We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER AGAIN - will tell our friends.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Lion d'Or
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Rocamadour
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN - will tell our friends.”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

my sister and I stayed at this hotel. We were given a tiny room at the end of the third floor which in our opinion was like a cell. Dark, dingy, wardrobe so tiny we did not unpack for a week. Shower room grubby with what looked like mould in corners plus leaking shower. They did fix the shower hook but shower still leaked and shower head fell off onto the floor within a few days. Food (we were with a coach party so could have been "made for us") absolutely awful - so bad that we ate only two meals and ate out in the town for the rest of our holiday. The hotel is, i am told, being redecorated and if this is the case this room should never have been used as a gues room as it was not "fit for purpose".

Room Tip: do not accept room 314
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie&Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    115
    55
    34
    26
See reviews for
62
133
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I'm not sure if this is the medium to refute previous posts, BUT,
The Hotel was old, but so is the town. Our room had recently been refurbished and was
absolutely first rate, clean and comfortable, housekeeping kept the room absolutely immaculate. Views from our balcony were out of this world. Public rooms were in character with the town, old, tasteful and comfy.
Restuarant was again in character with the town and the food was great, well prepared and well presented. No adverse effects felt by anyone in our party. Not one case of bad tummies reported.
Sally her husband, went way beyond the call of duty to keep us happy and comfortable, spoke English to us throughout.
Would happily return again.

Room Tip: E mail Sally at hotel and ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobfromLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The only thing I can say about this hotel is please do not eat in the restaurant! I can only be thankful for small mercies as I chose to stay on the side of caution (as I am pregnant) although my mother did not and chose the scallop starter, she has now been in bed for two days with confirmed food poisoning. I have spoken to the chef who has offered no explanation or compensation. It seems like such a shame as we are only here for a few days and the holiday has been ruined. Unless it was the toast she had for breakfast (which I shared) then I'm afraid this restaurant is most definitely the culprit. Very disappointed and rather largely out of pocket for the privilege! (From someone who has never complained!!!!) :(

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lion46, Propriétaire at Hotel du Lion d'Or, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
I can only say that I was completely shocked to read your comments. As the chef explained to you we follow extremely strict guidelines with regard to health and hygeine. We hold an annual contract with a laboratory who visit us every month (of course without prior notification) to take away and test samples of food and take samples from work surfaces. Our laboratory are very interested to see a report from your doctor with details of the food poisoning. The chef checked the terrine when you came to speak to him the next day and we also checked with clients from the hotel who had eaten from the same terrine and noone else was ill or anything out of the ordinary found. We urgently need to get to the bottom of this matter so look forward to receiving your doctors report.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rocamadour hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bintree
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Excellent arrival quick luggage delivery. Rooms ok had worse., but view amazing.
Staff great , owners spared no effort to welcome and make at home. Never had a bad meal in a Logis and this was no exception. Would love to visit again, oh and yes the lift Otis did work well, bit tight for more tan two. Rocadamour is an amazing place

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelquestBintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Spent two enjoyable days/nights, thanks to very welcoming owner Sally (Briitish) and her staff. Excellent food, (b/fast and evening meals.) Hotel is old and full of character. Bedrooms very comfortable and well appointed (Good shower/toilet facilities). Dining room has spectacular viewing over the adjacent gorge.
Hotel ideally situated in the resort

Thoroughly recommend.

Norman Rendle, Cardiff.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motorvanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We stayed two nights, we were treated royally and made to feel part of the family. The food in the restaurant was first class and being in the heart of the old village was just stunning. We will return to Rocamadour many times and I know we will always be made to feel welcome at the Lion d'Or. Thanks to you both Sally and Manu.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caprontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gers
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stayed 3 nights here. Hotel has character but rooms are tired and in urgent need of a little refurbishment (however, the owners are relatively new and I believe the hotel is slowly undergoing revamp during quiet periods). Restaurant is good with staff both professional and friendly. Overall value is okay

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagicatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rocamadour hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beau Site Notre Dame
0.4 mi away
Amadour Hotel
Amadour Hotel
#5 of 17 in Rocamadour
318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Relais Amadourien
Relais Amadourien
#4 of 17 in Rocamadour
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Terminus des Pelerins
Le Terminus des Pelerins
#9 of 17 in Rocamadour
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lion d'Or

Property: Hotel du Lion d'Or
Address: Cite Medievale, 46500 Rocamadour, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Rocamadour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Rocamadour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Lion d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing