We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hotel Du Commerce
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great last minute find at half the price of the Mercure across the square. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was of a very good size and standard. A very good base for exploring Montauban with great parking just outsude the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 131 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a typical non-tourist hotel in the main area of Montauban, parking is easy as there is council parking next door and your right in the middle of this charming french town.

The rooms are comfortable and large enough, given that they are outdated.

Much better than staying in Toulouse.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brucefil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel is centrally located. Given the general French standard for medium range hotels the rooms and breakfast are ok. What is less ok is the pricing. The owner who checked us in personally charged 30% more than the rate published on the internet. He went into a lengthly argument about the price and told us that we would have to pay a hefty fine should we loose the access card to the car park on the square the hotel provides. His attitude which showed more interest in earning a quick buck than in serving his guests made us feel unwelcome from the moment we stepped into the lobby. The place is not recommendable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aiglenoir, Propriétaire at L'Hotel Du Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011
Google Translation

Cet avis est tout simplement incroyable ! Nous appliquons rigoureusement les prix affichés sur notre site internet, sur notre tableau d'affichage des prix, à l'extérieur de l'hôtel, ou à l'intérieur de l'hôtel, derrière chaque porte de chambre - et ce sont les mêmes partout ! Faire l'inverse serait se mettre considérablement en danger au regard de la loi française ! De plus, ce sont les mêmes depuis plus de deux ans : aucune augmentation ! Et puis, nous sommes des hôteliers honnêtes et n'avons jamais eu, depuis trente ans, des pratiques semblables !
C'est pourquoi je mets au défi ce client de prouver ses allégations ! Et donc je lui demande de communiquer les prix payés pour quel numèro de chambre et autres prestations (petits déjeuners, garage, etc...).
Quant à la carte de garage, il n'a pas compris que c'est la socièté (Qpark) qui gère le parking-garage qui nous facture 30 € en cas de perte de la carte (ou d'oubli de la rendre lors du départ...).
Or, il est important de prévenir le client de ce risque !... Tout simplement ! ! !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We spent two nights at Du Commerce on our way to Vetrac. We arrived close to sunset, which is good as I don't think I would have found it in the dark. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, while the room was clean overlooking the square. The location is a plus, and the parking is directly outside at 8 euros/day. The breakfast was excellent with scrambled eggs (unheard of in France), fruit, etc. at a good price. Overall, the hotel is a little tired, but still a good place to stay. They have an arrangement with the restaurant next door for the tables outside of the hotel with a discounted price. We ate our evening meals there and were quiet pleased.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseAlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed in this hotel overnight on 4th August. It's a typical small-town French hotel. Staff were pleasant, our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was adequate. Our room overlooked the square but we weren't troubled by any traffic noise.
Although there's no restaurant in the hotel there's one next door and we had a very good meal there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireCatBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel was very much a "curate's egg" - good in parts. The rooms were nice, although we were facing the front, and there was traffic noise which some people might find disturbing. We didn't, but then, we are used to it. The shower was WONDERFUL, and really made the stay.

The proprietor seemed busy, and took his time answering my request for a code for the Wi-Fi, and I was very disappointed to find that the breakfast, which was €9, was not quite as advertised - the brochure claimed it would have scrambled eggs and fruit salad, neither of which was forthcoming. What there was was very good indeed, but not really €9 worth.

However, on balance it was definitely okay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-Redboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

the public areas of this family run hotel are rather kitsch. the rooms are decadent, clean and comfortable however. the hotel is in a good location, at the cathedral square, in a not big city, so everything is no more than five minutes walking from the hotel

since the room had no views to the square but to a narrow alley, i did not hear noises, however the windows are old enough as to allow all sort of noises to be heard if the room faces the square

the breakfast buffet is a continental one plus something between omelette and scrambled eggs. acceptable

the hotel theoretically offers free wife, but it did not work. as it was late, i did not try to make it work with the help of the hotel staff.

considering the prices in montauban, the 77,50 euros i paid for a duble superior room is a bit overpriced

there is a public car park at the square there the hotel is, so the car is not a problem

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aiglenoir, Propriétaire at L'Hotel Du Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011
Google Translation

Quel aimable adjectif que celui de " décadent " ! Sans doute n'avons-nous pas la même conception de la décadence ? Sont-ce les chaises et tables Louis XIII, ou le lambris mouluré à la main, en noyer massif, de la salle à manger des petits déjeuners ? Ou les frises et moulures du salon de style Empire, comme le comptoir de réception en acajou massif ? On peut aimer marier l'ancien au design plus contemporain ainsi qu'au confort moderne, sans être pour autant décadent !
Quant à sa " généralisation-intuition " sur les fenêtres de la façade, il n'a pas de chance ! Vous avez tout faux, Monsieur, puisqu'elles sont toutes à double vitrage isolation phonique (ce qui se faisait de mieux en 2002, lors de la rénovation complète de l'hôtel. Comme quoi il est préfèrable de parler de ce que l'on constate, plutôt que de ce que l'on suppose... avant d'user d'adjectifs aussi outranciers (décadent) !
Nous avons souvent reçu des artistes à qui l'Hotel a beaucoup plu et qui seraient choqués de votre appréciation...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauban hotels
0.5 mi away
Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Mercure Montauban
Mercure Montauban
#3 of 17 in Montauban
216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Montauban
Ibis Montauban
#2 of 17 in Montauban
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kyriad Montauban
Kyriad Montauban
#7 of 17 in Montauban
73 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Montauban
B&B Hotel Montauban
#5 of 17 in Montauban
93 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Montauban
Premiere Classe Montauban
#13 of 17 in Montauban
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Du Commerce

Address: 9 Place Franklin Roosevelt | dite Place de la Cathédrale, 82000 Montauban, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Montauban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Price Range: $60 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotel Du Commerce 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Montauban, at the heart of the most rose-coloured of the three rose-coloured cities, the others being Toulouse and Albi, you will find a “Southern”welcome, the charm and prices of past times with today’s (perhaps even tomorrow’s) comfort and a timeless tranquillity. Welcome to the Hôtel du Commerce.Moments’ walk from the Musée Ingres, or the magnificent Place Nationale – heart of the Bastide (fortified mediaeval town) – and from the shops, this beautiful, large 18th century house will charm you with its character and personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Hotel Du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing