We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World's best walking tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toulouse Walking Tours

Toulouse Walking Tours
Ranked #1 of 30 Tours in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Memorable English speaking walking tours around the city of Toulouse. We offer both Scheduled walks and Private Bookings. Our mission is to help you fall in love with 'La Ville Rose' through walking and talking!
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“World's best walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was absolutely the best walking tour round a city we have experienced. On such tours, one often has a desire to sneak off half way. Today's weather was cold and wet, but we never even considered the sneaking off option. Penny is a warm enthusiastic and very well informed guide who does a great job and brings in very pleasing personal touches both in the commentary and in the fact that she knows the names of the customers instantly and also provides home made cakes and tea half way round. All in all it was more like being shown round by an enthusiastic and knowledgeable friend. We hope to see you again penny on our next trip to Toulouse and in the meantime will be recommending you to all our friends. You also, by the way, get star billing in today's posting on our blog. Many thanks, Ninian and Kathryn.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ninianom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny D, Owner at Toulouse Walking Tours, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Ninian & Kathryn & I appreciate the time you took doing so. I am over the moon that you enjoyed the walk & very glad you didn't consider 'the sneaking off' option! Many thanks too for the Blog rating. With best wishes, Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Toulouse, a beautiful city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

What a fabulous introduction to Toulouse! I'm not one to do "tours" but I am so glad I chose to do this walk. It was extremely informative and gave me a great appreciation for the history and wonderful architecture in Toulouse. There are plenty of opportunities to stop and rest and take photos along the way. I returned to some of the sites to explore further. Rather than wander around trying to get a 'feel' for the city, I felt this was a wonderful introduction and highly recommend doing it, whether you are here for a day or a week.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank topaz171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny D, Owner at Toulouse Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the history & architecture we talked about on the walk & am especially pleased you enjoyed the pace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Toulouse Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Penny’s Toulouse Walking Tour (www.toulousewalkingtours.com) is an absolute “must” whether you are in Toulouse for one day or a longer visit. She gives an overview with the right balance of interesting history, which gives one a very good appreciation for the sites. She also brings in stories and details that are interesting and bring alive the history of the area. Penny is extremely knowledgeable about the area and the history.

You end this tour with a feel of how to navigate the city, knowing what sites you may want to return to and see in more detail, and also with some good recommendations for restaurants and cafes.

The tour is a good pace for anyone, young or old, and there is tea and cake at about the halfway point in a lovely park. Having taken many tours over the years when travelling, this tour rates as one of the best.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PWS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny D, Owner at Toulouse Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed our walk & am thrilled you felt it was one of the best you'd done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to see Toulouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a perfect way to see Toulouse - whether for the first time or after many visits. Thank you, Penny, for a delightful morning and glimpse into Toulouse's rich history and culture. I would highly recommend Toulouse Walking Tours!

Helpful?
1 Thank ToulouseCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny D, Owner at Toulouse Walking Tours, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for writing a review, it is much appreciated. So pleased you enjoyed the walk & the morning as a whole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A exceptional walk into Toulouse's past. Marie, Hugh Peter & Mary/France, Germany&Canada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

In December of 2012, we had a most informative and exceptionally enjoyable view of Toulouse. We learned so much about its history from someone who had such enthusiasm. Penny was most generous with her knowledge and her sharing caused us to want to explore more on our own. Thank you, Penny.

Helpful?
1 Thank Faulkes7781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toulouse Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Toulouse Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing