We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the tourist facade, this town is well worth the visit”
Review of Cite Religieuse

Cite Religieuse
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Rocamadour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Ignore the tourist facade, this town is well worth the visit”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

i have read a few constructive reviews on the Cite and the town and would support most of them. Really worth seeing and if you are able to walk, parking at the top (Hotel de la Chateau) and walking both up and down to the town via the Cite is a good half day out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TFJ_301J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    865
    475
    107
    34
    16
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hillside perfection - Rocamadour .”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Rocamadour is glued to the side of a rock face....like a limpet....or so it seems at first sight.
It's beautiful, busy and bold. I'm sure everyone has seen the photos, I had - but still wasn't prepared for the visual impact of this spectacular medieval village.
Assuming that you've arrived in your own transport...... I suggest if you come in from the east - via L'Hospitalet and park up near the tourist information office....you can see the whole panoramic setting of the town from a viewing point that is breathtaking. Then take a while to visit the old chapel that remains from the pilgrim's hospital , in it is a statue of the 'Black Virgin' ...the original being in the main village religious church high up on the cliffs.
From there it's either stay up on top and visit the main religious centre or drop down into the valley below , park alongside the trees, and it's a short walk into the very pretty shopping and restaraunt area. There is a lift to the top if required...... Go early or late to avoid the crowds .
Finally, still assuming that you have wheels, take the 10 mile/16 km journey to the town of Gramat, find the rail station and opposite is the excellent hotel and restaurant of the Le Relais Gourmands. It's well worth it for the well cooked and good value food served in pleasant surroundings by a wonderful owner and excellent staff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited Rocamadour on the strength of other Trip advisor comments. I am so glad we did, but some reviews didn't do it justice. To just view the town from the bottom of the valley is breathtaking and worth the visit alone. There is plenty of parking at the bottom of the valley, but we drove back to the top and parked next to the Chateau. For 2 Euro you can walk along the remaining ramparts of the Chateau. Not too good for anyone disliking heights. From there we strolled down a windy incline down to the Cathedral, which is half built into the rock face. We then meandered through the town streets, which made me feel that I had gone back in time (apart from what the shops were selling). The buildings have scarcely been changed in the last few hundred years. After drinks and ice creams, we continued down to the bottom once more, then found the steps to take us back upto the town before again walking up the slopes back to the car park. There is also a little train for those who walking is difficult or tiring.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This place can get insanely crowded, which cuts down the religious experience if you are going there as a pilgrim. However, as a sightseer, this place is amazing, and well worth a visit.
The best parking is right at the top of the cliff, near 'le Chateau' restaurant. Follow the signs for the restaurant and keep going until you reach the end of the road, where you'll find a large car park near the 'ascenseur' (the lift to take you up and down the mountainside). The lift is €4 for a return journey, but this only takes you halfway down! You need to pay another €3 if you want a return journey on the second lift that takes you right down to the medieval city at the bottom. The one place you have to pay to get into is the cliff top citadel that looks very Knights Templar. It's right a the top of the cliff near the car park i mentioned and has staggering views down to the village below. Don't throw anything off from here, or you'll surely kill someone below!! Not good if you are afraid of heights. Amazing views. €2 entry to walk the ramparts.
Another tip: have lots of 50c pieces for the toilets, and be prepared to wait in queues.
The churches and buildings all over the cliff face are amazing, and the relisious history stretches back over 1000 years, as kings and nobles have journeyed here since the 11th century. You'll see the site of the tomb of St Amadour (purportedly) and the famous Black Madonna, dated from the 9th century, which was supposedly carved by the sai t himself. Lots of things to see and do, but if you want the English explanation, read up on the Internet beforehand.
The narrow lane of shops is also great, but very touristy. I wish I could have been there at night to see the place lit up.
Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rizuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very interesting area and buildings , loverly walk to the top to visit the church etc Nice restaurants and shops . Lots of steps but not a problem if you take it slowly because there are lots of nice views

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cite Religieuse also viewed

 

Been to Cite Religieuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing