We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great day out for all ages”

Parc de la Prehistoire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ENJOY A UNIQUE EXPERIENCE FROM PREHISTORIC TIMES! In our activity workshops you will be able to learn to hunt, paint, prepare flints and light a fire, just the way they used to do it 14,000 years ago! And in the 'Grand Atelier' - a museum dedicated to Prehistoric Art - you will be able to watch films, and see objects and facsimiles of Niaux Cave's 'Salon Noir', the 'Forbidden Niaux' and the Marsoulas Cave. THE GIANTS OF THE ICE AGE Discover species emblematic of prehistoric times in a steppe-like landscape: a Cave Lion, a Steppe Bison, an Irish Elk and a Mammoth. The visit ends with a playful module inviting you to pit yourselves against these animals with games and original experiences. English audio guides The participative workshops are covered and stay opened whatever the weather.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
177 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A great day out for all ages”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A super venue where visitors of all ages can happily spend several hours. There is an excellent restaurant on the site offering good food at affordable prices (13 euros for two courses and 16 euros for three courses).

Earphones offering a commentary in a variety of languages are available for the exhibits in the main centre and an explanatory leaflet is provided in English covering the exhibits within the grounds of the park where there are demonstrations of flint knapping, fire lighting, spear throwing and cave painting. The presenters are brilliant at pitching the explanations at a level that appeals to all ages and children love the opportunities to participate in spear throwing and cave painting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank André l'Anglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    105
    29
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Cuenca, Spain
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very informative and nicely attended”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Definitely worth visiting. I had wondered if it was going to be sort of Disney-like, but not at all. Very good information, complementing what one can see in the caves in this beautiful region. We were given very nice and interesting tour of the campsites by a well-studied young woman. The museum is well set up and the audio-guide in several languages allows you to listen to a bit and move on or listen more in detail. A beautiful spot nestled in the mountains of Ariège. I just would have preferred that the waterfall had been made with real rocks, it would have gained a lot.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiii-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Educational and entertaining”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We visited the place in October 2013 and our 4-year old enjoyed it a lot. There is a small museum and a lot of outdoor features like a music maze, place where kids can paint on the wall, a cave ( to be pre-ordered).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadaBuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Well worth a detour”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was much bigger and more informative then I anticipated and I'm so glad we included it in our plans. The museum is really well organised with audio headphones included in the admission fee which allow you to experience the inside exhibits in your own language. There is an amazing amount of information inside and the reproductions of the cave paintings are fascinating. Outside is great for wandering around learning about the different aspects of the period - some clever ideas like the musical maze.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
235 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

When my friend, who is an archaeologist specialising in rock art, recommended the Parc, I knew we had to visit. The Grand Atelier is excellent with wonderful exhibits and a good audio guide in English. The demonstration areas around the Parc are very good, especially the one showing flint knapping and fire starting. Especially if you can't visit Niaux and some of the other rock art caves, you must visit the Parc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UltimateWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc de la Prehistoire also viewed

 
Tarascon-sur-Ariege, Ariege
 

Been to Parc de la Prehistoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing