We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so close to being excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“so close to being excellent”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a three night stay, the hotel is one of the best we have stayed in. The food was very nice as were most of the staff however like a previous comment on here a person in the bistro let's it down they know who they are, and its a shame. It should be pointed out to her that manners ( a smile ) and a little bit of friendliness would not go amiss. My wife and I work very hard for our holiday breaks, and as we both work in the service industry know what we are talking about. Apart from that first night in the bistro it was a very nice relaxing stay. Please note to the manager don't reply you need more info as I'm sure you don't.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MiddlesbroughDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    238
    74
    32
    9
See reviews for
89
302
16
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed here for 2 days on a business trip, the hotel itself had a classical feel to it with lots of outdoor space to sit and relax. The rooms were roomy and well equipped and no problems with the Wi-Fi connection.
The staff ( particularly reception) were very friendly & helpful and the food was excellent, although the breakfast room was a little crowded. There is plenty of car parking space.
My only complaints were the air conditioning in my room wouldn't go below 21c and very few English TV channels.
I would stay here again if ever on holiday in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grinch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is well located close to the old heart of Montauban. It is easily found and there is ample secure parking. Wi-fi signal was good. Contrary to some of the reviews I've read there were few grim faces. The receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable with all the facilities you would expect in a four star hotel. We dined in the Bistro and again the experience was good overall. The food was excellent. The wine a tad expensive perhaps. In general , the staff in the Bistro were fine. However, I can understand some of the comments of other reviewers. One waitress couldn't crack a smile if her life depended on it. One waiter had a poker firmly inserted - you know who you are! After we ordered a bottle of Pouilly-Fume he felt the need to explain that it was Sauvignon Blanc. This didn't spoil a very nicely cooked meal.
Breakfast is way overpriced. Perhaps because they have a captive audience (it's a good walk to the town centre for those not so fit). Finally, take care driving out of the upper car park. The ramp is sudden and steep so if your car is low to the ground it may bottom out!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KildareGlobeTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed here a few times, what a great conversion of an old abbey. There is a terrific fine dining restaurant which I think has a Michelin star. Although beside a busy road it is really quiet and peaceful here. I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhabidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We drive several times a year between the UK and Spain criss-crossing France en route.
When one of our favourite hotels for a stopover changed hands there was a vacancy!

We tried several places ...... and then we found L'Abbaye des Capucins.

What a good find, what a great hotel.

We have stayed here about six or seven times now, sometimes with our teenage son and sometimes as a couple. Always with our dog.

It's a modern hotel in an old building. A good variety of rooms in all price categories but even the smallest rooms are a reasonable size with decent modern bathrooms. We have always found water mineral water in the rooms and bathrobes. Small things that make a weary traveller feel welcome.

As the building is old and solid the soundproofing is good so rooms are quiet.

The hotel is efficiently run by a young team. It has 2 excellent restaurants (see separate reviews) a great courtyard for outside dining in the summer and a swimming pool and a spa and it takes dogs!!! Plus there is plentiful and easy parking at no extra charge. And free wifi :)

Montauban is a great place for a visit and this is THE place to stay.

Looking forward to our next happy return!

Room Tip: Bigger the better but all rooms are comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theglossy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for one night, Well mantained hotel. Good sleep. Well mantained bathroom and good breakfast. Easy car park and the pool looked very inviting although I didn't have time to go for a dip. Close to the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Situated just a 5 minute walk from the town centre, this hotel is located in an old abbey which has been thoroughly modernised. The decor is light,bright and contemporary, with many modern works of art adorning the walls. Reception was efficient and friendly, there is a Spa and small swimming pool. Although on a main road, the hotel and garden/ pool area were quiet with no traffic noise. The hotel has a large car park part of which is underground.
Our room was of reasonable size, with a large double bed, adequate storage TV, separate WC, The bathroom had contemporary furniture of good quality with a separate shower area, wash basin and bath. Wifi was free, fast and did not require, login id or passwords.
There are two restaurants, a bistro and La Table Capucins, which offered gourmet dinning. We ate in the latter, service was friendly and efficient, the waitresses gave us a detalied description of each course's components. We had the Gourmet menu, which is served as part of the hotel's demi-pension package, this consisted of an amuse, starter, main course, pre-desert and desert. For wine we chose the option of a different glass wit each course, chosen by the chef. I find that this is usually a good option, the wines whilst not expensive have been well chosen and often one is served a wine that one would not have risked, if having to purchase a whole bottle.The food was well cooked with good presentation and tasted delicious. If you are staying more than one night, the gourmet menu has two alternatives. The dem-pension package was€219 for two people and represented excellent value.
Breakfast was a buffet, hot or cold. Bacon looked really tasty, but after the previous nights dinner I could only manage some fresh fruit and a croissant.
The hotel makes an ideal location to visit the area and would be a good resting place for two or three days.
Montauban is well worth a visit, with interesting architecture, some chic shops and a square away from the traffic in which you can partake of a drink and watch the world go by.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauban
0.5 mi away
Mercure Montauban
Mercure Montauban
#3 of 17 in Montauban
206 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Montauban
Ibis Montauban
#2 of 17 in Montauban
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Hotel Du Commerce
L'Hotel Du Commerce
#4 of 17 in Montauban
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hotel le Belvedere
Hotel le Belvedere
#1 of 2 in Lauzerte
532 reviews
14.2 mi away
Le Moulin de Moissac
Le Moulin de Moissac
#2 of 8 in Moissac
437 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kyriad Montauban
Kyriad Montauban
#6 of 17 in Montauban
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection

Property: Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
Address: 6/8 Quai De Verdun, 82000 Montauban, France (Formerly Abbaye Des Capucins Spa & Resort, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Montauban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of South West, this old couvent of the 17th century located on the river side and 2 minutes walking distance from the ciy centre proposes 85 rooms, a brasserie "Le Bistro des Capucins" is opened every day at lunch & dinner time.We suggest you a spa 450 m2 size with an outside swimming pool, sauna, hammam and cardio training room. Beauty & body treatments are available by appointment.Free access to internet. Free carpark. Bike rental on spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western FR, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Montauban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing