We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveler rating
397
284
102
45
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
397
284
102
45
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square place du capitole electrical outlets spiral staircase excellent location wonderful hotel modern amenities valet parking excellent breakfast hotel breakfast good size would definitely stay here again central location comfortable bed the heart of the city deluxe room visiting toulouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 847 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2019

Very welcoming, everyone with a smile. Hotel is central but quiet in an older world all its own! Staff will do anything you ask. Definitely the place we stay when visiting Tououse for a night at the theatre!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HalAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComOpera, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear clients,
Thank you for letting us know that you have appreciated your stay at the Grand Hôtel de l'Opéra, smile and welcome by our staff and the central and quiet location.
Me and my team are looking forward welcoming you soon again, all the best regards from Toulouse,
Sandra Lampée, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

Fabulous hotel with that touch of luxury, friendly staff and located in the heart of the city. Beautifully decorated, clean and the room given was plush with a queen sized bed, aircon, and lovely bathroom. Recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComOpera, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Dear Peter,
We would like to thank you for your great feedback on Tripadvisor and are pleased to read that you have appreciated the staff of our welcome, the decoration, equippement of your room and the renovated bathroom.
We are looking forward welcoming you again.
Best regards from Toulouse and Happy Easter,
Sandra Lampée Baumgartner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

This hotel has one of the best locations for visiting Toulouse, being it is right on the Place de Capitole. Built several hundred years ago, the building has been used in many different forms from a monastery to Dance School to the current 4 Star Hotel. The space has expanded several times as the owners have acquired additional buildings that are attached. Today, it is a fine hotel, the staff is magnificent, the decor is very traditional, the breakfast room is quite large and the presentation for breakfast leaves little room for complaints. There are a few issues one should be aware of, 1 in some rooms due to the age of the building, there might be a few steps actually in the room leading the the bath area, so in booking you might want to ask about this. Other than that, I have only the best comments to make. Sandra the Director Generale is wonderful, all the staff is very professional and helpful. We will make this our hotel of choice in Toulouse.

Room tip: The Jr. Suites overlook the Grand Plaza du Capitole
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mitch w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComOpera, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2019

Dear Mitch,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a detailed feedback about your stay at the Grand Hôtel de l'Opéra in Toulouse.
My team and I have read your pleaseful comment and it's great to know that you and your wife have spent a lovely stay and make our hotel to "your hotel of choice" in Toulouse.
We are already looking forward welcoming you again next year in your favorite suite with the terrace.
Feel free to contact us directly to get the best deal.
We wish you a happy Easter and send you kind regards from the pink city
Sandra Lampée Baumgartner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

It is a stunning hotel, decorated in a very french way. Each room done in a different color motif. Just there for two nights but loved it. Service great and friendly, highly recommend it, plus ideal location!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank nancyr986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComOpera, Directeur général at Grand Hotel de l'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Dear Nancy,
We would like to thank you for your great feedback due to your stay at the Grand Hôtel de l'Opéra. We are pleased to read that you have appreciated the decoration, the service and the location and hope welcoming you soon again.
Best regards,
Sandra Lampée, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

Toulouse is home to the Airbus and all its associated bits and pieces involved in developing and building very sophisticated airplanes. It is also in the heart of France, a pivotal historical city at the crossroads of a great nation. So you would expect it to be a bit of a class act for visiting foreigners of whom there is a steady stream not just from europe but especially from China. A veritable flood in fact and I noticed that because I flew in from Shanghai.
What makes this city special is that even though it is infested with foreigners year-round the French are absolutely devoted to making every single one of them cognizant of the fact they are in France. The frenchness of the place is artfully and continually drubbed home to you as soon as you set foot on French soil. In fact when I chose the Grand to be my home for a few days it was precisely because I hoped the experience would once more remind me of all I love about france. The language, the people, the culture and of course the food and wine. But the crowds were not something I was expecting or remembered and Toulouse is pretty well packed year-round. Students and tourists, engineers, assembly line workers and many others make this a bustling cosmopolitan city which unfortunately was built hundreds of years ago to accommodate a cosmopolitan population but much much smaller. The extra hundreds of thousands have meant some radical re-thinking around the idea of maintaining character while exhibiting "la culture francais" and rejecting all non-French influences such as replacing the buildings that although spectacularly aged are hideously inconvenient to live in or to access due to the tiny streets. But if it has one overriding attribute it is Charm. This city has oodles of it just about anywhere the eye focuses and impractical as it all is with the occasionally disdainful attitudes to "etrangers" casting a shadow on mealtimes particularly, I chose this iconic hotel in the Town Square because it looked charming. Which it was.

But we live in the age of efficiency and the hotel has owners who saw the advantages of offering the authentic crumbling structure to visitors but were also aware that if they wanted to maintain a hefty price for the privilege of staying there something would have to be done. An early casualty was the hotel restaurant which mysteriously is still somehow made to sound as if it is part of the hotel. It is not, but it is on the doorstep and has a Michelin star. The other eatery that is convenient and by implication part of the hotel is the Brasserie de L'Opera. The only eating in the hotel is a breakfast room which like all breakfast offerings is not an attractive job for creative chefs or their staff but it produces adequate food. There is room service, an hotel bar which is unmanned for the most part and turn down. The rooms are richly furnished in the style of the "bourgeoisie" from the 19th century but with bathrooms and air-conditioning (not always a given in Europe). My two single beds were fine, we skipped breakfast to enjoy the early morning walks and there is a good subway that costs very little and will get you everywhere in the area. The nearest station is about five minutes from the hotel.

What should you expect of your stay? Well you can say you stayed at the prestigious Grand Hotel de L'Opera. You lunched in crowded restaurants filled with office workers enjoying the traditional two-hour lunch in some style. You dined in a series of indifferent local restaurants and you sat in the square in the late autumn sun with a glass of wine watching the ever-circling crowds. Its France, what did you expect?

Room tip: Street life starts early and ends very late or very early depending on. Avoid the rooms over the square.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews