We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing family holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julian W
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely location, beautiful and comfortable gite, friendly and helpful owners, lots to do and see in the area - we really enjoyed our stay.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yauds
Midlands, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a little piece of heaven amongst the sunflowers”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were greeted by Will, Karen and Baloo on our arrival at the stunning Chateau. Will showed us round our home for the week 'The Hopkins Gite' (a beautifully restored barn). The Gite was extremely comfortable, sympathetically restored and fully equipped with everything we could need (we would happily live there). The back of the gite and balcony look out over the beautiful countryside. At night time there is complete silence and it is pitch black...... a true place to escape to for total relaxation, peace and quiet. We spent evenings sat on the balcony drinking wine and enjoying the silence (and watching thetas and owls!). There is a lovely pool (a welcome relief from the scorching sunshine) and a fab table tennis table, hammocks and chill out zone. Will and Karen had even done a shop for us for our arrival so we didn't then have to go out and try and find a supermarket!
The Chateau although in the middle of the french countryside is in a great location for exploring. We visited many of the little villages nearby (Will was very helpful with ideas, suggestions and tips). We also visited Carcassonne, went to the coast for the day and drove through the mountains stopping in all the little towns. It is truly beautiful.
We cannot fault our stay here (only wishing that it was longer). Will and Karen are exceptional hosts and we hope to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, balcony, peace and quiet
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marl2003
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relax in rural South of France”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A wonderful week relaxing by the pool in rural surroundings.
Accommodation was well stocked clean and comfortable
Pretty local villages with laid back atmosphere offering the necessary amenities to enhance our stay while Toulouse was only 30 minutes away offering a wide range restaurants, shops and entertainment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: It was a bit too hot some days.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and Gite
Liked least: Nothing....
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BabuKili
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Gite with the most accommodating host!!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Will and Karen Lawes have to be exceptional hosts.
We stayed in both the Huntley and Hopkins gites, I spent a total
of 7 weeks and wife Loraine nearly six weeks.
I will not mention the gites, others have done that, other than they are a combination of old world with modern facilities, very comfortable and convenient to surrounding villages. For a long stay maybe a little more storage but perfect for the week or two.
Now about Will and Karen
My wife had a heavy fall in Sarlat and was taken to Perigueux Hospital where the orthopaedic surgeon pronounced that whilst a serious fracture of her hip she must just lie still for 3 months. Not good news or diagnosis so eventually we moved to Médipôle Garonne hospital in Toulouse, I may add, a fantastic hospital where Loraine had a full hip replacement and complicated surgery performed by Dr Nicolas Krantz
This meant I needed to get some accommodation close to Toulouse. By luck I found that Will's Huntley was available for the week and then the Hopkins the following week.
The Huntley spacious for two and with some re arrangement in the second bedroom will be adequate for another couple or I believe 3 children. There is a quirky feature, leave to you to discover.
When I moved to Hopkins, Loraine was being discharged and coming direct to the Gite rather than rehab so needed wheelchair accessible. Will got to in his workshop, made a ramp up into the bathroom, made a couple of ramps for the wheelchair pottie over the toilet, raised the double bed amongst many other little things.
On Loraine's arrival by ambulance,Karen and daughters Maddie and Tillie had placed a large vase of roses in the Gite. Nothing was too much for Will. As we needed level accommodation, Will shuffled his tenants around the gites enabling us to stay with the Hopkins except for one week back in Huntley. Frankly , I must honestly say that I do not believe we could have found any accommodation elsewhere that would have suited our needs. Will also suggested where we could get aides and medical services.
Camaran which is the nearby village with the boulangerie provided us with a wonderful nurse, Brigitte Plazzoles, physio Eric Bossert and GP Jean-Philippe Peuch.
Thank you Will and Karen, you enabled Loraine to recuperate under the best possible conditions

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts Will, Karen and daughters. My granddaughter Rachel now pals with Maddie and Tillie
Liked least: Having to drive to the boulangerie
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy J
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxed stay in the countryside of Southern France”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The owners are lovely, very friendly and relaxed. They offer excellent communication with prompt replies to emails. They were unfussy, friendly and helpful - you could not ask for better.

Our children are 3 and 5 and what we wanted was a self catering Gite with a swimming pool that was of decent size and which was located in the middle of open countryside. Which is exactly what we got. We find there's no point in having bars and restaurants and shops on the doorstep that we won't use because of the small children. What is far better is to have the ability to let them run around, in and out and up the garden without having to fear every minute that they are being abducted or mown down by a car. In this regard the Gite was excellent and we enjoyed going for little walks in the fields nearby.

We enjoyed a visit to a nearby lake and hired some pedallos. On two days of inclement weather we visited Carcassonne castle and the Toulouse space centre. The rest of the time was sunny and warm and we lounged about by the pool and had BBQs and chilled out. It worked well and we were able to use the wifi and access normal UK TV including the essential CBeebies and CBBC etc.

This area is not at all touristy and a car is essential. It suited us perfectly for this type of holiday and I feel it was good value and I genuinely liked the owners. It was an hours fairly easy drive from the Toulouse main airport and flights to Toulouse were amongst the cheapest I could find to France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation in open countryside so very secure with young children, no strangers, no cars.
Liked least: There's nothing to do near by within walking distance but we knew that and didn't mind.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing