We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget choice”
Review of Amadour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amadour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Rocamadour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in Sept. and was very surprized by the quality accomodation considerating the price. Bright, clean, cheery room, terrace was great for sunset and breakfast, lots of very hot water and free parking. Bed was very comfortable. Our hosts are very helpful with great restaurant suggestions and sightseeing info.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadourhotel, Propriétaire at Amadour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for having taken the time to share your kind remarks about our hotel. We are very pleased to know that you've enjoyed your stay. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests because we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
Your satisfaction is our best encouragement,
We look forward to your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Matthieu GIETHLEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 352 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is run by a very pleasant couple. They picked me up and dropped me off at the shared train station (Rocamadour/Padirac). The room was comfortable and clean and had a small terrace. They were very helpful with getting me a taxi to the Gouffre de Padirac and knowledgeable about things to do in the area. HIghly recommended. It is a 10 minute walk either to the privately owned chateau at the top of Rocamadour or down the Voie des Saintes to the medieval village of Rocamadour so the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Refgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadourhotel, Propriétaire at Amadour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for having taken the time to share your opinion about our hotel. We are very pleased to know that you've enjoyed your stay. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and your satisfaction is our best encouragment.
We look forward to your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Matthieu GIETHLEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is 2mins lovely walk from the village of Rocamadour itself, it is very clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom, toiletries and towels.The owner of the hotel was very helpful and informative about the area and spoke very good Englishand helped us bring in our luggage(its those little personal touches that count).Breakfast was good and plenty of it as much tea and coffee as you wanted and a good choice of cheese bread fruit yogurts cereal etc.We sat out on the terrace at night enjoying the peace of the area, watching the world go by drinking a bottle or two of wine , which when the owner saw us bring in asked if we would like to borrow a corkscrew or bottle opener, As i have visited Rocamadour on several occasions i would reccomend you stay here above the village avoiding the hustle and bustle noise and crowds of the village itself.It is a few mins walking distance of all Rocamadors attractions (Eagle sanctuary well worth a visit)There are various routes down to the village including short trip on a little train if prefered to walking.Very enjoyable but short stay.We had no trouble finding the hotel its well signposted and reception has door bell and after hours pass code but do agree great price.We definately had a most enjoyable stay. Thanks

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace table and chairs and sit outside your room with a bottle and watch the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadourhotel, Propriétaire at Amadour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We are very pleased to know that you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
We look forward to your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Matthieu GIETHLEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a little trouble finding this hotel as it is not in Rocamadour, but very close. Be sure to have a good map as well as instructions before you go. You will need a car to get here because there is no train station. That being said, it is very close to Rocamadour, and this town has a nice overlook of the city that is beautiful by night.

Hotel Amadour is a basic, no frills hotel, but it is a great price and in a great area. Pay attention to reception hours when booking as they are only open a limited number of hours. They can make special exceptions if you let them know ahead of time. The receptionist was very polite and had several good suggestions for visiting the area. We stayed on the top floor (no elevator) in a minimal, but spacious four-bed room. The shower was very small. Internet is free, but you must get a new code every few hours. There is a nice balcony area on the second floor with tables and chairs. Breakfast is not included, but available for a price. Restaurants in the area have unusual operating times, but there is a grocery store which was a life saver.

If you are just looking for a clean, quiet place to stay in the Dordogne, this will be a perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Now4voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Without a reservation, we were able to stay at this lovely hotel. The owners couldn't help us enough, with our needs and made us feel very welcomed. The room was very clean and comfortable. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Amadour Hotel was lovely. We had a 3 person room with a terrace and it really added to our trip. At night we would sit out, look at the myriad of stars and drink a bottle of local wine. The staff was incredible...what a friendly and attentive couple. We didn't have a car and so they drove us to the train station in theirs! Every morning they had great advice about things to do in the area that we could do without a vehicle. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the terrace!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

room very basic, small shower, reception does not open until 7.45 and so an early getaway is not possible

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamsbs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadourhotel, Propriétaire at Amadour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Dear Mr Graham,
Thank you for staying at Amadour hotel and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is with great regret we read that your stay was not to your expectations. We were very concerned regarding your comments about the opened times, reception is opening from 7:45 AM to 8 PM but when I have a guest request for an early breakfast I’m coming when he wants.
I'm entirely at guest disposal, and I try to find the best solution for offering a nice stay in my hotel.
About our room the showers have a standard size and since last month we have new queen size bed in the balcony room and new duvet in all the rooms.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Amadour hotel and to show you that the hotel has the services you have been missing.
We look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Matthieu Giethlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rocamadour hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
0.6 mi away
Relais Amadourien
Relais Amadourien
#3 of 17 in Rocamadour
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Esclargies
Hotel Les Esclargies
#2 of 17 in Rocamadour
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Belvedere
Le Belvedere
#12 of 17 in Rocamadour
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Lion d'Or
Hotel du Lion d'Or
#10 of 17 in Rocamadour
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadour Hotel

Address: Place de l Europe, 46500 Rocamadour, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Rocamadour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Rocamadour
Price Range: $61 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amadour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amadour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing