We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic, very loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Anatole France
Ranked #117 of 129 Hotels in Toulouse
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very basic, very loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

First of all, the location is excellent. it is a short 7 minute walk to the city center. That being said, the place has many problems. the rooms are quite small and the toilets and showers are tiny (like an airplane toilet). The main problem is noise - both in and out - every door slamming and every flushing of water in the hotel can be heard in the room, and also the noise from the main street is very very loud.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    4
    7
    13
See reviews for
3
10
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had my first impression when I entered the hotel as we had to carry the luggage ourselves up the stairs.. there was no one except the receptionist. My friends were luckier as they had a WC in their rooms. I had to use the only WC which was available in the lobby floor with other residents. When busy I had to go upstairs look for a WC available. I was luckier than my friends though when it comes to Wifi connection as it was mostly available in the lobby floor where I was staying. The wifi quality was very poor in the other floors. The breakfast consists of a coffee or tea two pieces of croissants and a bottled juice which I only had once as it didn't taste good. Since there is between one and two people max at the hotel it happened that I kept waiting for 45mn for someone to come and serve breakfast after I rang from the reception phone. I couldn't sleep well since there was no AC and it was constantly noisy outside. The receptionists were okay otherwise there was a complete absence of service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarashaTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toulouse hotels

Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The best is the location, right across from the university and 2 blocks from the Capitole. Rooms are simple but clean and the bathrooms are tiny but at least they exist. Some rooms are right above the street, so it can be noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostroptrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you look at the info at booking.com, for example, the information is not true. The hotel does not have any lift/elevator, you'll have to carry your luggage up the narrow stairs. Wi-fi is available only on the floor of the lobby. Breakfast is just one cup of coffee and a couple of croissants. Ah, and a glass of some strange juice resembling orange juice a little. If you want another cup of coffee, you have to pay additional 1,5 euros. No air conditioning.
AND VERY VERY NOISY! Even if you don't open the window, you will hear every sound from the outside (and there are a lot - from the shouting of drunk guys from the cafe downstairs to the early morning traffic) as if all this is happening in your room.

The receptionist was very friendly, but this is the only advantage of the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bugaguli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights in March; while the lady at the desk is always nice and pleasant, the hotel itself needs a lot of TLC to bring it up to even it's 1-star rating - the was a strong smell of mold in the room, there is zero sound-proofing and the washroom was quite dirty. Also, the price (75 eur) per night is fairly steep for the type of hotel this is. Would not stay there again!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolero200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel Anatole France was exceptional. The staff did everything to accommodate me during my transition from hotel resident to citizen of Toulouse. I am so happy that I found this hotel. It is in a safe, beautiful neighborhood and for " hyper centre" location, you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

One night at this hotel left me feeling exhausted, more so that the six days cycling it took to get there! The area is very noisy, although the bar below is quiet after midnight: the main problem is that you can hear every sound being made within the hotel. And don't take up the offer of the sister hotel, the Bernard Arnaud - the square in front of that was littered with bottles and cans when we passed it early the next day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElEmSee1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toulouse hotels
Taur
Hotel Saint Sernin
Hotel Saint Sernin
#38 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Taur
Hotel Le Capitole
Hotel Le Capitole
#89 of 129 in Toulouse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Arnaud Bernard Hotel
#65 of 129 in Toulouse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belfort
Hotel Victor Hugo Toulouse
Hotel Victor Hugo Toulouse
#103 of 129 in Toulouse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Raymond IV
Hotel Le President
Hotel Le President
#80 of 129 in Toulouse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Hotel de Brienne
#10 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anatole France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anatole France

Property: Hotel Anatole France
Address: 46 Place Anatole France, 31000, Toulouse, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 129 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Anatole France 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Anatole France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing