had never been there. I wanted somewhere easy to drive to but near good public transport into the city centre. The Ibis University exactly met our needs, being on a metro stop just a short journey from the centre. I booked the Ibis off the web, knowing it to be a brand one can always rely on for functional, clean, comfortable, good value rooms. Free wi-fi as standard. Breakfast buffet was also good

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zog666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We booked this hotel for one night only, just as a stopover whilst travelling through France. When we arrived, we were told that the resturant was closed and there was no where to eat locally so we should go into the centre of Toulouse. The hotel seems to be located in an industrial area, next to a car dealer and although we had our car, the receptionist advised us to use the underground train to get into Toulouse. Unfortunately her directions to the nearest stop were a bit vague and we walked further than necessary through a sort of high-rise housing estate with loads of people just hanging round, or groups cruising round in their cars.
I felt really uncomfortable and did not enjoy my time in Toulouse because I was worried about getting back to the hotel before dark. My boyfriend seemed to think I was being a bit over-cautious. However, my fears were entirely justified on the walk back when we were stopped by an unmarked police car. The police asked what we were doing in the area, and when explained that we were tourists heading for the Ibis, they told us to hurry up as it was not safe to be in the area!
On the plus side, the hotel was basic but fine, with free internet access, free secure parking and staff who try their best to be helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viatormundi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Pretty standard Ibis hotel with a small bath, usual bar of soap and shampoo. Very basic although clean. However, the location leaves much to be desired, being situated in an industrial area on the fringes of a housing estate - you wouldn't want to go for an evening stroll!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DisgruntledUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

Stayed 1 night (3-4 November/07), while traveling by road, bringing a car from Germany to Portugal! After departing Milan, arrived Toulouse and went to this Ibis (1 of 6 in Toulouse), because of location towards my route and near to airport (i am plane spotter and Blagnac has Airbus :)).
Ibis standard at nice price (49€). Breakfast 7,5€/pax, but better to take at a Brasserie in city, because Toulouse (the "Pink City") is very beautiful!! Don't know about public transports to the city center as I was on a car. Free parking at any time you arrive to hotel. Rooms with good areas, normal in France's Ibis.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cristiano O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Not ideally positioned, on the edge of an industrial estate tucked between the university and the autoroute, but definitely one of the better IBIS hotels. Rooms are bigger than average. Has own secure car park. Good restaurant attached.

One warning, the entrance is slightly tricky as it is on a slip road to a slip road....miss it and you have quite a long detour down to the next autoroute junction and back

Great value...

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandelbrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 55sylvianea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
2.5 mi away
Ibis Toulouse Ponts Jumeaux
Ibis Toulouse Ponts Jumeaux
#15 of 130 in Toulouse
550 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Toulouse Basso Cambo
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Toulouse Centre
B&B Hotel Toulouse Centre
#63 of 130 in Toulouse
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Toulouse Cite de l'Espace 2
3.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Toulouse Centre
3.1 mi away
Ibis Toulouse Centre
Ibis Toulouse Centre
#26 of 130 in Toulouse
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Toulouse Universite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Toulouse Universite

Address: 44 rue Jacques Babinet, 31100, Toulouse, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range: $49 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Toulouse Universite 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Toulouse university hotel is located south - west of the pink city, not far from the motorway and the metro. It is right next to the Zenith , the Convention Centre and the Exhibition Centre . The hotel , not -fumeur , offers for booking 86 rooms , including 2 for disabled guests . It provides Wifi access, a restaurant open from Monday to Saturday evening, a bar open 24/24 , a terrace and free closed parking . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ibis Toulouse Universite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing