We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnifique!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meet the Meat

Meet the Meat
Ranked #56 of 1,786 Restaurants in Toulouse
Price range: $19 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Belfort
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnifique!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was in Toulouse for three weeks with a recent work trip and returned to Meet the Meat twice.

Warm and friendly service from all of the waiters and waitresses, Jim the front of house guy is a great character.

Fantastic cuts of local steak with the tastiest dauphinois potatatos I have eaten. Both times I ordered the 'Rossini' Boeuf de Pavè with foie gras. House Red was a lovely accompaniment.

Often eat at steak restaurants in the UK, the cut of steak knocks the socks of that of the likes of Gaucho at half the price.

Try and book as they do get very busy in the evenings.



Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    568
    131
    48
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am starting to think that I am seriously out of step with the other users of Tripadvisor. I have just had lunch here and the starter was pretty weak while the steak was quite good but not great (rather tough and not enough flavour). I had a steak earlier in the week at ‘Au bon graillou’ (ranked 382 places below ‘Meat the Meat’) that was considerably better. Don’t believe the hype.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent simple menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've been to this restaurant twice now, once with some work colleagues and the second time with my boyfriend. Both visits were excellent, I admit I had the same thing twice, but they do serve my favourites: salade de gesiers and pavé de boeuf with foie gras. The sauces are amazing, the dauphinois potatoes a bit rich for me, but delicious nonetheless. The service was also brilliant and a great buzzing atmosphere with some nice jazz music - not too loud - in the background. Although I want to try as many restaurants as I can in Toulouse, this will be my backup to be sure to leave happy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaMDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Some of the nicest service I've ever had....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lovely waitress, very very helpful, she explained the menu well in English, as we only had pidgeon French. The food was perfect, simple, but delicious. The Gratin Dauphinois are great, and so are the french fries, if there are two of you, I recommend sharing a bit of each. The 12.50 lunch plate was excellent value and came with a free starter. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulinBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, decent food but service was poor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I booked a table as i had seen that this place could get busy. I booked a table for 1 and came back 30 minutes later.

Max showed me to my table. I sat there for twenty minutes waiting for a menu. I stopped one waitress who said 'i do not speak a word of English' in prefect English!! I stopped another lady and asked for a menu and a drink. I then waited about 15 minutes for the order to be taken. I was so thirsty and even an offer of some water would have been nice. Once the order was taken my starter came very quickly.

I opted for the roqefort salad that was very tasty and then went for the house special that was a fillet of beef with foie gras topping. It was very tasy but the meat was very tough.

I washed this down with a bottle of house corbieres that was lovely.

They were very busy but there is no excuse for very poor service. I have been to many a restaurant that if full to the brim and is still able to provide first Class service. There is no excuse for this!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CardiffCymrocymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meet the Meat also viewed

Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Meet the Meat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing