We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”
Review of Mercure Montauban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Montauban
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I use this hotel when on business in the area and have found it reliable over the years with the same managers in charge. It's very well located right at the edge of the old town so there are some interesting things to see and do. There is no shortage of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance.
The actual hotel is relatively old and is not your standard chain hotel. It's been converted to hotel use and all the rooms are of a different size but have all the usual facilites including free wifi. I've always enjoyed a good stay but you need to be selective on the room you have.

One side faces directly onto the street which can provide some traffic noise early in the morning. Another side looks out over a pedestrianised street and at first sight this seems fine. That's until about 5 or 6 am when the fish delivery turns up for the fishmonger's shop opposite and the unloading takes place. The noise of the trolleys on the cobble stones is sure to disturb you. So my tip is to ask for a room at the back or on the inside.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 216 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony4853
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel is very centrally situated, the welcome was warm and we were very happy with our two night stay there. It is about 15 minutes walk from the train station.
The hotel is close to pedestrianised streets with interesting, quirky shops as well as cafes etc. Notre Dame cathedral is across the road.
The main square (Place Nationale) is surrounded by historic red brick buildings and there are several restaurants and cafes around the square. The square also hosts markets.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby_of_Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hotel decor and rooms in need of a refurb.
Aircon did not work properly
The receptionist however was charming and helpful ( Lawrence)
Not bad but other Mercures I have stayed in were better.
Breakfast buffet fine and generous

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garylevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Copenhagen
42
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is of great value. Rooms are well equipt. The restaurant is excellent and with good service.
The only negative point is that Internet connection is not good funcioning on 3rd level

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had driven all day from the port en route to Estartit and, as we usually do, wanted to meander along. We decided to stop driving at 4pm and look for a town/place to stay and came across Montaubon. First impressions through the industrial way in was disappointing but when we arrived at the town centre we saw the Mercure and booked in. As daughter was only little one bed would do all 3 of us and we were given a massive bed. After showering and going to look for somewhere to eat we tried snails and loved it. Then we walked around looking for a nice bar which would welcome children. What a surprise - it was the last night of their Jazz Week and there was a fab concert with live singers/pianists. We had a great night and what a boost for the first night of our summer holidays. We;ll always remember it as just coming across the Jazz Night, lovely warm air, beer outside and our daughter being so excited.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had been disappointed that there was no vacancies in Toulousse and so travelled on up to Montauban - the chap on the front desk was very helpful and there was no hassle in the booking in.
Room was smaller than in Carcassone as a standard room but very clean and although more traditional had a separate loo and the door from the bedroom closed over this leaving the bathroom open - one could use the loo whilst the other showered!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanfairyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauban hotels
0.5 mi away
Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
L'Hotel Du Commerce
L'Hotel Du Commerce
#6 of 17 in Montauban
131 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Montauban
Ibis Montauban
#2 of 17 in Montauban
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kyriad Montauban
Kyriad Montauban
#7 of 17 in Montauban
73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Montauban Les Chaumes
2.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Montauban
B&B Hotel Montauban
#5 of 17 in Montauban
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Montauban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Montauban

Address: 12 rue Notre Dame, 82000 Montauban, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Montauban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Price Range: $98 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Montauban 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th century hotel with 44 rooms situated in front of the cathedral, located in the city s historic district and close to the business district. A short stroll to the museums and very close to Roucous golf course. Meeting rooms, bar, traditional Brasserie under a 19th century glass roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Montauban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing