We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penny makes our day!”

Toulouse Walking Tours
Ranked #1 of 35 Tours in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Memorable English speaking walking tours around the city of Toulouse. We offer both Scheduled walks and Private Bookings. Our mission is to help you fall in love with 'La Ville Rose' through walking and talking!
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Penny makes our day!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked a tour with Penny when we visited Carcassone in July 2013. It sometimes takes me a while to get round to adding these reviews, but even now in December I can remember how enjoyable the tour was with Penny. It's only 2 hours and it seems to fly by as Penny is very knowledgeable about Toulouse; especially some of the quirky elements. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank yelnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny D, Owner at Toulouse Walking Tours, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Many Thanks for taking the time to post your review. It made my day to know that even a few months later the memories from the walking tour were still strong and providing enjoyment! Best wishes, Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Uncover Toulouse in two hours”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

For anyone who wishes to uncover the many layers of Toulouse's fascinating history, a Toulouse Walking Tour is a must. In 2 hours you will gain a great insight into this proud city's character, all thanks to Penny's enthusiastic and vivid descriptions of its past. It is an ideal city to discover on foot and Penny gives a wonderful overview of the main historical sites, without trying to overdo the facts and figures. She is an excellent guide who shares her deep knowledge of Toulouse generously. Highly recommended for anyone in Toulouse for a short break or even long-term -
it's amazing the amount of history you can walk past every day and not appreciate. Enjoy!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuthFiorentini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny D, Owner at Toulouse Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for writing your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the walk, unearthing Toulouse's history and hidden gems. As you say there is so much to discover, when you have the luxury of time! Best wishes, Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Walk this way!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

What can I add to the comments already posted? I don't think I can! The previous reviews have 'summed up' the quality of the experience with Penny most thoroughly! We had a fab two plus hours with Penny, bringing alive the history of Toulouse. Thanks Penny!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vron54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny D, Owner at Toulouse Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Many thanks for posting your review. I'm over the moon that you enjoyed your walking tour and discovering the history behind the sights in the city. I really do feel that I have the best job in the world! Best wishes, Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So enthusiastic, so helpful!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Suffice to say that Penny loves Toulouse, it's history, it's architecture, it's eating establishments, everything! We were lucky enough to have our Penny to ourselves and it was a delight to talk to her about the city and her experience of French life from an English person's perspective.

It's probably fair to say that most people don't think of Toulouse has a must-see but Penny's passionate affection for this important city in France's history changes all that. She is also happy to recommend places to eat around the city. After the tour we actually felt guilty we hadn't allowed more time to follow up some of her suggestions!

A cup of tea and freshly baked cake from her trolley while sitting in the old cloisters was so nice and so British!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jobbo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny D, Owner at Toulouse Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the walk with its 'so British' touches. As you say there are never enough hours to fit everything in on a trip to Toulouse - it has a way of pulling people back for return trips! Best wishes, Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Tour of unknown sites.”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Despite it being a dull wet day Penny Dickinson's tour of "The lesser known sites of Toulouse "was a triumph. Penny is extremely knowledgable about her subject. The tour lasted 2 hours with a break for tea and Penny's yummy homemade cakes ( made in the shape of the Cross of Lorraine),
This particular tour conveys aspects of the history of the city that tourists would be unable to find without doing extensive specialist research. The touched on many different aspects of the cities history and governance from medival times to to the Second World War and the résistance.
I strongly recommend that if you visit Toulouse you take one of Penny's tours in which will certainly enhance your. Is it to this lovely city.
It is also worth noting that she runs special tours for children.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny D, Owner at Toulouse Walking Tours, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Many thanks for posting your review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed & appreciated our Beyond the Postcard walk, discovering Toulouse's secret gems of history. Glad the tea & cakes went down well too! Best wishes, Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toulouse Walking Tours also viewed

 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Toulouse Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing