We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous place!”
Review of Le Bistrot

Le Bistrot
Ranked #16 of 1,837 Restaurants in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marvelous place!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had dinner at this place. When we came here there were a lot of people and we had to wait. The waiter, as we knew later, the owner himself was very kind and friendly, he gave us a menu and translate it into English.
Don't hesitate to go to this place! Dishes are really tasty and the atmosphere great.
The sister of the waiter cooks all these dinners, and you have to wait for a little. But it really worth it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia_She_Che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    112
    21
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great time!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Dined here in August 2012, had a lovely experience. We only know the basics of french language so were relieved when the waiter was able to translate the whole menu to us, he was happy to take the time to do so even though he was really busy. Friendly atmosphere and a good quality menu without being complicated. I recommend it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billyl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dine Here”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We arrived in Toulouse after the long flight from Vancouver BC and on the day of the Summer Solstice celebration/music festival. To make a long story short, we were tired, frustrated, overwhelmed by the crowds and noise, etc. etc. Our hotel, near Alles Jean Jaures, recommended Le Bistrot to us.

When we arrived at Le Bistrot, Alexis greeted us at the door with a smile and a warm welcome. All of a sudden, our mood was brightening! Our first request was for a nice white wine. Alexis delivered a great soft yet crisp local wine that turned out to be modestly priced. He explained all of the menu options, sometimes checking with his sister, Gaelle, for specifics in English. Gaelle had been a chef in Washington DC before returning to Toulouse to partner with her brother.

We both had scallops. WOW! The taste was fantastic and the scallops just melted in our mouths. We didn't even have a chance to chew them. Done to perfection! As time permitted, Gaelle came out to greet us.

The atmosphere at Le Bistrot, the graciousness of Alexis and Gaelle, the quality of the food and wine were tremendous. Oh, we did return the next night with newly arrived friends to show off what we had found.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This place is situated in a quiet square near Allees Jean Jaures. There is indoor & outdoor seating. The husband runs the service, the wife cooks. The food is very high quality & very well prepared. The daily specials are also sometimes slightly unusual in terms of combination of flavours but they are very good. I've been here twice in the last 2 weeks, my colleagues have been here 4 times in the last month. Last time I had the pan fried foie gras with salad & a fig sorbet to start. Then I had the duck breast grilled on skewers with grilled aubergine & sorbets for dessert. The waiter talks to all the customers & really cares that you have a good meal & a good evening. He & his wife speak some English & are very willing to help if you don't speak French well or at all. There seem to be a lot of regular customers which is a very good sign. They do a menu of 3 courses for 25 euro. We ate a la carte & with a bottle of good wine it came to about 38 euro a head. Not the cheapest but very good quality for the price.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ghosttrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Wonderful food and fantastic service. I can still taste the gazpacho beautifully fresh and the tuna was equally good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merran97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot also viewed

Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Le Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing