We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Des Voyageurs(Rocamadour)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$118
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$116
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amadour Hotel(Rocamadour)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Noyeraie(Rocamadour)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Troubadour(Rocamadour)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Vieilles Tours(Rocamadour)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Domaine de La Rhue(Rocamadour)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
65
186
89
45
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
186
89
45
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach tourfrench husbandsmall lifta bit tiredenglish ladycroissantsold villagerooms are spotlessly cleantourist shopsbe visiting againother guestsstayed two nightsclose to the hotelthere is no air conditioninghotel entrancemain streetfantastic food
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 416 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We loved the location on the main street of Rocamadour, and the views from the small balcony was stunning. Other that that this place is poor. It needs renovation badly, Room was small with uncomfortable bed. Has a tiny lift so we took the stairs with their wobbly handrails, There was a very inconvenient step that we regularly tripped over when entering the main part of the room. Bathroom was small and badly designed. We have stayed in many hotels that are of a similar price and got much better than this. Lots of noise from outside, but no air con so we had to open window anyway

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tubeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

(late Apr-2012, for 2 nights)
It was about 320km from Oloron St Marie to Rocamadour where we stayed. The last 1.5 hours drive was across valleys with pain view of farm. Then suddenly the rock slope where buildings are built against showed up at the last turn. Magnificent view, great history, indeed.

Finding Hotel Lion D’Or was easy as it is just as almost right after the entrance of stone arch. Parking is about 2 minutes' walk from main arch, which very close to hotel entrance. Her restaurant is across the hotel building. We were allocated room-103. Great wifi connection, with which I get to update mailboxes, etc. Staffs are friendly, room was neat and clean, with sufficient hot tap water and heating system.

Dinner was great and sumptous. Cahors black-red wine was of a very nice dry-type and easy on me as soury taste scares me off. A must try and the staff will be more than happy to recommend.

As we drove up-n-down the valleys, we come across a local foie gras shop, with a friendly gentleman. He made effort to explain to us with our very limited understanding. We bought a few cans and a truffle, tempted at the sight. We had super limited luggage space as we brought golf bags this time….. Too bad. The shops along the main street as hotel also offers a very great selection of foei gras and Cahor wines, among others at very reasonable price - to our delight.

Location: right inside the main street of this beautiful town, next to night-view train boarding stop, great access to Grottes du Lacave and a few others interesting spots

Amenities: heater works well, basic soap for hand basin and liquid type in shower box,
Meals: wonderful with good recommendation for wines - do not miss Cahor wine
Parking: ropes is pulled across the car park, after passing the main arch - we helped ourselves to a spot just so we needed not walk back-n-forth after checking in. Otherwise, really limited in number.

Room Tip: Room-103 is next to a large bar-n-common area and in front of elevator and a nearby staircase leads to main entrance door also. Yet, we slept well and the bar area was not in use during our 2 nights. Not sure if it would affect quietness if it was. We were happy then.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SmileyPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed here in 2008 as part of our honeymoon & the owners were fantastic, food excellent and accommodation far better than most we had stayed in. So we have returned throughout the next few years and the improvements are far better than the 2 stars it has been awarded. The owners surpass helpful, they have gone out of their way to make sure each stay is perfect, offering great advice and chatting like old friends. The food really is very very good and although we have our favourites, it is hard to make a choice between the different delicious dishes (even though the walnut sauce is still my favourite!). A very good regional wine list and the food compliments each choice as well. A credit to them both, you can see the love and hard work that has gone into this great family owned and run hotel & restaurant. I would recommend this to anyone, couples, families and single travellers. Rocamadour is not a destination for less mobile as it is all cobbled and steep hillsides, which in my mind gives it it's unique character in a stunningly beautiful location.

Room Tip: I really liked the first floor rooms that look out the front, as they have great views, but some rooms to the rear are larger so it depends on what people want really. Best to ask advice from the lady on reception.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stopped here as part of a Leger coach holiday. The location is very impressive, almost magical on 1st approach. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the top floor (3rd) it has very dated decor, creaky floorboards, flies everywhere, no aircon etc. The shower head is leaky and problamatic. The evening meal was very good, and can not be faulted. However for breakfast the food was laid out, continental style as you would expect, but it was unedible due to the fact that it was covered in flies!!, there was no attempt to cover the food, how can you be expected to eat food when it is covered in flies!!!.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EdK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

rooms more like small cupboards, hot without any climate control, one ancient inefficient lift, no disabled facilities, owners indifferent, bathroom so small it's challenging, badly needs refit, food extremely poor quality and barely edible, restaurant very cramped making movement difficult - in short,guest comfort compromised in the ultimate quest for maximum profit

Room Tip: cramped, hot, badly in need of refit
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daisydaydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews