We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, very flowery!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2008

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip, Im glad they paid as the hotel room was very expensive and a bit basic. the hotel is very very flowery, wallpaper, furniture, carpet etc. The staff were friendly and breakfast was ok, expensive though and in a room of mirrors, first thing in the morning, not good! The location must be the reason for the high price, as the local was very good on the edge of the place de capitol. There is pretty entrance to the hotel with a small swimming pool. My room was very yellow, and quite basic, at the top of a spiral staircase, not very good if you have a large case. It was ok, not that special not to justify the price.
I wouldnt stay there if I had to pay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 01stuff01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 686 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2007

This hotel is in a stupendous location--right smack in the middle of town. Hotel employees were without exception kind and helpful. They made a difficult stay bearable. The square that the hotel sits on is always busy, full of people (particularly students), hand cart sales, farmer's market, and bums. The square has restaurants all around the edges but did not feel safe to us at night.

We spent two nights in this hotel during a very hot spell. The air conditioning in our room simply could not keep up with the temperature outdoors. We baked. The room had red velvet wall paper and heavy red velvet curtains. It reminded me of something out of an antique bordello--or what I imagine one might look like. The hallways are very old, all exposed wood, and unfinished. Everything echoed and in spite of the padded walls we heard every whisper and foostep out in the hallways at night. We were definitely not impressed with the "ambiance" of the stairways and halls. The rooms were simply overwhelming and dark--like being in a cave or a padded cell.

Breakfast was not included in our very expensive room rate.

The public rooms on the main floor are quite pleasant but very "grand tour" and dated. We thought the restaurants were totally overpriced and ate elsewhere. The rooms were so expensive, we really thought we were going to be in a very special spot. Instead, it was nothing but one huge disappointment--and a very warm disappointment at that. We most certainly would not return. Ever.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dedphred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

We have just returned from a weekend break in Toulouse. Not by design (which is a long story!) we stayed at the Grand Hotel de L'Opera. What a gem. The staff were helpful, fantastic even before they informed us that they had a discount rate for our second night! Very helpful and genuinley friendly. The rooms were very clean and the bar areas were comfortable again with attentive staff.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank UkAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2006

We booked a superior room for a weekend stay in Toulouse and were pretty disappointed by many aspects of the hotel. We arrived late on Friday night and were quickly shown to what can only be described as a boudoir! Everything in the room was red - the walls, the carpet, the bed linens. It was oppressively dark and not very big. I rang the reception to ask to see another room and was shown to a bright yellow room! According to the bellboy every room in the hotel is in one of these two colour schemes. The yellow room was certainly brigher, however it was tiny, especially the bathroom, so we refused this one as well! Finally (to get rid of us I think) they showed us to an alleged "suite". This meant a larger room (probably what I would have expected from a superior room) with a separate sitting area. The bed was a standard double and not particularly comfortable. The bathroom had no shower (again, according to the bellboy, there are no rooms with separate showers in the hotel, not even "suites") and no shower curtain for the bath shower(he claimed for "reasons of hygiene"!?) The feel of the room and the hotel in general was faded and run-down. The inclusive breakfast was ok but not up to usual buffet standards (many things seemed to have run out even though we saw only six other people, the selection generally was very limited) and the lady on duty there was not particularly friendly to guests. The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is that it has a great location but we noticed there is a Crowne Plaza on the same side of the square and will certainly try that if we return to Toulouse in future.

Stayed: February 2005
9  Thank aristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2006

We are just back from a short stay in this hotel with its entrance on Place du Capitole. Great location for shopping, restaurants etc. Don't miss lunch on the first floor of the Victor Hugo market if you want to eat well and cheaply with the locals.
We had paid for a superior double room which was well furnished although the bathroom could have been larger. Breakfast included cereals, fruit, ham and cheese as well as a selection of breads and croissants. Hot food was limited with boiled eggs and omlettes available on request. We asked for omlettes the first morning and were asked if we were sure we would not prefer the streaky bacon and scrambled eggs which looked like they'd been there for a few hours. We did get the omlettes with a smile though. The amount of food available seemed very little for the size of the hotel but that may have been due to people booking on a room only basis as we met very few in the dining room.
Separate room with internet access and printing available at charge. Brasserie was very popular but we did not have time this trip to try it or the leisure area.
Staff we helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank winnieacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Frankfurt
21
Reviewed December 5, 2005

Well, stayed here last year had a room which was more of a suite for the bargain price of around €130 more or less.

Very french colonial and elegant the staff were friendly location is excellent.

All in all one of the best hotels I've stayed in for the price we paid.

Would definately recommend

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
842
Reviewed October 17, 2005

I have stayed at the Grand Hotel de L'Opera twice. The first, I was upgraded to a room with humming outside it all night so could not sleep. A shrug of the shoulders and a smile met my observation the next morning. The second, I forked out more and stayed in a wonderful room with the balcony overlooking the adjoining 2 michelin star restaurant. The staff are helpful when the mood strikes them. I have sinced tried to book further stays but my emails have been ignored. It turns out they were full and couldn't be bothered replying. The hotel has also ignored my repeated requests to credit my air mile account, as they said they would. A bit run down, erratic service and some wonderful rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Le Grand Balcon
#8 of 130 in Toulouse
589 reviews
Filatiers
La Cour des Consuls Hotel and Spa Toulouse - Mgallery Collection
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint Rome
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
Crowne Plaza Toulouse
#19 of 130 in Toulouse
989 reviews
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 130 in Toulouse
922 reviews
Wilson
Novotel Toulouse Centre Wilson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Opera

Address: 1 Place du Capitole, 31000, Toulouse, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Toulouse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Toulouse
#5 Family Hotel in Toulouse
#8 Business Hotel in Toulouse
#11 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range: $131 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel de l'Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel de l'Opera is located on the Capitole square in the heart of the "Pink city", 100 meters far from the Capitole subway station. This historical has a flowered court and also a spa, sauna, a hammam and massages. All our rooms are air conditioned and have a classic decoration. There is a free wifi connexion, satellite television, a minibar, a safe and a private bathroom with slippers and bathrobe. Suites offer a lounge area. The hotel accommodates 2 restaurants (a starred restaurant and a brasserie) which served a refined cooking. Furthermore, the hotel purposes a buffet breakfast. You can also have a drink in the bar. A reception 24h/24 opened with a valet parking service are available. You will be able to visit easily the main monuments of Toulouse. The hotel is located in front of the famous 'Theatre du Capitole" and 5 minutes far from the St Sernin basilica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Toulouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing