We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing & peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Les Esclargies
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Rocamadour
Certificate of Excellence
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relaxing & peaceful”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although it took us awhile to find the hotel on driving into Rocamadour (didn't realise it was above/overlooking the town) once we arrived the experience was really lovely. our room was on the ground floor with patio doors and an outside semi private seating area and the swimming pool just behind us (although it was still too cool to swim!) The room was really comfortable, modern and relaxing. It felt a bit like a boutique hotel experience, and very at one with nature. We had breakfast both mornings which was a great continental selection and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Although we did go to the tourist information shop just down the road for a map of the town as their English was not very good at hotel.
Although this hotel is outside the main town I would still recommend it as it is only a short walk down to the town, with great sights on the way and there are also lift facilities up/down too.

Room Tip: Our downstairs room was perfect as we had a nice outside area, although the upstairs ones do have sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiecjunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    116
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
80
273
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
argyll
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A very pleasant hotel, modern facilities. Welcome was nice, along with good info re Rocamadour lift opening times and places to see. Breakfast was good, area is lovely. Its a good base for the local area, quiet.
The village of L'Hospitalet is worth a visit ... (out hotel, turn right, straight past t junction, 300m) ... especially for dinner.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mok983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed due to reading reviews and were not disappointed. Great hotel staff excellent rooms very clean and great to have separate toilet. Breakfast was very good and lovely lounge area. Can visit the village below which is amazing place then return to the hotel and believe you are staying out in the country. Walk to bars and restaurants takes minutes and parking the car in the grounds were it is safe is very important.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ROBYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A very good location right above Rocamadour. Staff are very welcoming and helpful. The Hotel is new very clean and the rooms whilst simple are very comfortable with a good shower and separate loo. Parking was really good. Overall it was just what we wanted, not too expensive but really good value.
We would go out of our way tp stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel was modern, smart, and an efficient welcome. The bedroom was very clean and had full en-suite facilities. It was a little on the small side, and did not have two comfortable chairs to sit on. However there was a guest lounge. Free Wi-Fi was available. There were hot drinks available when reception was open, but not when reception was closed. In March (when we stayed) and there was not that many other places open, it would have been better if guests had facilities provided so they could access hot drinks at any time. This hotel only provides bed and breakfast accommodation, and so it is necessary to go out for your evening meal etc. In March there were a limited number of other establishments open. Breakfast offered a good selection, attractively set out, and we considered the value acceptable at 12 Euros.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is placed on the top of the city. Near by there is a fantastic view. It is situated in a walking distance to the center of the city. It is very charming and confortable. They have great breakfast.

Would return for sure.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aleksvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rampieux, france
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here in october 2012 with my son and his girlfriend. Its on the clifftop above the medieval town of Rocamadour. Its am amazing place with 11 churches/chapels buit into the rockface and a chateau at the top. We wanted to see it at night as its illuminated at night, so this hotel was ideal as its walking distance of the town. The hotel is modern, lots of open glass and very good value, but does not do evening meals . Its set in a nice wooded parkland setting, so dogs are welcome. standard rooms are quite small but modern and clean. there is an outdoor pool, but closed in October.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rocamadour hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Beau Site Notre Dame
0.3 mi away
Amadour Hotel
Amadour Hotel
#5 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Relais Amadourien
Relais Amadourien
#4 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Les Vieilles Tours
Les Vieilles Tours
#6 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Belvedere
Le Belvedere
#7 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Esclargies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Esclargies

Property: Hotel Les Esclargies
Address: Route de Payrac | 46500, 46500 Rocamadour, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Rocamadour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rocamadour
#3 Family Hotel in Rocamadour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Esclargies 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Les esclargies is on the top of Rocamadour at 300m to the chateau and 300m to the main office center. Located in the heart of a oaks park, the hotel have a private parking . All our bedrooms have private bathroom (bath or shower), with heated rail, hairdryer, and toilets. Our customers have the possibility of choosing individually the temperature of their room (heating or air conditioning). All the rooms have flat screen television, free internet access. We have 2 privilege rooms accessible to the people with reduced mobility. In our lounge, near the chimney, a computer is available free of charge for customers who would like to connect to Internet. Our outside swimming pool is opened during the summer season. The breakfast is served in the form of warm buffet with fruit juice, yoghurt, fresh fruit and dried fruits, cereal, croissants and similar products, fresh bread, jams, honey, homemade cakes, cheese, scrambled eggs, smoked bacon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Les Esclargies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Esclargies Rocamadour
Les Esclargies Hotel Rocamadour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing