We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this”

Parc de la Prehistoire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ENJOY A UNIQUE EXPERIENCE FROM PREHISTORIC TIMES! In our activity workshops you will be able to learn to hunt, paint, prepare flints and light a fire, just the way they used to do it 14,000 years ago! And in the 'Grand Atelier' - a museum dedicated to Prehistoric Art - you will be able to watch films, and see objects and facsimiles of Niaux Cave's 'Salon Noir', the 'Forbidden Niaux' and the Marsoulas Cave. THE GIANTS OF THE ICE AGE Discover species emblematic of prehistoric times in a steppe-like landscape: a Cave Lion, a Steppe Bison, an Irish Elk and a Mammoth. The visit ends with a playful module inviting you to pit yourselves against these animals with games and original experiences. English audio guides The participative workshops are covered and stay opened whatever the weather.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

When my friend, who is an archaeologist specialising in rock art, recommended the Parc, I knew we had to visit. The Grand Atelier is excellent with wonderful exhibits and a good audio guide in English. The demonstration areas around the Parc are very good, especially the one showing flint knapping and fire starting. Especially if you can't visit Niaux and some of the other rock art caves, you must visit the Parc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UltimateWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    108
    31
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fun, food and knowledge for all ages”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Really good. Lots for children, but we disagree with some reviewers and think there's lots for all ages both outside, in the restaurant and in the superb museum / display. Definitely worth a visit before going to Niaux, will help your understanding.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WTT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Lesson in Prehistory”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This park and museum is dedicated to the prehistory that visitors will soon see in the caves nearby. Parts of the Niaux cave are reproduced inside the museum, including the parts that are not open to the public. Reproductions of artifacts associated with the cultures that made the cave paintings are on exhibit. A headset with an English version of all the information about the exhibits comes with the price of admission. The museum was an excellent prelude to my visit to the Niaux cave, and I wished I had had time to come back to the Parc de la Prehistoire after I had been inside the cave. Outside, there are are exhibits and demonstrations relating to life in the Paleolithic era--I did not have time for these, which I regretted. Don't miss this really well done museum and park!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarquinvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Level Contributor
408 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Must see before touring Niaux Cave”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Exceptionally well-done museum of cave life should serve as a prelude to a visit to the actual cave. There are exhibits on early man and his artifacts that were found nearby. The museum is laid out as a cave and has multilingual audio tour headsets. Suitable for all ages from 3 to 103. Small restaurant on location. Gift shop. Situated about 15 minutes from the Niaux Cave (reservations required +33 5 6105-1010) Big outdoor area with some period reenactments.
This is one of the world's most important historical sites.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“exquisite setting”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

probably the best display and information on pre-historical life and art a plus is the beautiful setting

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank globalartlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc de la Prehistoire also viewed

 
Tarascon-sur-Ariege, Ariege
 

Been to Parc de la Prehistoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing